We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch early supper”

The Thirsty Whale Tavern
Ranked #36 of 153 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Deli, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Reviewed 23 May 2018 via mobile

We had the New England Clam Chowder, Club Fish Sandwich with Blue Cheese Dressing and Onion Added , mozzarella sticks, Nice dinner Rolls, French Fries and awesome Drinks. Our waiter Rob was totally awesome. He was super efficient , very polite and personable. He knew what we need before we ran out of things. Took time to talk but even doing that he tended to all his tables and gave Super Service. We will be back and will make sure it is on days Rob is working. Very impressed on portion size and speed we was served. Prices was very competitive and everything was cooked perfectly. We will be back.

Thank Elwood C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Owner at The Thirsty Whale Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for the review Elwood. Rob is new to our team this season and Its nice to see that he is fitting in nicely. Enjoy your vacation.

Heather Sorokin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,817)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 128 of 1,818 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

This is what you’d expect for pub food - but they do it really well! Perfect fry on the fish, everything served piping hot. The waitstaff have full command of the lunch rush with smiles, efficiency and patience for and indecisive 10-year-old.

Thank WITraveller251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Owner at The Thirsty Whale Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you for your kind review and I am glad that we could find something for your 10 year old!

Heather Sorokin, Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch at the recommendation of our host. We were not disappointed. We had a lobster roll and whole belly clams as well as some libations. The service was spot on and we had barely any wait time.

Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather S, Owner at The Thirsty Whale Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Thank you Kate. The lobster roll and clams are 2 of our post popular dishes! I hope that you enjoy your time in Bar Harbor.

Heather Sorokin, owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

We are summer residents and enjoy the thirsty whale probably once a week. Good service, great food, and terrific atmosphere. So glad to be back.

Thank Ann1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Best fried clams I've ever had! Good beer list. Nice low key bar/restaurant. We actually ate hear twice during our stay in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cleope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Thirsty Whale Tavern also viewed

Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to The Thirsty Whale Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing