We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (455)
Filter reviews
455 results
Traveler rating
310
105
26
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
310
105
26
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews three bedroom golf course marriott hotel island view beach club beach access water aerobics full wall living room walk in closet full kitchen speed bumps light house nearby marriott lanai doors laundry room time share
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 455 reviews
Reviewed 18 May 2017

We had a wonderful stay here. We chose it because we had so many activities and we did not want to have all of the resort activities to distract us and it was perfect. We were disappointed in getting a room on the ground floor, but now I think I would choose it as the rooster on the patio was fantastic to watch. It was also great for the 9-12 yr old boys to run out onto the lawn. It was like having a large backyard.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahuslig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for a perfect review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2017

Highly recommended for your stay on the island. this hotel has beautiful views of the island and kalapaki beach within walking distance. It is right in the heart of Lihue town close to the malls, airport, etc.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kuulei N Lumbo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you for your review! It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 May 2017

We stayed at the Lagoons from May 5 to May 12. Upon our early arrival we received a nice greeting. I notified the resort that we would arrive early and would appreciate, if possible, that our unit would be ready for us. We were pleased that it was. It's location was perfect -- very close to the front desk. It had a beautiful view from the patio. The interior of the unit was spacious. The kitchen had a Sub Zero huge refrigerator. (The resort was first going to be a Ritz Carlton Residences but when that fell through it became a Marriott vacation resort). We had an accessible unit that was very comfortable (raised toilet, sear in shower and appropriate bars). If you like Starbucks coffee you can get some free each morning at the front desk....nice perk! The pool is very nice and adequate even though not too large. The resort is not very big. The fitness facility is extremely nice and big! There is equipment for each body part and free weights up to 50 lbs (standard at most Marriott resorts). The view from the ample cardio machines is breathtaking, The staff is terrific. A particular shout out to the Concierge Azure and the front desk staff. She steered us in the right direction many times. We had a noise issue with the upstairs unit. Security intervened immediately and the problem was solved. The resort will have more amenities in the future but the Marriott beach resort is close for shared use of the beach and restaurants. Kitchen microwave and disposal were hard to operate. The resort should provide written instructions to preempt a call for help. Absent instructions, call front desk for help, if needed. Second bedroom has horizontal wood blinds. They still let in a lot of light, bldg maintenance can install a temporary fix. This problem will be addressed in the hexed improvement plan.

Kauai may be a small island but there is so much to see! Everywhere we went was just so colorful! We were busy sightseeing most days. The resort is located minutes from the airport but you don't hear many planes overhead. It is well situated with easy access to the north and the southwest where there is much to see. I recommend the tubing adventure (Backcountry) and a NaPoli coast dinner cruise (Captain Andy's).

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fedtravelerfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Thank you for a perfect review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons. We hope you will join us again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

I cannot wait to return! My parents and I met here while both in Hawaii. I was so happy when Alaska cancelled my flight. I got to stay another night! When do you ever get to say that?! I'm in my 30's but still am young enough to enjoy your waterslide.

Craving a lava flow right now at nearby Dukes.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank imisslincecum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for a perfect review. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We had a beautiful 2 bed/ba villa with a gorgeous view of the pool and the lagoon. The views were breathtaking. The kitchen was full sized. We had a walk-in closet.
There is a separate laundry room. Our housekeeper replenished our toiletries and laundry detergent everyday.

Unfortunately, the resort lacked a restaurant, beach access, spa, or any other amenities found in most hotels. Usually, as in most Marriott Vacation Club resorts, there is a hotel nearby that has all those features. That's how it is with this resort, too, but the bridge leading to that hotel, the Marriott Beach Club, was closed for road construction. So what would have been a three minute drive to the other hotel turned into at least a 10 to 15 minute drive around the resort complex with speed bumps everywhere. The whole time we were there, the bridge was just blocked with no road construction. We were tempted to move one of the plastic barricades. I guess someone did because a few hours later, a backhoe was used to block it. Again, with no work being done!

Some might think 10 minutes is a minor inconvenience and it might have been except that when you think about the total isolation you have in that resort while all the fun is happening literally next door, you start getting just a little envious and irritated. Why should you have all the inconveniences?

On our last night, we were too tired to leave our villa. We just wanted "room service." Of course, we knew there was no such thing. We are Vacation Club owners and we know that's not something to expect. However, we were hoping we could call a restaurant to deliver food to our resort. The only place that would do it was Pizza Hut! So we had two personal pan pizzas and chicken wings. Not quite what we had planned but we were tired of constantly having to drive to get what we needed.

I know the resort has plans to expand and perhaps when that happens, all my issues would be solved but this review is strictly on what we experienced as guests last week. One star off for the detour and another for having no amenities within walking distance.

Room tip: Ask for a pool view - Top floor
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingAmerican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Kauai Lagoons - Kalanipu'u, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. Your feedback is important to us and has been shared with our senior resort management. We look forward to delivering the 5 star experience in your next Marriott Vacation Club stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews