We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveler rating
269
111
29
13
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
111
29
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt peggy sue banana bread continental breakfast bike path boutique hotel small hotel ocean front city view jacuzzi tub every morning free bikes beach towels palm trees aloha spirit coconut coast king bed
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a smaller hotel with super friendly staff! If you are looking to get away with out the crowds of a big hotel, this is for you! We had an ocean side 2nd story room. They have renovated the hotel to include another story, but it was still in progress when we got there. The Office has a small breakfast of mini muffins , yogurt, hot coffee etc... every morning, cordially put together by Peggy Sue. the front porch is full of chairs and barstools to take in and savor the morning sunrise. A very short walk ( just across the lawn) will take you to the Bike path. This hotel is a short walkable distance from shops and eateries. Our room was equipped with microwave, sink and refrigerator. Loved our stay at Hotel Coral Reef!!

Date of stay: February 2019
2  Thank Sharon531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 January 2019 via mobile

This might be hard to describe but I’ll try.... I would always recommend reading as many reviews as you can, read the good and the bad, and try to come away with a middle ground. Yes, it’s an older building but very quiet and it’s right on the water. Our room was a little cluttered and may be a little dated but what a view. The waves crashing onto the rocks 50 ft away, your sitting on your lanai taking it all in. Kapa’a is very close by, and I mean very close so walk in to town and get what you need. Traffic is horrendous, we heard it referred to as the Kuhio Crawl. So borrow their free bikes to ride in to town, they may not be the newest bikes but they work and will do the job. We didn’t have cooking facilities but there is a small fridge to put a few perishables in. While you are riding the bikes take a spin on the bike path right outside the door, it’s wide, paved , and almost dead flat. Take your hotel beach towels provided and ride to the beautiful beaches or just walk along the path. Yes, there seems to be a homeless problem in Kapa’a and they are hanging out everywhere (including right in front on the beach) but they will not bother you, ask you for money , or be a nuisance. You will love Peggy Sue and her daughter, and Polly who greet you every morning at breakfast. A good cup of coffee, some granola, yogurt or toast and you are ready for the day. It’s like a comfortable pair of slippers and in no time you feel relaxed and at home. There is a beautiful pool but it’s obviously not heated, not a big deal for us because during our stay it was cooler and windy. We enjoyed our time here and would come back again. Places like this make you feel welcome and safe.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank J9669FLronh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2019 via mobile

We visited the Coral Reef for a few days in January 2019. The hotel is about 20 minutes drive from the airport. We stayed in an ocean front room which was comfortable and well appointed. Our room had a patio which was facing the ocean a few steps away. The hotel is situated with easy access to points of interest north, and south. It’s about a 50-60 minute drive to Waimea Canyon. A continental breakfast was provided in the hotel reception area with some homemade cakes etc. Breakfast was made more interesting by the two women who oversaw the office, Peggy Sue and her daughter Elisa (I think). Their charm and good cheer made for an interesting time and they passed along some local knowledge which was very helpful. We enjoyed their company very much.

Free WiFi rounded off a nice stay at this hotel and for our visit to Kauai.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank bassman62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 January 2019

Stayed for 4 nights on the city view:

It’s in central location close to Kapaa town.
Bike is available to take the trail for a few miles right by the ocean.
Staff is wonderful especially Miss Peggy who provides her own banana bread for guests. She also got infectious smile.
They offer coffee, tea, fresh water and small continental breakfast to enjoy while watching sunrise.
They have a nice swimming pool with waterfalls if you prefer.

Housekeeper provides daily change of towels and toiletries however they did not clean the bathroom or fixed our bed two out of the four days.

City view balcony overlooks garbage bin and chairs were rusty and dirty. There’s also spider webs. There’s partial view of the ocean but blocked by the trees.

The room is small and no table other than the big chair that doesn’t fit the Hawaiian theme.

If I go back I probably would stay at the ocean view since the room looks bigger and nicer.

Room tip: Choose ocean view
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cusip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 December 2018 via mobile

Staff was friendly from beginning to end. Room was clean and nice. Easy short walk to restaurants, bars, and shops. Every room is a few steps to the beach and sunrises were beautiful. Chairs, bikes, and movies to borrow. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank frankwritesareview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews