We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (761)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveler rating
410
275
54
18
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
410
275
54
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews banana bread every morning the big island medicine cabinet full kitchen downtown hilo fresh papaya free coffee close to downtown tree frogs beach towels quiet neighborhood volcano national park queen bed comfortable rooms ceiling fan laid back
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 762 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2022 via mobile

We had driven over from Kona to Waimea and didn't properly figure the time so we found ourselves needing a place to stay in Hilo at the last minute. We took a risk staying at Dolphin Bay since we didn't know much about it, but found it to be delightful, clean, and the woman in the office gave us a very nice upgrade to a two bedroom Room which was much more space than we paid for. Beds were comfortable, linens bright and crisp and there is a beautiful garden adjacent. Very impressed. Kind of a throwback to mid-century Hawaii!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 426betsyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 8, 2022

This place fits in nicely with the general mood of Hilo: informal and a little quirky (in a good way). Our room was spacious with a small kitchen area a little patio to sit and eat breakfast on. Easy walking distance into town. It is not necessarily a quiet place but the sounds are all nature (birds, insects, probably rain). We very much enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbaaronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 30, 2022

If you want to sleep to the sounds of Hawaiian paradise (tree frogs that sound like birds) and be surrounded by lush greenery in an old but quaint room that exudes Hawaiian spirit, this is the place for you! I appreciated the home baked banana bread and coffee in the morning as well as the papayas. Kelly was super friendly and provided walking maps. The place is walkable from the shops and beach although after the first time I found a less sketchy path than what Google suggested (avoiding the unpaved path that hugs the coast).

Date of stay: May 2022
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 15, 2022

We stayed at Dolphin Bay for three nights in May 2022. It was even better than I had hoped for. Yes, the hotel is "dated" and not fancy at all, but scrupulously clean, comfortable, affordable and very convenient for exploring downtown Hilo, the Hamauka coast and Volcano National park. The bed was comfy, the light breakfast of fresh papaya and banana bread was much appreciated, and the sweet obese cat was friendly and made us feel right at home. John gives exceptional local advice, and has everything you could possibly need from umbrellas to maps to...? The gardens at the hotel are really lovely too. It rained our entire stay but we felt at peace and were able to really relax. We'd return in a flash!

Room tip: Second floor rooms are great.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Chicogirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 26, 2022

What more can one ask for in a vacation stop? Lovely, efficient, well run, convenient. I wish all hotels were like this one. Highly recommend. Just wish I had stayed longer.
Easy parking, lovely am coffee and snacks. Good bed & tv too.

Date of stay: February 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank susantobey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews