We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A Bucket List Experience a Short Drive from Home

Camping on a river island is a magical experience. The only sounds around us overnight were the... read more

Reviewed July 25, 2022
W5177PGlaurag
Excellent Outfitter

Used them to shuttle for a trip from Sauk Prairie to Wyalusing. They were responsive and patient... read more

Reviewed September 3, 2021
christinec622
,
Arlington Heights, Illinois, United States
Read all 204 reviews
  
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
157
31
7
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
157
31
7
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sand bar great trip camping trip strong winds spring greens canoe sandbars gear clouds boats rope
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 204 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2022

Camping on a river island is a magical experience. The only sounds around us overnight were the river and the creatures that rely on it. We awoke to an amazing sunrise to the east with huge rays of light coming through the clouds hanging over the horizon. We turned downstream and saw a full rainbow. It's a picture I want to always remember.

Paddling the river is super easy. No experience needed. Do heed the warning about paddling times. The wind from the west can be very strong, overcoming the current that would otherwise be carrying you. Plan to play on an island from noon-5pm and only paddle in the morning or the early evening.

Staff was great, booking was easy. We will be back!

Date of experience: July 2022
Thank W5177PGlaurag
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 3, 2021

Used them to shuttle for a trip from Sauk Prairie to Wyalusing. They were responsive and patient with my many questions in getting this setup. Shuttle was on time and efficient and they gave me VALUABLE info on river and camping conditions. The river was running high so the info was critical to having a safe and fun trip. I highly recommend them and will use their services again in the future.

Date of experience: September 2021
Thank christinec622
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 28, 2021

I've used WRO twice before, and we are taking our third trip this weekend. It was a great experience both times.

WRO sent several informative emails leading up to our trip that were very helpful. WRO has videos you can watch explaining how to pack your canoe, what to expect, and sends you a pack list. After reading the emails WRO sent me and watching their videos, I new what to expect and didn't have many surprises.

The first two trips we dropped our gear off up river, I drove to WRO and parked the van at the launch, WRO shuttled me back to the drop in spot. It was nice having my vehicle waiting when we arrived at WRO. Once we finished the trip, we didn't have to deal with anyone, just packed up and left. This year we are starting in Boscobel and ending in Wyalusing state park. This time instead of having my van waiting for me at the end (3 days, two nights), we are getting picked up at 2pm in Wyalusing. I'm a little nervous that I'll be stressing about getting to the pickup stop in time, but to me it's all part of the preparation and planning of the trip, and the planning is something I enjoy.

When we took our second trip from Spring Green to Boscobel, we stopped in Muscoda so I could walk to the gas station to get more drinks. I was on my way back to the canoe and a WRO van pulled up and asked if I wanted a ride. It was Scott the owner whom I recognized right away from all his planning videos I watched. He didn't have to stop and offer a ride and I was thankful he did.

We love our trips on the Wisconsin river and plan to keep using WRO for years to come.

A tip for people taking their first river camping trip is learn how to stake down a tent on a sand bar. Our first trip all I had was the metal pin stakes that came with the tent and they were completely useless. The second trip I had sand stakes with threads that you screw into the sand. These were better than the metal pins but still not great. After doing some research, this year I plan on tying a rope to a piece of wood and burying it under the sand. I wonder how other people stake down their tents on the sandbars and wouldn't mind seeing more videos about it.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank josephlD1070YK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 21, 2021

Without a doubt, the highlight of my experience was my proposal to my girlfriend (now fiancée)! WRO staff offered their best advice to make this possible. Thank you for a trip that we will never forget.

Constructive criticism: we both really like the morning for paddling, and although we selected your earliest time-slot for departure (10am), we unfortunately were not able to hit the water until 12:05pm. We would have enjoyed the first day a lot more if we were able to start earlier.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank Bluenoser-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 5, 2020

I may come back with a better review but they botched it with Covid. Told me to call back 2 weeks before we wanted to schedule our trip, planned around the date only to find out they could not accommodate us. It could have been handled better for sure.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank Rikk W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews