We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveler rating
156
185
57
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
185
57
17
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast fresh fruit the breakfast area industrial area reasonable rates close to the airport pineapple small pool ceiling fan air conditioning quiet location nawiliwili bay laundry facilities tiki torches mini fridge lihue airport rental car
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We stayed here in September and have planned a return trip next Spring!
It is tucked away near the Nawiliwili small boat harbor, a nice area. The grounds are lovely and we enjoyed the pool (lit up at night with blue light and tiki torches). Our room had a lanai and we enjoyed sitting outdoors. It was quiet and relaxing.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 304lynnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegKauaiInn, Owner at The Kauai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review! So happy you all enjoyed yourselves and look forward to your return! Much mahalo, the Kauai Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2018

That date isn't correct but it was the last one I could click on. We actually stayed here in June, 2016 when we were waiting to get in to a house we had rented for a family reunion. It was close to the airport (we had to pick up several family members), the rooms were large and comfortable and it had a pool for the kids. Pretty basic, nothing fancy, but exactly what we needed for one night. The staff was extremely helpful and very friendly.

Date of stay: October 2017
1  Thank tastiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegKauaiInn, Owner at The Kauai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review and best to you in future travels! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 August 2018

this hotel is great for an older sytle hotel..we stay for one night, and it could have been longer if our flights out didn't work out.. the staff were exceptionally friendly, nothing was too much trouble :)
perfect place to just hang around the pool!

Room tip: try for a ground floor room, those stairs are nasty for us with arthritic knees and heavy bags....
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0212anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegKauaiInn, Owner at The Kauai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review and best to you in future travels! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2018

The office staff are very friendly and helpful, who checked me in early and made me feel welcomed. That's where the good ends. Let's start with the bathroom. I don't know if all of the bathrooms are like this, but mine seemed like it was handicap ready, where there's no tub or even a lip that'll separate the shower floor from the rest of the bathroom floor...kind of like a locker room shower. Then there's no counter by the sink to put your bathroom items on, such as your toothbrush, toothpaste, etc.. So after I brushed my teeth, I had to put the tooth paste and brush in the drawer in the bedroom area. Whenever I sat on the toilet it would rock side to side. I wasn't too sure if the toilet seat was loose, or if the entire toilet was loose. To find out, the entire toilet was loose, but thankfully it wasn't leaking at the bottom. The entire right side of the bathroom were 3 sets of louvers covered by sheer white curtains. It wouldn't be too bad if the other side of the louvers wasn't a public area, but it's the walkway for all of the rooms. So someone outside could probably see your sillouette while you're doing your personal business.

Now for the problems in the bedroom. The Samsung tv was nice, but all of the stations are in standard definition. So it's like back to the days of watching VHS tapes versus dvd clarity. The bed had no blanket. There's the usual fitted sheet to cover the mattress, but on that is the top sheet, but instead of a blanket on top of that, there's only a polyester or nylon material sheet which is the thickness of the sheet. I thought that the decorative fabric at the foot of the bed was a bed spread, but no, it was only a decorative piece of material about a foot wide. There's also very few plugs to charge your phone or other devices. By the bed, there's a plug to the left, but a clock and a lamp take up the 2 plugs. To the right of the bed are 2 more outlets, but the refrigerator takes up one of the plugs, and the microwave uses the other. Each outlet has 2 plugs, so there's 2 more plugs available, but I had to put my phone on the microwave while it charged, since the plugs were so far down.

The doors use the regular metal type key instead of the card key like most modern hotels use so that the code can be changed when checking out. So who's to stop anyone from going to Walmart to make a duplicate key for the room. While I was laying in bed around 11 PM, I heard someone jiggling the doorknob and I could hear the key going in and out of the doorknob. The door has a big set of louvers on it, where I could see the person shining a flashlight while they jiggled the doorknob. It probably wasn't someone trying to break in, but just a person mistaking my room for theirs. If it was someone with a duplicated key, then he probably could have got in.

The housekeeping was also poor, but not terrible. It's never happened to me before at all of the other hotels I've been to, but the housekeeper didn't empty my trash can. I had a take out pizza the night before, where I put the empty box in the trash can, which also had an empty 2 liter soda bottle in it. When I returned later in the day, the pizza box was removed, but the soda bottle was still in the trash can.

I was on Kauai for work, so the last day I was there I had to be at work by 6:30 AM, but the office doesn't open until 7 AM and I wouldn't be finish with work by the check out time. So me and another person were at the office at 6:10 AM wondering how we would check out and where would we leave the keys. He mentioned that there must have been others who've needed to check out before 7 AM, so what are we to do? There's a phone number to call for after hours help, so I called that number but no one answered. I had to leave, so I hung my key on a screw that was sticking out on the office door. The other person did the same. I later called the regular office number and told them that I wasn't going to be available by the check out time and I hung the room key on the door. She said that she got the key and she would check me out via my phone call.

Kauai Inn is next to the port where the Pride of America docks, and it's in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by houses. Kauai has chickens all over the place, so you can hear roosters crowing early in the morning, and someone must own a peacock because you can hear it squacking as well.

The daily rate for this hotel is significantly cheaper than the brand name hotels, but you get what you pay for.

Room tip: Book somewhere else
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howsit9571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegKauaiInn, Owner at The Kauai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thank you so much for your response! We rely so much on feedback to make our inn a better experience for others! Our first concern was why you ended up in our handicap room. If there is ever any question or concern please ask to be moved and accommodated where you feel necessary or lacking! We wish only for the most comfort for our guests!

In response to your review we will look into creating an area in the handicap room where folks can put their personal belongings as they get ready for the day. That's always been a personal pet peeve of mine as well so I fell you.

Blankets, we keep extra blankets in the closet for guest convenience. We have a very ill young relative as of recent who is the sibling of our manager, so she has been away plus new staff so our family business' hearts have been heavy the last couple weeks trying to get through these difficult time and travel. Very trying times and I'm sorry this caused so much inconvenience. So many things your don't ever except. Your input means a lot to us and we only hope you and any future guests could reach out to us so we can better accommodate and make you comfortable while you're away from home! That's our goal! The note on the trash has been pasted on and I agreed unacceptable.

Keys, there's a fee for not returning keys. They CANNOT be duplicated unless by the Kauai Inn management. And if the keys are not returned, the locks are replaced as we are most concerned about out guests safety!

Much Mahalo! Megan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 August 2018

This hotel is in a good location, about a 2 minute drive from some shops and restaurants and a good jumping off point to explore the whole island. It's only 20 mins from the airport but you don't hear the airplanes. The hotel itself has a nice pool area and offers a simple continental breakfast each morning. It's a buffet style- toast, muffins, cupcakes, fruit, tea, coffee and juice. Our room was clean and tidy but quite dated. This place could do with some money spending on it to bring it up to date.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 438alisonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MegKauaiInn, Owner at The Kauai Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review and best to you in future travels! Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews