We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Do this if you are in the area!

We had a beautiful, warm day to do this, but it was worth the drive to the top. Nice restrooms... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
klutzWestBend
,
West Bend, Wisconsin
via mobile
Must Stop!

Stunning views, especially on a clear day. A must stop when visiting the area. Easy to find and... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Gary H
,
Myerstown, PA
Read all 1,061 reviews
  
Reviews (1,061)
Filter reviews
1,061 results
Traveler rating
832
196
28
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
832
196
28
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great view winding road alpine inn entire city surrounding area mississippi river fall colors hiking trails short drive visiting la crosse worth the trip lacrosse area plenty of parking overlooked states minnesota shelter
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,061 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

This was my first ride up the curvy road to granddad bluff. Well worth the visit. The views were indescribable! Nice that they have restrooms and seating!! A great local attraction!

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank paulhenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2021

We drove up on a sunny but very windy day. Appreciated the updated railings and safety measures! We were hoping to hike but most trails were closed, however, we noted that this is a great offering to those who can't hike or have a disability and want to see the views. One trail appeared to be open, was a combo of mountain biking and hikers. It was impressive packed gravel, and we wondered how the multi-use trail would work in busier times. We are mountain bikers and sometimes the combination of hikers and bikers can lead to accidents, especially with the switchbacks we could see before the leaves had grown in. Regardless, this is a really impressive place to visit, and on our clear day we were able to see a grand view of LaCrosse, the Mississippi, Iowa and Minnesota.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Katie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2021

We started our tour of the Mississippi River Drive from La Cross and Grandad Bluff. Its elevation was surprising and unexpected, a clear day with a view for miles. Great information at the summit about how the land was protected etc. The kids all enjoyed the views, the information, but mostly the train we were able to see from end to end. Definitely worth the trip from La Crosse

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank darren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2021 via mobile

Every time we go to LaCrosse, we come here, it’s a beautiful view of the city! You can park at the top or walk from a lower level parking area.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank Love2Ctheworld1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 March 2021 via mobile

With Covid still going on all you can do is outside adventures and this is a nice place to go to. Many trails people to walk.

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank doug2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews