We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and inexpensive ”

Cousin's Hide A Way
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Haugen
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 July 2019 via mobile

High quality food and service for supper passing through on our way to Bayfield; full salad bar, warm rolls, large portions, all under $30!!!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank angief827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

Prime Rib was very good, lobster and prawns also awesome, both Saturday specials. Well worth the trip, Tillie our server was very friendly and helpful, made our 35th dinner celebration feel as good as our 1st. Highly recommended for a meal.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank kensM260EV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 January 2019

Took my wife there for her 61st birthday. Had to be one of the worst meals I ever tried to eat. Both of us ordered the steak and lobster. Ordered the steaks medium and they came out with the cow literally still alive and on the hoof. The lobster was like trying to eat rubber bands. The waffle fries were like hockey pucks. Also as we were walk to the our table we passed the kitchen and the door swung open, needless to say it looked disgustingly filthy. This place reminded me of a nasty truck stop that serves steak and sea food. Please don't waste your time.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 May 2018

A nice little Wisconsin Supper-Club looking place in tiny town. We visited on a Friday night for their fish fry, which had come recommended to us. Hubby ordered the shrimp and fish, I ordered just the fish platter baked, and both of us got the salad bar. What was missing? Well, for one thing, it's hard to break Wisconsinite's of their need of cole slaw with fish fries. I did see cole slaw on the menu under one fish option, but assumed it would be on salad bar for sure. It was not. Some reviews cite the salad bar as "incredible" - it is NOT. It's ice-berg lettuce, when most salad bars know people prefer dark greens somewhere. Crispy red radishes are also part of every salad bar but this one. Dinner rolls were just from a package - not warmed, nothing special at all. Just dough-filler for your meal. The waffle fries were ok, but covered the plate. I would describe the "deep fried" shrimp as directly from a frozen bag from some supermarket. The baked fish was alright, but the melted butter got saltier and saltier by the end of the meal. I would say service was good - but rushed. Wasn't full but seemed to be mostly locals. I think it's an ok place, but probably won't be back. But they do serve real butter. That's better than some restaurants in Rice Lake.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank squirt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Everyone at Cousins go out of their way to treat you like family. From the bartender, to The waitstaff, they make you feel like your at home or better!

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank E Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cousin's Hide A Way also viewed

Been to Cousin's Hide A Way? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.