We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveler rating
244
226
56
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
226
56
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the lava lava beach club free valet lawn games toes in the sand hot tub morning yoga parking is tight electric skillet beach front counter space coconut marketplace an older hotel private beach clean rooms parking lot hotel guests pool view
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed here Feb. 1-9. Room was adequate, but old. Room had view of busy parking lot. Not at all what we expected from photos. Bathroom sink area was tiny. 1 mini glass shelf to pile toiletries on. 2 small drawers to put our clothes in, had to use shelf under nightstand for extra clothing storage. If you bring more than a carry on you will have to ask for extra hangers. Maid service was great, we tipped them well. Trying to adjust the hot/cold in shower every day was a struggle. Water must be connected in all rooms because water temp would constantly change while showering! Old Carpet in hallway grossed me out to walk on, constantly damp, worried about mold. WHY have carpet anywhere in such a warm, damp climate?!
Yes, they had 2 pools, both too cold to swim in. In our time their we saw 2 kids with 1 adult in the pool one time. We were excited for Hot tub...not real hot, no pressure at all except one jet by our feet. Everyone joked about the lack of jets. Lava Lava Beach club is the nice face they put on the place. Food was decent. A bit too much salt on the 2 breakfasts we had. Drinks were tasty. Beach and lounge chairs were nice to have. Parking was a struggle half the time. More so at night when non-hotel guests came for dinner probably? Looks like they are building something else nearby, hope it has more parking. If you are a Family on a budget this is probably your best bet, but next time we will spend a bit more for newer accomodations and a better pool & hot tub.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank ak_kimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Aloha

Thank you for you review of our hotel. While we are happy to see overall you enjoyed your stay here with us we are sorry to read about the aspects that took away from your overall enjoyment with us. We appreciate your recognition of our housekeeping staff, and we will be sure to share your feedback with them. Although we missed the mark this time and did not meet all of your expectations, we will try harder and hope you would consider us when you visit Kauai again in the future.


Warmest Aloha
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2019

Located near Kapaa, this recently renovated hotel offers decent sized rooms, nice beds, great access to the ocean and close proximity to shopping, some within walking distance. Only downside is the traffic that at times can be very slow moving to either Kapaa or Lihue. otherwise nice stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2019

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your visit with us and you were able to enjoy all the hotel has to offer. We hope to welcome you again for another great vacation.

Warmest Aloha

Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

A mixture of old & new at the conveniently located hotel. Large lobby with bicycles available & daily yoga oceanside however weather prohibited our enjoyment of the property. Rooms were small, particularly the bathroom, and could easily hear the neighbors. Parking was challenging with very tight spaces. Lava Lava Beach Club service was suboptimal & expensive for the quality. Traffic was very slow heading south on multiple occasions. Overall adequate for our stay

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank ronp63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your three night stay here with us and that our location was conveniently located for all your exploring and adventure needs. We are sorry to see the weather did not allow you to enjoy all we have to offer. We appreciate your feedback about the lava lava beach club and will be sure to share this with them. We would love to welcome you again for a great vacation.

Warmest Aloha
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Stayed at this great hotel for 6 nights in January, 2019. Booked our trip through Costco. And, I must say I'm more than pleased! Air via United, car rental with Alamo and accommodations with Kauai Shores Hotel. All excellent! Hotel recently refurbished and staffed by the friendliest people ever - from check in at front desk, parking attendants, maids - all super helpful! They also have a restaurant called Lava Lava, greatest food and served on the beach, which is directly behind the hotel. I would certainly make a repeat visit - through Costco, again! ALOHA and MAHALO!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank X7481HJcarole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Aloha

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your spacious residence and view, as well as our friendly staff that made you feel welcomed and showed the true aloha spirit. We would love to welcome you for another vacation stay again in the future.


Mahalo and warmest aloha
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

The room was clean and the staff were very friendly! The location is great too, right on the water with lawn games and beach chairs. The restaurant, lava lava beach club has great food and drinks and is close to Kapaa.
It does get chilly at night and there is no heat (we wouldn’t normally have used it but we came during a storm). Parking is also pretty rough, the spots are normally filled by evening and they are tight!!! I believe valet is always around though.
Overall we liked where we stayed and for the price and location we would do it again.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Sturak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2019

Aloha

Thank you for your review of our resort. We love reading you fully enjoyed your stay here with us and we are delighted to see you felt the true spirit of aloha from our amazing staff. We would love to welcome you again for another wonderful stay.

Warmest Aloha
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews