We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in Hilo”
Review of Restaurant Kenichi

Restaurant Kenichi
Ranked #34 of 245 Restaurants in Hilo
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: Restaurant Kenichi Provides Ramen, Salads, Local Favorites, Sides, Catering and Private Party Services to the Hilo, HI area.
Restaurant details
Description: Restaurant Kenichi Provides Ramen, Salads, Local Favorites, Sides, Catering and Private Party Services to the Hilo, HI area.
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

Eve though only for take out. the foods were excellent in quality.

We ordered Grilled Mahi-mahi and Sweet Potato Croquettes with curry sauce. Portions are generous and competitively priced.

The lady staff was very friendly.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank enctravel2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2020

Last night we got take out from Kinichi's for the first time.. I am a retired restaurant guy and it takes alot for me to go on Yelp and right a review. First of all because of covid 19 it was only take out... I ordered in advance as there menu is on their website. I asked to pick up order at 5:15. I got there at 5:05 and it was ready even with the line they had just to order or pick up like me..The portions were crazy big, more importantly the food was fantastic... I had the Mahi Katsu/bbq chicken combo... it doesn't get any better. We also had chicken katsu and hamburger steak and korean chicken salad which were all very good. But I must say, that the mac/potato salad was like homemade local style. Maybe the best in Hilo, including Kawamoto's. Thats saying alot... I was disappointed with the dessert. I ordered 2 cheesecakes and the size was so small. It did not match the enormous amounts they gave with every other dish. They could have put the 2 pieces together and it would have still be considered a small portion even with 2 put together.... but it does not change my rating.....will be back again, my friend Alan use to own it when it was called Kay's I think...

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donk890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 December 2019 via mobile

This restaurant is always busy and full of locals who enjoy the rustic styling and family-style seating. The food is good, the portions generous, the wait staff friendly, and the value excellent. They take reservations for parties of six or more, but figure a 20-30 minute wait for a walk up at 7 PM on a Friday night.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Jeffrey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 September 2019

local restaurant in Hilo with nice staff an the ramen was great down to the last spoonful. Chicken wings were crispy and had a great flavor too. Felt like one of the locals here.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank KellyCbusOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2019

I am from Fort Worth Texas and its one of the best ribeye steaks ever....will definitely return on next trip

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank BoardingPass426207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kenichi also viewed

Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
Hilo, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Restaurant Kenichi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.