We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$659
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blue Marlin Beach Resort(South Water Caye)
Book now, pay at stay
US$408
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Bonefish Hotel(Dangriga)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaleanor Hotel(Dangriga)(Great Value!)
US$83
US$58
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (648)
Filter reviews
648 results
Traveler rating
538
74
20
11
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
74
20
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoverwater bungalowother guestsfishmain palapaour honeymoonpaddle boardingserenity pointlobster huntingprivate islandisland dogisland hoppingblue horizonnew friendsisland activitiesmagical placelaid backscuba diving
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 648 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We traveled to this location with our 14-year-old daughter for spring break. Initially we were booked to do a split stay, and go to a second resort mid week. However, we enjoyed our visit so much that we stayed at the resort for our entire vacation.

The resort has an intimate feel to it, and can accommodate a maximum of 36 guests. While the beach is small, it is sufficient for the needs of the resort. The resort offers a number of complementary water activities, including paddle boarding, kayaks, and a windsurfer. The beach area was well-maintained. The water was clear, and a number of fish were present.

The staff at the resorts were amazing. Due to the small size, you get to know staff members. We opted for the all-inclusive option, which included all of our meals and drinks. The food was outstanding. In the event that a guest had a special dietary request, it was honored.

A number of varying room types are available. We stayed in the penthouse unit, which accommodated our family well. The decor in our room was beautiful, and we had a large balcony overlooking the water. Our room was well-maintained during our visit. Bottles of water were available in the room. There is no in room refrigerator, but it is not necessary.

This resort stood out from other resorts we have visited, in that there are no TVs in the rooms, as well as no Wi-Fi. In the event that we needed Wi-Fi we had to go to the lounge area. This was a nice welcome from the hectic electronic world.

During your stay, we went on a few tours. We did the catch and cook fishing trip, which was unbelievable. My daughter caught a barracuda, as well as a number of other fish including grouper and snapper. The fish were then brought back to the resort, cleaned and filleted, and cooktop is part of the evening meal. We also went on an island hopping excursion, and visited a number of area islands including a Smithsonian Institute program. My husband and daughter also went snorkeling.

The resort is linked with the pack for a purpose charity program. My daughter was able to bring 50 pounds of books and school supplies that the resort delivered to an area home for abused children.

We would like to give a special shout out to the following employees: Barry, Orlando, Ben and Jess. These individuals went out of their way to be sure that we enjoyed our trip, and were extremely kind to our daughter. Also, do we have the dog was wonderful during our trip, and was very sad to see us leave. Keep up the good work Mr. Leslie.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank HLaw97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 12 April 2018

Hlaw97 we are so glad you decided to spend spring break with us and try a new location from the spring break norm. Your extensive review is very flattering, and we are so humbled to hear what a great time your family had. We are especially thankful for your daughter to bring all those books for pack4apurpose. That is so thoughtful and the kids in the area will be so happy. Thank you as well for acknowledging our staff. They are amazing and help the island stay the paradise that it is. Dewey and us all at Thatch Caye hope to see your families return in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Spent four days here recently for a 40th birthday celebration with three friends and couldn't have picked a better place!! As mentioned on their site, Thatch Caye is not your typical all-inclusive resort, which we saw as a very good thing since many such resorts tend to feel quite sterile; Thatch Caye was anything but! Upon arriving to the island, we were immediately served welcome drinks and greeted by the manager, Mr. Leslie. We felt at home right away; the staff were all very warm, friendly, and accommodating without being overly solicitous. The accommodations were rustic but comfortable, and you can't beat the views from all over the island. We enjoyed meeting and chatting with others at happy hour and dinner - with a maximum of 30 guests, the island has an intimate and homey feel. The meals were excellent - among the four of us, we had a vegan, vegetarian, and pescatarian, and they did an excellent job accommodating us; we left each meal feeling satisfied but not stuffed. During our stay, we went on a couple of excursions, including snorkeling which is a must, and spent time on the island kayaking and stand-up paddleboarding. We also got amazing massages under the mangrove trees, and there are hammocks strategically located throughout the island for lounging and decompressing in a beautiful and natural environment. Overall, I can't say enough good things about this place and have already recommended it to several people; in addition, my friends and I, who each do quite a bit of traveling and aren't typically inclined to visit the same place twice, are discussing making this a regular trip! Thank you to all the wonderful staff for helping make our celebration so memorable!!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muy-Ono, Guest Relations Manager at Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Awww thank you Julie. We were honored that you chose to take a chance in staying at Thatch Caye for your birthday. Especially being such an important one. The island is really a special place and unlike any vacation. We would love to have you and all your friends come visit as many times as you can! We wish you again the happiest birthday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Wow just spent the best 5 days at Thatch Caye and could have stayed more! The resort is a perfect combination of activities and relaxation. With plenty to do right on the island if you are easy to please and just need the beach, swimming, paddle boarding, and good company! The staff were all accommodating to dietary requests and what ever else you may need! I recommend the all inclusive, although pricey it is worth it for the fun happy hour and great food! Mr. Leslie the manager is the best and everyone else was so nice! If you are not used to communal dining table give it a shot you may meet some of the most interesting people and leave with new friends! Wahoo Thatch Caye

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Justine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muy-Ono, Guest Relations Manager at Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Wahoo Justine! Thank you for visiting Thatch Caye Resort. We are so thankful to have guests like you. We are thrilled to hear about your experience on the island. There is really so much to do, you could stay for weeks! We appreciate you mentioning the communal dining. It seems odd at first, but you are right, just give it a try! You will be surprised how much you like it. Again, thank you for choosing to vacation at Thatch Caye Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Loved everything about Thatch Caye! It was the perfect amount of relaxation plus adventure. You could do as much as you wanted to or as little as you wanted to. We enjoyed snorkeling, fishing, the conch hunt, and the group meals. Happy hour on the water bar was fun too! BEST drinks were made by the bartenders...highly recommend them! We will definitely be back! Thanks Thatch Caye!

Room Tip: Sleeping in the hammock at night was amazing! Great sunrises! So many stars!
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muy-Ono, Guest Relations Manager at Thatch Caye, a Muy'Ono Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Who knew paradise was a little island off the coast of Belize!? We are sure glad you found us though! It sounds like you had the perfect getaway and we are so happy you had a great enough time to want to come back. We thank you for vacationing with us at Thatch Caye. See you back soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Small intimate island off the coast of Belize. The staff was extremely attentive. For me the food was great, although I’m not a big foodie. The accommodations were fine for us as the bed was large and comfortable. The room was large and we weren’t cramped for space. Diving and fishing was world class. Loved the happy hour everyday and the community meals. By the time we left we were hugging everyone we met, exchanging number and planning to visit each other. We made new friends along the way and shared family stories. For us, this was one of the highlights of the trip. We each shared what we did that day at happy hour and the dinner table.

Room Tip: All rooms had great views
Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews