We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Official Site
$150
View deal
Travelocity$150
Expedia.com$150
Hotels.com$150
Vio.com$150
Orbitz.com$150
Etrip$150
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveler rating
673
213
70
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
673
213
70
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish boil old post office full kitchen door county living room front porch jacuzzi tub peninsula state park eagle harbor green bay king bed across the street fireplace lake proximity towns
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 991 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2022

The Edgewater Resort is so quaint, quiet and clean. The rooms are really clean, large and well appointed. The views and outdoor spaces are really nice, especially the private pier w/Adirondack chairs and the beach.

Room tip: The king suites have large rooms and big bathrooms with double sided fireplaces
Date of stay: August 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WIJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2022

Thank you so much for staying with us here at the the Edgewater Resort and providing your 5 Bubble Rating of your recent stay with us. So glad you were able to enjoy our private beach and dock and of course the view that come with them. Our staff works hard to make everyone's stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible.
We look forward to your next Door County visit and stay with us.
Patrick
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2022 via mobile

I don’t think we have ever had an experience so opposite from reviews on Trip Advisor. Perhaps we got the last room available, but it was nothing like the pictures others have posted.

To begin, the room was tiny. I mean, like New York City tiny, so that you could barely walk around the bed. Size, however, I can deal with. What we couldn’t deal with was how dirty the room was.

The carpet had to be the original carpet from when the place was built. It was so worn and stained that I wouldn’t walk on it with bare feet. The tile wasn’t any better - old and dirty. The bathroom sink was disgusting. It drained slowly (again, old) and all the gunk built up and had to be rinsed again every time you brushed your teeth.

Then there were the bugs. They congregated outside the door and when we got back at night they swarmed inside. At one point there were hundreds of bugs on the ceiling. They made their way into the bathroom and some died in the soap dish (see photos). Disgusting.

Service was fine. Though we were told to set the hamper of dirty towels outside the door by 10:30 am and when we returned at 4:30 pm they were still there. We called and they brought clean towels quickly.

For context, we spent the first part of our vacation at Lodge Kohler in Green Bay. Now I have been to both places many times, and we realize that Door Co is a tourist destination and things are more expensive. But we had a Titletown room with a king bed and a view of the stadium, with a gorgeous deluxe bathroom for $229 per night at Lodge Kohler. This dump of a room we got at Edgewater cost us $279 / night - $50 more each night to sleep in a shoebox with bugs and disgusting carpet.

The best part - in fact, the only good part of our stay - was the view. We love the town of Ephriam and the proximity of the buildings to the shore. But good grief, we thought back through all of our vacations and had to go back to 2003 to remember a room this bad.

The second star is only for the view; otherwise this would be a 1-star review. Like I said, maybe we got the last room. If I was told I’d have to stay there again I would give up the deposit and sleep on the beach instead.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2022

Lisa:
I see that you booked online and the picture of the Queen Hotel Traditional does show a small room and the description states it is a smaller style hotel room. It does have the large veranda access as well. The carpeting was replaced 18 months ago and has since been professionally cleaned multiple times plus thorough cleaning of all our floors upon check out of our guests. There have been no descriptions from our guest in reviews or verbally to us about the type of condition of the flooring you allege in your review of your stay.
Yes we are an old building, it was originally built in approximately 1900 and remodeled in 1999. Our professional staff stays on top of the cleanliness as well as proper functioning of all of our rooms. Most of our full time staff have been with us for over six years. As you mentioned, and all can see, the multitude of reviews that mention how clean and well maintained our rooms are. It was unfortunate the bathroom sink did not drain as quickly as a sink normally might and I will make sure to check it as soon as possible, which we always follow up on all guest comments or issues and do our best to mitigate it as quickly as possible.
We always encourage our guests to let us now if there is anything that is not as they expect or not correct while they are here so we can correct the situation as soon as possible.
We are on the water, hence the bug issue as they are drawn to lights and are part of Door County, as unpleasant as that can be at times. Depending on the weather it gets worse or better. I wish there was something we could do about that, but there really isn't. Keeping doors closed or open and closing as quickly as possible is part of it.
Our staff is always wiling to make additional stops into our guests rooms to clean up or correct things when our guests ask, just as you did regarding the towel pick up and replacement. Housekeeping or front desk should have emptied the hamper and front desk should be instructing at check-in that guests need to let us know what if any replacements they need by contacting our front desk person on duty at that time.
I take exception to your description of the room as "a dump of a room" and I am not sure what the "last room available" is supposed to mean other some type of condescending comment. We do only have two Queen Hotel Traditional rooms on our property, most of them are one-bedroom condo style units. I will let the very numerous reviews on Trip Advisor as well as other sites speak for itself regarding the cleanliness and comfort of our rooms and attentiveness of our staff. Green Bay is an enjoyable place to visit and glad you had a great experience there. You did visit in the peak of the Door County Summer season and prices are higher here especially with our water location, nightly sunset views, combined with how highly sought after our location is.
I hope if you have any issues during any future hotel stays, that you give the hotel notice of any issues and give them a chance to correct them for you.
Happy Travels to You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2022 via mobile

Suite #203 with porch and view of Eagle Harbor. This is a TRUE ESCAPE and it was a miracle that they even had a room for us. We had booked the FISH BOIL next door at The Post Office Restaurant (Table #41). We walked across the street to the Visiter Center, and the rocking chairs on the porch (another find ). Hubby says this place is so beautiful wish we could stay here. I said we are staying closer to the ferry. Just then my phone rang - there was a covid outbreak at the place we booked and now we were roomless!! Thank God, this place had a cancellation (others we called were all booked ). It was way more money $$$$ but way more worth it. The receptionist didn’t want us to miss the Fish Boil - she said pay the room after you eat dinner. BTW - this room was a suite: kitchen, living room, fireplace into bedroom/living room, whirlpool in bedroom, and huge bathroom, and access to the front porch. We stayed until 10:58am, checkout was 11am. Didn’t want to leave. Had breakfast at Table #41 on the porch of the Old Post Office. Did drive to the ferry the next day and had delicious ice cream at Charlie’s Smokehouse - sat outside, slurped and watched the boats. There is a 2-hour Cherry Train on Washington Island in season but we were too tired to do it.

Room tip: Treat yourself: Book the Fish Boil and this place way ahead of time. Parking right there. Pool and outside games.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rnovicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2022

Thank you so much for staying with us and providing your 5 dot rating and review. So glad you were able to escape and enjoy our relaxing and comfortable settings. We are so happy that we were able to accommodate you last minute, that was very lucky for that time of year. We are always very happy to help our guests have a relaxing stay and do what we can to help.
The views are amazing of Eagle Harbor, the Bluffs and of course every sunset from your rooms, veranda, our pool, beach or dock. I hope you are able to get back our way for another longer True Escape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2021

We came up for a long weekend in December and The Edgewater is amazing! Full kitchen, jacuzzi tub, fireplace, huge bathroom, everything we wanted. The front desk was friendly, informative and helped us plan our weekend. The bed was great with 7 pillows and a fireplace at the foot of the bed. Probably the cleanest room ever. Will stay here every trip to Door County moving forward!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank WIJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2021

Jill:
We are so happy that you had such a great relaxing stay with us here at the Edgewater Resort in Ephraim. Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 Rating and review. Our staff loves to hear how we have done for our guests and work hard to provide a clean comfortable stay for all of our guests.
We look forward to your next Door County visit and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2021

This is a nice coastal town hotel that sits scenically adjacent to the lake but across Highway 42. It's also right next to The Old Post Office Restaurant where we had booked a traditional fish boil dinner. The stay here does not include any breakfast as the only restaurant on the property is the separately operated Old Post Office Restaurant which does also serve breakfast. The setup is also a bit more akin to a motel as there is no real central lobby, but just a small check-in room they call a lobby, and which we had a little trouble actually finding, ha. Vivi was the friendly receptionist and she readily accommodated an early 1:30pm check-in for us (I called ahead) versus the normal 3:30pm check-in time. The room was spacious and comfortable and a lakeside door opened to a common walkway with a gorgeous view of Lake Michigan/Green Bay.

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Patrick Perkins, General Manager at Edgewater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2021

Howard: We are so glad you chose to stay with us here at the Edgewater Resort in Ephraim. Thank you for your 5 Rating for your recent stay, we work hard to provide a relaxing and comfortable stay for all of our guests. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location with the full views of Eagle Harbor, the Bluffs, Islands and gorgeous sunsets. We are happy you were able to enjoy your stay and we were able to accommodate an early check-in for you. We look forward to your next Door County visit and stay with us here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews