We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$279
US$200
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$321/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$207
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$225/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$214
US$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$212
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$221
US$197
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 49% below average rates

The price you found is 49% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$385/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Hyatt San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$317/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$475
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$343/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$333/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (5,530)
Filter reviews
5,530 results
Traveler rating
2,997
2,105
362
48
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,997
2,105
362
48
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspillow menutour deskcable carrubber duckunion squarefree cookiesgreat locationceiling fanbath saltsrooms are smallwalk in closetpowell stthere is no air conditioningour honeymoonmuni passcharming hotelan older hotel
Filter
Updating list...
971 - 976 of 5,530 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2016

My family has stayed at the Chancellor for over 20 years. I like this place. Yes, the two elevators may be slow, the small rooms that yes, could be re-done, the old tubs with high sides, but...for the price (they often have specials). The staff is excellent, the on-site restaurant serves a good breakfast and where do they get staff who are unfailingly pleasant early in the morning? The little yellow duck, left in the bathroom, changes by the season. There is complimentary water and coffee in the small lobby, cookies and popcorn during the day. I've stayed here in the spring, summer and now at Christmas and it is still good.

Room Tip: No a/c but large ceiling fan has always been adequate. Not necessary on this trip!
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILiketoTravel55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Thank you. Our little restaurant actually is pertty good when all things are considered: Our prices, our food and our service staff in a Union Square location. Nothing fancy, but good, fresh food made and served by people that care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The hotel has an old charm, but is conveniently located in SanFran. My boyfriend and I had stayed here for our first three nights in SanFran and had an extremely positive experience. The room was in good condition and we felt very safe in this location. A minute walk-away from Sears (a must, breakfast-spot known for their pancakes) and trolley stop.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Thank you. The Chancellor is in a very safe location with a safe, intimate, welcoming feel.
Please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2016

Stayed a week at the Chancellor Hotel over Christmas. Room was clean and in very good shape. Bed was comfortable, we slept well. Staff were friendly and helpful. 24 hour coffee and tea was nice. WiFi reception was very good, best I've had in a hotel in some time. Location excellent. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2016

Wow! Thank you very much for the kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2016 via mobile

Great location, it is located on Powell between Sutter and Post. a few steps from union square and a couple of blocks from market St.
Staff is friendly,polite, helpful. Something I notice it is somewhat unsafe. Anybody can get into the hotel and to the elevator. There is no safety.
This hotel shows wear and tear. Room was small and a little uncomfortable. It has no central air or heating. The bathroom is also small. Tiny sink for the ladies no room to get all their make up
The hotel charges for valet parking
$65 or for self parking $45. This service is a 3 party so if Itoh get the valet service, it could take up to an hour to get your car. If you get the self parking. Get ready to walk bout 4 blocks to get to your car
This hotel is very old and painteresque for the decor and age of the hote, but a little uncomfortable. Great location though. I would stay at the Marriott (corner of Powell and Sutter( this hotel has own parking.
Parking tip there is a parking place on Sutter just down the street from Marriot which is at the corner. This parking charges $40 per day
Room tip. Request a room on higher floor. Street is pretty noisy and it seems the windows are not sound proof
Overall and ok stay, but other hotels might be a better option

Stayed: January 2016
2  Thank ericucho n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2016

The Chancellor Hotel was built in 1914. It is definitely not anything like a Marriott or chain hotel. We would hope that people understand that the building, rooms, bathrooms, etc. will be much different than you will find at newer hotels. We try to make this clear on our website and when people read a few reviews on this site, they usually get the correct expectations.

I would like to clarify a few points that are not exactly correct. First, the Chancellor Hotel is VERY safe. There is one way in and one way out of the building. We focus on providing training to the staff and the hallways are short, well lit and do not have nooks and hidden spots. Everyone passes the front desk and there are several cameras in place. There is not a comparable hotel in San Francisco, nor does the Marriott on Sutter Street have standard access restrictions at the elevators. I am also not aware of any hotel that operates its own parking operation - including the Marriott. Our Valet service on NYE, which is the same for the several small hotels, advises us that due to the special event that NYE is, it may take up to an hour to get your car and there is a premium cost of $65.00. Normally it is 20 minutes and $45 for valet. Our Offsite parking is next door to the Marriott and is about a total of a block away - half block to the Marriott and half block to the garage. The offsite parking is $39 plus tax..

There are better options than the Chancellor - no question. However, if you want a 3 star, historic, boutique hotel, in a great location, with friendly and polite staff, at a reasonable price - The Chancellor Hotel is a pretty darn good.option

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2016

My husband and I had a lovely weekend stay at The Chancellor Hotel. The staff was friendly, the room comfortable, the pillow selection was WONDERFUL, and the location was fabulous. The bathroom even included a small ducky for the tub! I highly recommend The Chancellor Hotel in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Less cable car noise on the higher floors!
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet1645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wes_Tyler_GM, General Manager at Chancellor Hotel on Union Square, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2016

Thank you! It is so nice to be appreciated for what we are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews