We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
ZenHotels.com
eDreams
Snaptravel
Booking.com
View all 6 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
42
18
2
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
42
18
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely house welcoming couple white swan wonderful hospitality lots of nice touches tea and coffee making bus stop two nights small fridge friendly hosts b and b fresh milk breakfast was excellent short break york centre would stay again the pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2020

This was our first trip away since Covid 19 lockdown easing and we were in need of a short break, despite being a little nervous about being away from home. However, Hilary and Paul are doing everything possible to keep guests safe, and although there were some obvious restrictions, we were made incredibly welcome and had the most relaxing 5 day break. Our room with bay window to the front garden was spacious with comfy sofa and, in the absence of the guest lounge, was perfect for unwinding after busy days of sightseeing. Hilary's breakfasts are superb and include a number of different treats. Other extras went a long way to keep us happy too. My husband is lactose intolerant, and while we usually have to keep alert to milk lurking in food, we felt confident that Hilary was taking care to use lacto-free dairy or alternatives without it ever appearing to be a problem. This even stretched to the cordon bleu level samples of Hilary’s home baking after a long day out sightseeing. I would wholeheartedly recommend Westergate House to anyone looking for a quiet retreat with experienced and friendly hosts who put their guests at the heart of their business. Looking forward to returning soon!

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynneh536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 August 2020

We have just returned from a last minute weekend break at Westergate House, the accommodation was first class with a lovely first floor room overlooking the garden. Hilary and Paul made us feel very welcome and provided a superb breakfast each morning with impeccable service. The house has a great deal of character set in its own grounds and was decorated and furnished to a high level making our two night stay thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely return here again as it really was top class with hosts who care about making your break restful and enjoyable. Thanks David and Judy H (Lancashire).

Date of stay: August 2020
1  Thank Compass00579403949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2020

Westergate House is run a by a very friendly couple, Paul and Hilary. Hilary is a cordon bleu cook and this shows in the stunning breakfasts - the choice, quality and size were all great. In these difficult times, Paul and Hilary made us very welcome, and they had planned everything meticulously. The room (Turpin) was spacious, spotlessly clean and has a fridge which was very useful. The location is also great as there is no problem parking and there is a regular bus to the city. We would definitely go back again and again if ever we were in the area. This has to be one of the B & Bs we have ever stayed in.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank Pevsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 March 2020

We stayed at this charming B/B for 3nights on arrival we were served with tea coffee and home made scones the hosts Paul and Hillary were very friendly Our room was very clean a large comfortable bed great bathroom also a small fridge and tea and coffee making faculty ,the breakfast was very good with a good selection ,would stay again and recommend

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank 711terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary F, Owner at Westergate House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will return and see us soon. We have undertaken a mammoth amount of renovations during the last 6 months and we hope that you will enjoy seeing what we have changed . stay safe. Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2019 via mobile

Lovely accomodation.
Large bedrooms looking out to landscaped gardens at the rear.
Wonderful breakfasts.
Easy access into York,via car or public bus service.
Hosts were very friendly and accommodating.
Will definitely return.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank greyildc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilary F, Owner at Westergate House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2020

Thank you very much. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found access to york easy. I hope we will see you again and maybe spring or summer when you can take advantage of the gardens which are at their best in spring early summer. Hilary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews