We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful to visit.”

Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Superior
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum honors World War II flying ace Richard Bong and all veterans.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 4 April 2018

I would have never stopped in to visit but decided to go with friends. I learned so much and it was interesting historically. I am so glad I stopped in. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ww ii"
in 6 reviews
"local hero"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 6 reviews
"excellent museum"
in 5 reviews
"full size"
in 4 reviews
"shot down"
in 4 reviews
"military museum"
in 3 reviews
"great artifacts"
in 3 reviews
"pearl harbor"
in 3 reviews
"fighter pilot"
in 3 reviews
"medal of honor"
in 3 reviews
"answer questions"
in 3 reviews
"well worth the stop"
in 3 reviews
"short movie"
in 2 reviews
"this place is amazing"
in 2 reviews
"his life"
in 2 reviews
"small town"
in 3 reviews
Filter

14 - 18 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018

My thirteen year old son did not find may of the exhibits here to be very engaging. It was not particularly captivating for me either. It is fine for a 30 minute side trip to stretch your legs while traveling, but I wouldn't go out of my way.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Candy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Richard I Bong was a WWII Air Corps pilot who stands to this day as the highest scoring US ace, having shot down in aerial combat 40 enemy aircraft. He was awarded the Medal of Honor and was a nationally known hero during the war. This museum is a fine tribute to a great man. In addition, the museum has many exhibits honoring Wisconsin and Minnesota veterans. All in all, this is an excellent museum.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Linebacker1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2017

This was our first visit to the museum. It is much larger than it looks from the outside. Well done displays on the different conflicts. Lots of excellent artifacts. Was happy to see a section dedicated to the women of WWII. Lots of local interest for my cousins that live in Duluth.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank JudithB1698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

My 6 year old grandson wanted to come to the center, so we took him. He was very interested in all the displays. There were a lot more displays and information than I imagined. Well done!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Deanna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center also viewed

 

Been to Richard I. Bong Veterans Historical Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing