We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
12 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$188
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$188
View deal
Trip.com
$152
View deal
Hotels.com$188
FindHotel$158
Travelocity$188
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
83
12
8
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
83
12
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coconut grill ice pond paddle boards huge koi pond complimentary glass waterfront park warm welcoming staff incredible staff newly renovated hotel lei making entry way cool hotel front desk public spaces jalousie windows local feel true meaning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 110 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2022

Our boys soccer team had a wonderful stay at the SCP Hilo Hotel enjoying all the amenities offered. The poolside lanai was the perfect gathering place and the boys enjoyed the pool, game area, exercise room, bicycles, paddle boards and swimming across the street at Reedʻs Bay. The boys had so much fun together and Iʻm certain that our trip to Hilo will be a lasting memory for the boys.

The staff at SCP Hilo Hotel are true examples of employees who take time to make guests feel welcomed and taken care of. Mahalo!!

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 536maxiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Erica Hill, Guest Services / Front Office at SCP Hilo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2022

Aloha,

Thank you for your great review and 5 star rating of your stay with us. We are so happy that your team enjoyed their stay and took advantage of all our hotel amenities. We love to be a part of making memorable moments for our guests. We hope to see you all again in the near future.

Take care,
Erica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2022

My family of four just stayed for two nights at SCP Hilo in a triple (three beds).

Positives - really lovely staff, beautifully laid out pool, lobby and shared spaces (all open air) and a nice spot across the street from the 0cean. We enjoyed take-out from local restaurants and ate in in the public spaces as well as across the street at the picnic tables near the water. Bikes and SUP boards were available but no kid bikes. My 13 YO and I walked to the farmers market in about 30-35 minutes via a route mostly along the water (Banyan Way) and it was lovely while my 9 YO son thoroughly enjoyed the Lei-making and art classes as well as a volunteer opportunity. I also loved that th room had a fan and chance to open your windows for the cool breezes or you could do AC. Really was nice.

Challenge was the size of the triple space - it would be great if they could make a larger room for the triple. While it had a beautiful long wooden desk, chairs and a TV, it was really a room of beds with a strip for walking back and forth. Totally fine for 2 nights especially since the pool, lobby, and other public spaces were so nice... but they should consider investing in a larger room.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank R855YHkates
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 21, 2022

The Soul Community Planet (SCP) Hilo Hotel is on our short list of favorite places to stay in Hawaiʻi because of its people, new look and feel, pet-friendliness, and its commitment to the community and the environment.

We first stayed here when it was the Hilo Seaside Hotel back in early 2020. Returning two years later, we’re happy to see it still has the same charm with a healthy infusion of renovations. We love all the little (and big) touches they’ve made from the room’s wooden ceiling fan and raised shower head, to the front lobby with its subtle nods to local history and culture. The entire property features natural wood furniture made by local artisans. The Commons room in particular features a lot of local pieces, and is a cool, quiet place where I could work remotely and join video calls on the hotel’s solid WiFi (while enjoying some Kona coffee from the lobby).

The landscaping is lovely and the pool is picturesque with its deep blue tile and Buddha statue sitting nearby. For a cooler, refreshing swim, take a plunge in the “ice pond” (an inlet of Reeds Bay) across the street. Its clean, clear brackish (slightly salty) water is easy on the un-goggled eyes and if you’re lucky, you might just get to swim past a local honu (turtle).

The real draw for us though, and what will keep us coming back, is the hotel’s amazing staff. We thoroughly enjoyed chatting with Emily, Priscilla, Charlee, Megan, Josh, Jared, and Bree! They are genuinely friendly, inviting, and helpful people that are a ton of fun to talk to. Their wealth of island knowledge runs deep so I encourage you to take a minute and have a real conversation with any of them.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank portalpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 17, 2022

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The SCP chain promotes laudable principles, including sustainability, fair trade and green practices, which we strongly support. Our choice of this hotel was nevertheless driven more by the extremely high prices of hotels on Hawaii Island, particularly at its western side.

The hotel is rated as 3-star, which we regard as fitting. It is consequently puzzling that rooms go for almost 350 $ including tax, almost the price we paid per night at a luxury hotel in downtown Honolulu. Free parking, as well as free coffee and water and a 40 $ voucher we received for the hotel shop definitely saved some expenses, but we still regard the price as too high.

First and foremost among the assets of this hotel is the reception staff. They have all been very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, which we greatly appreciate. Other advantages are relative proximity to the airport and to a good shopping mall. The common areas are green, clean and very pleasant.

Our room, on the other hand, though generally clean, was less uplifting. It was fairly small, with paper-thin walls through which everything in the neighboring rooms or the corridor was heard. The window A/C was noisy and located at head’s level to the side of the beds, which precluded use at night. We consequently kept windows open, which introduced a full orchestra of birds, frogs and insects, as well as the sound of airplanes landing and taking off at times we would rather have slept. The beds were too soft for our comfort. Their frame on the contrary was hard and sticking out, and all of us were bruised more than once. Finally, the use of outlet power strips to increase socket capacity in the room is not safe and should not be a permanent solution.

In view of our short visit to downtown Hilo, we are fairly happy we chose this hotel over a more central location, but it would still register as less than what we would wish for an optimal holiday on this lovely island.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben1275
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Erica Hill, Guest Services / Front Office at SCP Hilo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2022

Aloha Ben,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear our staff was friendly and helpful throughout your stay, and that our location was good. We want every guest to feel the value in their stay and are so sorry to read of the many issues you faced while at our hotel. If you could contact me directly at the hotel, I would love to hear more of your stay and see what we can do to make your stay better.

Take care,
Erica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2022

The most amazing experience… the most friendly hosts and customer service… comfortable beds and overall wonderful experience… definitely a 5star experience love this place and recommend it to anyone I know

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank FarAway265856
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Erica Hill, Guest Services / Front Office at SCP Hilo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2022

Aloha,

Wow, thank you so much for your amazing review and five star rating. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us and look forward to hosting you again soon.

Take care,
Erica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews