We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,748)
Filter reviews
2,748 results
Traveler rating
1,110
971
416
170
81
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,110
971
416
170
81
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnob hillmark restaurantcable cargrace cathedralhistoric hotelunion squarethe club loungetop floorcalifornia streetper dayan older hotelhotel guestsan upgradewater pressurethe golden gate bridgecorner roomvalet parking
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 2,748 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

Breakfast is relaxed and coffee great (even though from an auto machine) I got the first one made by a waiter so had the heads up. FRuit very expensive with 3 berries etc etc. Crossants good also. Recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Phillip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018

Had the worst bed we have had in a top end hotel in many years!! The mattress was caved in the center that forced both of us to the middle throughout the night!!! The room itself was tiny with little space between the foot of the bed and the TV console---bellman had to slide suitcase sideways to get it by when delivering our things! Room was attractively furnished.
A bottle of wine was never delivered to our room as instructed--they left a message on phone at 8:30PM to come down to concierge to pick it up. Requested a second luggage rack twice-- delivered after 1 hr and third call!
Heard loud bang like sheet metal expansion/contraction after every cycle of A/C. Probably reaction to temperature change. This happened throughout the night!
Bathroom was tiny for a top end hotel.
At checkout, clerk asked how our stay was and we told him the issues. He went into back office to get the mgr. and said she would be right out! After 5 minutes he went back again with same response, "she'll be right out". After again waiting she never appeared, we finally left. She obviously didn't care to speak to us!!!!
Wouldn't recommend and definitely would not return!

Room Tip: Check room before accepting!
  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jaybeeFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 May 2018

The hotel sits on top of Nob Hill and is a SF institution. Nearby is downtown, Chinatown, both cable car lines and the Tonga Room. The Top of Mark is also not to be missed for a very expensive drink but great views, live music and super romantic. The room was spacious considering the age of the hotel, comfortable bed and nice linens, even bathrobes in the closet. However, it's charm is the history, location and attentive staff.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sactoroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2018

As a child I recall the Mark Hopkins as a lovely, elegant hotel, a bit more intimate than its neighbor to the north.

Just nothing luxury about it any longer. The service was surly, from check-in, to room service, to the valet. As for the room - the desk was dinged up, there were stains on the chairs and the carpet, the shower curtain was the cheap plastic type you would find in bad motels on the interstate in the 1970s.

Nothing special at all. Sad to think how this institution has decayed.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgeclinton2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asmaramazur, Front Office Manager at InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay with us.
I'm disappointed to hear your stay didn't live up to your expectations; your comments have been shared with our management team in order to improve upon our guest experience.

Should you require any assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to let me know by emailing ICMarkHopkins@ihg.com

Best,
Asmara Mazur
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 May 2018

I love coming back to the Mark Hopkins. The staff here are amazing. Check-in was efficient and I was welcomed back as an Ambassador member. The room on the 16th floor was big and very clean. The executive lounge on the ground floor was a nice place to spend a few hours in the early evening and the manager guy was brilliant - he would walk around and ask how everyone was. The evening nibbles and breakfast selection were brilliant. Top of the Mark was as great as I remembered it being - the views over the city and something else. The staff there are worked hard but it doesn't show - they make time for every guest. The pianist on the Wednesday evening was absolutely amazing! Thanks for another great stay - I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews