We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
21 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$444
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
Expedia.com
$444
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/13/22
Etrip
$406
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/16/22
Hotels.com$444
travelup.com$489
ZenHotels.com$590
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,910)
Filter reviews
5,910 results
Traveler rating
2,597
2,023
684
339
267
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,597
2,023
684
339
267
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages cottage room royal scoop tower rooms ocean view black rock whalers village free trolley beach bar main tower our honeymoon kaanapali beach beautiful beach per day travel agent an upgrade tennis courts
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 5,910 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2022 via mobile

An old, dated property in a good location. And the service is below par, I’ve had far better service at other places I’ve stayed at 3-stars or above.

We’re staying in a “studio cottage.” The room is dated, there are clear spots on the carpets. The shower has cold water on red and hot water on blue! I found ants in the bathroom. And when I opened the kitchen cabinet to make some eggs, I found it wasn’t clean with dried up grime - yuck.

The staff are very pleasant and nice. But maybe they’re understaffed. We called for housekeeping in the morning to come in before 4 pm but found them coming in after 5:30pm as we returned after a long tiring day. Front desk doesn’t answer calls. I asked for some extra toiletries and had to remind them 2 hours later for it to show up.

We paid a fortune to stay at this place and so far the experience has been utterly disappointing, except for the location and the beach right in front of the property. Definitely not worth the price, I’d rather spend a similar amount or a little more to stay at better properties. Will not return.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Getaway17101189153
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your most recent visit to our property. We are sorry that it didn't meet your expections. We are in the process of a complete renovation of all the Bungalows in the next 8 months. We hope that you give us a chance once this is completed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2022 via mobile

The description and photos on the website talked about a sea facing room on a room couple of floors above, but we got allotted a cottage on the first floor. If this wasn’t bad enough, the description went on about airy modern room , the room must have been renovated in the 90s, if it ever was. The carpets were dirty, had stains all over, and was even wet in patches. the bathrooms were OLD. And did I say that the bed was extremely uncomfortable.

I would assume that a motel6 would have better facilities than this for 1/5th the price.

Overall it was a classic bait and switch trick executed cleanly for 980$ (for 2days)

Avoid this place and spend a bit more and go for some other place.

Room tip: Do not expect what you see in the pictures or the description
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Alexy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2022

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about the hotel. The hotel has many different types of room categories and locations so not sure which website you were looking at, or which category you booked. We do apologize for the confusion and will make sure our websites are updated with the correct images. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2022

Everyone from beginning to end were so lovely and patient. The food and drinks and even towel service were awesome! The Luau was so fun and the food was very very good. Can’t wait to come back. Thank you for an amazing experience!!!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sunshine241399
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Royal Lahaina Resort Hinck, General Manager at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2022

MAHALO and thank you so much!! A hui ho!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2022 via mobile

We have been waiting for this trip for a long time. We celebrated our 20th anniversary with our 4 teenagers here. Upon arrival at 4, our room wasn’t ready, after traveling so many hours. We were ok with that. We all needed water, so went to restaurant to wait. Server was awful, never said. Word to any of us, very grumpy. Bad first impression and our excitement dwindled. Our room was ready after eating, bell hop was nice. Room very outdated! Bathroom stunk like moldy mildew, like wet clothes left in washer. Smell is still there. Room was nice size, but just stinks. Bathroom door was painted closed, so we can’t close it- hard for 6 people to change. We never complained. Figured it was our fault for not researching better. Second day, we left for 12 hours on an excursion, came back to our rooms never being touched. I don’t care about the beds, but maybe some fresh towels, sand vacuumed, but most importantly- replenish the 2 coffee pods! We didn’t think of this until the next morning! Woke up on our anniversary, and not having coffee really just ticked us off. We spend a lot of money to be here, and not have basic housekeeping is not acceptable. We would never come back here, and actually can’t wait to leave for our next island.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mecove
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2022

Thank you for your recent feedback concerning your stay at the Royal Lahaina Resort. We are extremely sorry to have disappointed you. We try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We will be reviewing this with our management team to improve our service to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2022

We’ve been coming to RLR for twenty years. Time for an update. One of the best views and layouts. Breakfast is good. It has gotten smaller. Staff are extremely slow. Love the openness of lobby. Nice store and coffee shop nearby.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Traceywebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HHR CRES, Other at Royal Lahaina Resort & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2022

Mahalo! We appreciate your valuable feedback. We will be reviewing you concerns so we can give our guests the best service, we hope that you had a beautiful time and will keep us in mind on your next trip to Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews