We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best luau on the island”

Smith Family Garden Luau
Ranked #8 of 24 Quick Bites in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The Smith's family garden Luau was great. There was no shortage of food or Mai Tais. Food was excellent and the show was fantastic. I recommend this luau. The Smith's have such great family history and the garden was beautiful.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cksellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (726)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This review should have had 5 stars. Our visit to Smith’s Garden Luau started off really poorly, but the rest of the experience made up for it.

The gentleman guiding parking (in orange shirt) was absolutely horrific in his treatment of us and the guests parking next to us. The lot was very quiet where we were parking, but he insisted on rushing our parking and yelled at us when we refused to park within a foot of the vehicle beside us as they were in the process of unloading multiple small children. As there was no traffic behind us, his behaviour was completely unwarranted while we waited for them to safely exit their vehicle. Clearly this man only had his job because of his ties to the family business and not because he is passionate about the tourist industry or participating in the family business like his other family members.

The other family members at this event are absolutely amazing. From the moment we stepped off the parking lot, every person we interacted with was enthusiastic and smiling brightly. You get your photo taken with some of the dancers and a shell lei.

We enjoyed the tram ride around the gardens and the informative commentary on the sights we passed. As a party of 5, we did not have reserved seating (that’s for parties of 6 or more). We were able to go early and speak to one of the hostesses who found us seating together at one of many long tables. One of us stayed at the table enjoying the live music while the rest of us watched the Imu Ceremony (unearthing of the roast pig from the ground).

Once we all made it to the table, we did a couple trips to get drinks. Each guest was able to bring two drinks back to the table at a time. The Mai Tai’s were very good, a wee bit strong. They had one line for Mai Tai’s, one for Hawaiian Punch (non-alcoholic), and the bar where they mix drinks and serve pop. The hostesses directed the tables to the buffet lines (2 long tables with lines on each side). The food was really good! I tried a little of everything but thoroughly enjoyed the Mahi-mahi, 3 bean salad, and the purple sweet potatoes. The rest of the party loved the kalua pig. Nobody liked the Poi (hahaha!). Dessert was set up on another table near the buffet. It consisted of fruit, jello, coconut cake, rice pudding, and coconut jelly squares.

After dinner, we were relocated to the outdoor amphitheater. It is fitted with bleacher style seats with padded pillows (similar in thickness and feel to gymnastic mats). Outside, there was a table set up containing the photos they took of the guests as the entrance to the park before they boarded their tram. Each photo is $20. The show itself was very well done. My 3 year old had some difficulty sitting through it all but was mesmerized by the fire acts.

Overall, this was an amazing experience and I would highly recommend this luau to everyone. Between the food, show, and cost, this was by far best luau experience I have attended.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank MrMrsC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We loved it. Other folks recommended this luau over any of the hotel luaus, and having been to this luau and hearing other people talk about their hotel luau, we totally agree. If we were to do a luau on Kauai again, it would definitely do the Smith Family luau again. We also combined the Fern Grotto boat trip with the luau, so only had to make one trip there. They have a shuttle bus that picks you up at your hotel and later drops you off again ... making the whole evening very easy to handle.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HRIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Visited the luau on our recent trip to Hawaii, great food and entertainment and lovely grounds. Venue for dinner and show is covered so no need to worry about the possibility of rain. Well orchestrated and organized so although there were a lot of people, everything flowed smoothly and people got their food fairly quickly. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank CaveCreektraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018

the food was very good! Very very good!!!! The entertainment was so much fun to watch and excellent! I loved the set up for the show after the luau! Dinner under a canopy, and the show was outside....as always I always love the fire dancer!!!! THis is a must see LUAU!!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Orchidlady14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smith Family Garden Luau also viewed

 

Been to Smith Family Garden Luau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing