We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Finnian B
Osoyoos, Canada

Lovely views, comfortable bed, great staff!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 11, 2024
So happy to come to this hotel on a recommendation from a friend. Though the weather was a little chilly, the hotel was amazing. The room was clean and really well maintained and the furniture in our room was comfortable, even when we holed up for hours watching movies and just relaxing. The best part was probably the sunset view from our room but also the woman at the front desk, V.V. was super helpful and friendly and made us laugh every morning and gave us a bunch of recommendations of where to eat and drink, especially a place called Alexanders which was AWESOME! We travel a lot and we mostly just love gorgeous views, eating good food, and sleeping in a comfortable bed so we left super happy.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this review
Responded Apr 14, 2024
Thank you so much for staying with us here at the Edgewater Resort in Ephraim. We love to hear how we did and so happy we were able to make your stay so relaxing and comfortable. Our staff works hard to ensure your rooms are clean and comfortable. Our Front Desk staff does its best to provide as much helpful information that you need or want and VV in particular is always a great source of local information. We are very fortunate to be located in place for the best sunset and water views with the Bluffs in the background.
We look forward to your next Door County visit and stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱12,474
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
1.2 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
exterior
₱17,688
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱17,676
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱17,713
  • Hotels.com
    ₱17,675
0.9 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱11,308
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱11,300
  • Expedia.com
    ₱11,308
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,300
2.2 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱13,805
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱13,814
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱13,810
  • Vio.com
    ₱13,825
1.7 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱11,667
₱10,375
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱10,368
  • Agoda.com
    ₱11,667
  • Vio.com
    ₱10,368
0.1 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱10,142
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
    ₱10,135
  • Priceline
    ₱10,136
2.3 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
exterior
₱17,415
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱17,428
  • Official Site
    ₱15,174
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱17,453
0.0 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
room at the Coachlite Inn
₱14,000
₱11,658
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    ₱11,650
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,649
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱11,649
4.2 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱10,725
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,754
  • Priceline
    ₱10,718
  • Hotels.com
    ₱10,717
4.6 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱14,864
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₱14,853
  • Expedia.com
    ₱14,864
  • Priceline
    ₱14,854
4.6 km from Edgewater Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Ephraim
Reviews (998)
Filter reviews
998 results
Traveler rating
676
213
70
21
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
676
213
70
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish boil old post office door county get away living room front porch peninsula state park eagle harbor first floor green bay no elevator king bed across the street fireplace kitchen whirlpool proximity
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 998 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2024

I've lived in WI for over four years and this was my first trip to Door County. Everything about this hotel was perfect! The view was gorgeous - it really is right on the water! The suite was spacious and well designed. The bed was large and cozy, although I did use the fireplace and the extra blanket provided in the room since it was January. I'm not typically one for a jetted tub in the room, but decided to use this one and I'm glad I did!

Overall, this hotel is clean, well maintained, and the staff is so friendly. 10/10 recommend!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank emrose416
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2024

Emrose416:
Thank you very much for staying with us here in Ephraim at the Edgewater Resort. Our staff works hard to make all of our guest's experience as relaxing and comfortable as possible and we all love to hear how we did. Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and rating or your recent experience. We do our best to be as helpful and informative of what is happening in Door County during your stay and we can always give you recommendations based on what you are looking to do.
We are so glad you finally made it to Door County and had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to your next Door County visit and stay with us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2023 via mobile

As another reviewer this month noted, avoid room 116. Not worth the price with proximity to Old Post Office restaurant. Leaf blower every morning at 7 and always a crowd of waiting diners on the patio right outside our door ahead of breakfast and dinner. Pool lights shining through windows all night. No privacy and no view. We’ve enjoyed other rooms here before but don’t take 116.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ogosomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2023

Thank you for staying with us and I am sorry it was not what you expected. Our staff works very hard to be as helpful as possible and to make our rooms as clean, comfortable and relaxing as we can. Also thank you for providing your feedback it is helpful to us and we care to hear about our guests experience.
We have two Fireplace Studios/Honeymoon Studios which both have: king bed, large whirlpool tub, fireplace, kitchenette and water views with the better view had by the 2nd floor unit. 116 does have a view of Eagle Harbor and the Bluffs. The rooms are larger than the standard hotel room but they are much smaller than our 1-bedroom condo style units. The 2nd floor Fireplace Studio/Honeymoon Studio does have a veranda. Unit 116 does not and there is no room for a patio or other area to place chairs in front of the unit. We do have the large waterfront area and also have other areas for guests to relax. Our seasonal pool is also available as well as our private beach and dock for this unit and all of our units.
It is very close to the Post Office restaurant, which we do not control and is a different owner. It is only open Mid-May to end of October and they do serve breakfast, no lunch and at dinner they have 2 to 3 fish boils performed in the back, except none on Sunday. They do have patio seating which is close to Unit 116 and that seating depends on the weather and if they have the waitstaff to seat the patio dining area. Thank you for the information regarding the leaf blower. I will immediately have them stop performing that function in the morning.
We have been working on a solution for the safety lighting that will provide the required lighting and make the rooms that light it affects less so. None of our rooms are blackout rooms, like some modern built hotels are able to provide. All of our rooms do have modern blinds that block out direct lighting. Most of our buildings are at least 70 years old or built before 1900. We are providing cordless blackening shades where possible and are also trying to create some type of darkening curtains for the sides of the shades.
When booking at a small hotel with many different room types, it is best to contact them directly to make sure you are able to book the exact type of room you wanted. That is a pitfall of booking online through any online booking site. Representatives from other places do not know our rooms very well and our front desk staff who make our reservations do.
The unit you you did book online is much lower in price than the other 1-bedroom condo units on our property and even with the condo units there are several different prices and amenities and locations. We do have a Hotel Traditional room which is very small and has a queen bed but does have the large veranda and better water view.
Again I apologize your stay was not what you expected and if you do give us another chance, please contact us directly to make sure you get the room you wanted.
Best to you and your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2023

When a guest request at the front desk for additional towels is met with “Did you read the white information paper we gave you at check-in?”, as a guest, you know you are in trouble! And that sentiment pretty well summarizes how I felt about our four night stay at the Edgewater Resort in Ephraim, Wisconsin.

The “resort” proudly states that it was established in 1900….and from my perspective likely not updated since then. Well, that’s not fair. Probably updated in the 1970’s (there is air-conditioning!), but it remains mired in 50 years ago. The above-mentioned air conditioning is the in-room style and the ones at Edgewater Resort would give the ones at Motel 6 a run for their money - super noisy. Our room featured a heart-shaped bathtub (think Poconos!) and “housekeeping” set up: a huge microwave from the 1970’s whose clock dial cast a bluish tinge over the room at night (had to cover it with something) and perched atop that, a vintage Mr. Coffee. I needed a chair to pour the water into the Mr. Coffee it was so high. They did give us a coffee packet and filter when we checked in - 2 actually. Can’t figure out how they arrived at that number; we were there four nights - but no mention of sugar or creamer! There was only one bedside lamp, so we had to make sure to go to sleep at the same time.

TV is cable - no logging into Netflix or Amazon at this “resort!” The plastic one piece molded style shower (think 1970’s!) is as small as a telephone booth and the shower head is set so that when you turn on the shower, the water shoots right out at you (and your towel and your bathmat…hence the need for more towels!). The “towel bars” on the wall near the sink look like the safety grab rails in a bathtub and are relatively low to the ground making it a challenge (or impossible) to hang up a towel to dry. And, there is no countertop in the bathroom…just a narrow sink and a small wicker shelving unit - good luck shaving, guys!

Back to the towels…..I did do what the white information paper said….I put the white towels outside in the provided hamper and I called the front desk for more. I called three times, but no towels. I know they got the ones in the hamper….they were gone. The next day, after the scene at the front desk mentioned above, we did get towels. Other unpleasant issues: they leave the outside lights on all night - street lights around the closed up pool - and the light comes through the 1970’s miniblinds all night. And, other resorts have chairs for guests to sit outside and enjoy the weather and the scenery - there are a few plastic chairs around, but not in front of all the rooms…and certainly not in front of 116. After all, for close to $300 a night, what could one expect?! I know that COVID did away with maid service - once again for $300ish a night, I still miss it!

On a plus note, the wi-fi was good and there were plenty of places to change electronic devices.

Room tip: Find another hotel
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Benhenrycallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 24, 2023

Not a resort, this is an ancient 120 yr old motel. Door opens to the parking lot. Porch door jams on the floor before it is fully open. Outside furniture covered in spiders and dead bugs. Windows covered in filth and blinds don’t cover the entire window. Had to prop pillows hide the gap from the constant traffic just 20 ft from the window. AC runs non stop yet never cools the room. Bed is higher than my navel for some reason and I’m handicapped yet the toilet is not comfort height. Pool was closed without notice even though it was over 75 degrees and humid. All restaurants are fishboil most nights and almost no parking. It’s 2am and I’m packing to leave. Worst place we’ve ever booked and I’m not kidding.

Room tip: Make dinner reservations or you're left with outdoor seating fishboil only.
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2023

Sorry to hear your experience was not what you desired. Our staff works very hard to make our guests' stay as clean, relaxing and comfortable as possible which our reviews show we are able to do for most all of our guests, again I apologize we apparently did not get that done for you. It would have been helpful if you had let us know about the a/c not working properly and we could have fixed that. Our pool always closes after the 2nd weekend after Labor Day and Opens Memorial Day weekend, like most hotels around here. We do have to close the pool when there is inclement weather that creates a possible danger to our guests. We do have two accessible rooms if you needed special accommodations for your stay, but you would need to let us know at the time you booked your room. I hope you were able to enjoy the spectacular sunset views from your veranda or rooms. We wish you the best for your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2023

A HUGE disappointment!

We stayed in a cottage, where EACH night the restaurant next door-The Old Post Office- has 3 fishbowl sittings, with 100-125 people for each one. Starting at 2:30 PM, “Torch”, the master cook starts the fire which isn’t put out until 8:30 each night.

The smoke fills the air-so close your windows, because the bigger the fire the more intrigued the dinner guests are!

As a resort guest, there is no sitting outside on your porch (see photos), your cottage is closed and you have 100+ people peeking in your windows when walking by.

Also, the hotel does not reserve any “hotel guest only” parking, so if you get home anytime in the 4 hour serving time frame-good luck finding a place to park!

The hotel staff was nice, desk clerk apologetic that their brochure mentions nothing of this.

For 3 nights, $1300+ dollars, we could not enjoy grilling, sitting on our porch, fresh air or even a view outside.
And no hotel only parking either.

Your best bet is not to book, and to look elsewhere.

Room tip: Try another hotel, there are many in Ephraim and other busier towns. You pay a premium price and don’t get what you should.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rowboatbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2023

Sorry your experience was not what you expected being close to the fish boil area. Our new website when published should make it more apparent that our cottages are near the fish boil area and when guests call to book our cottages we are usually good about explaining the location, if that didn't happen I apologize. We wish you the best for your future stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews