We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveler rating
375
103
22
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
375
103
22
17
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 523 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2020

We spent 6 nights at Sangat resort with my wife and young son. The resort is extremely beautiful, there doesn't appear to be much of a beach from google earth, but there is infact a beautiful expansive sandy beach.

The Scuba facility and staff are first class. The wrecks are only minutes away (vs Hours staying in Coron Town). Dive guides are very experienced and know the wrecks literaly inside out. Very used to guiding divers inside these huge wrecks and tolerant with the nervousness that can come from diving in these new and challenging environments for most divers. Nitrox available and recommended on the wrecks. 15ltr tank came in handy for myself being so unfit :-)

Staff at the resort are wonderful. They could not be more helpful. After the first day they had the kids highchair ready for us at each meal, and a bowl of fresh chilli meaning we didn't have to request it. Front desk Kat was also so friendly and helpful, booking us a room in Coron town for our departure day at a discounted price.

Prior to the stay I was considering Sangat or another nearby resort, and we are very much happy we chose Sangat. Amazing memorable stay, we will be back when the young one can dive.

Room tip: The cabins that are not beach side are still only 30 or so meters to the beach.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pistolbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eva Lenain, Owner at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2020

Hi!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write in a wonderful review. We are so happy that you and the family enjoyed every bit of the Sangat Island experience.

Thanks for detailing your experience with the dive facility, our location, and how well your instructor guided you! The dive team, food & beverage staff members and Cat will be so pleased to learn your recognition!

So thrilled you chose us as your Coron destination and that you had a memorable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back as on of ur regulars once the travel ban has be lifted. Have a wonderful rest of your week.

Best Regards,
Tania


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2020

Of everywhere I went in the Philippines, this was my favorite spot. The island is a paradise: comfortable and cool rooms (despite having no AC), great views of the ocean, and an incredible dive shop. My partner and I are both divers and came uncertain if we actually wanted to dive - but after a single trip with these folks we were hooked and couldn't go enough in our stay here. The night dive is not to be missed, but every dive is really great. The reason to dive here is for accessible wrecks and the dive staff are attentive to diver nervousness in these new environments. Every staff member at the dive shop is great - knowledgeable, thoughtful, and attentive.

The food is excellent and plentiful, the bar plentiful and happy hours are generous. As a vegetarian, I didn't always have lots of options in other places in the Philippines, but here there were always tons of options + I was stuffed every night.

The folks who work here are wonderful - great service, helpful in every way. Really cannot recommend this place enough! I can't wait to go back.

Room tip: On the beach or in the forest - all have great views and are very comfortable.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alj_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Eva Lenain, Owner at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2020

Hi alj_travels,

Wow, thank you so much for your fantastic review. So thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your Sangat Island experience!

We are so lucky to have such an amazing team that makes each guest member feel like they are part of a huge family. Glad to read that you were well taken care of- from the dives to the dining!

Thank you for choosing us as you Coron destination. We look forward to welcoming you back as one of our regulars.

Have a lovely rest of the week,

Best Wishes,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2020

Stayed at Sangat Island Dive Resort with my wife and young son, in one of the beautiful traditional style beach bungalows - right on the white sandy beach. Stunning natural location with limestone cliffs and cool tropical wildlife, birds, monkeys, gekkos and more, fantastic diving and dive crew. Right next to the famous shipwrecks and gorgeous reefs. Went on shallower dives (even landing craft and gunboat wreck dives) with my son and deeper wreck dives with the excellent guides, the DM Caloy was awesome. Definitely one of the most professional dive operations you will find anywhere in the world. Great boats, top notch gear and as much nitrox as you could ever need. JoJo, who runs the dive shop, is a wealth of knowledge and plenty of fun too, made it very easy for us. No stress comfortable mealtimes, plenty of great food, super cold beer and great drinks. Staff and guests were all super friendly with a nice, no-problem we can arrange that - island lifestyle attitude. Everything you can ask for in a tropical beach paradise dive resort holiday.
My whole family loved the experience, don't miss out if you are lucky enough to get a chance to visit Sangat !

Room tip: Booking ahead can get you into one of the awesome bungalows right on the beach.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sditdidiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2020

Hi sditdidiver,

We are so thrilled to acknowledge this review!! Thank you for writing in.

Glad you loved every aspect of the resort and that your diving experience was top notch. We are so lucky to have Jojo in our family. His passion for diving is incredible and his personality makes the whole learning process fun. So happy you felt comfortable and that Caloy also took great care of you.

We appreciate the beautiful words. Our location and lifestyle is truly unique and you've captured the Sangat experience so well.

Thank you for choosing us as your Coron destination. We can't wait to have you, your wife, and son back as one of our regulars!

Cheers,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2020

We stayed at Sangat for 4 nights. By the time we left, we felt like we made a new group of friends.The room was spacious for 2 and clean. There is no hot water and air conditioning. But there are fans in the room and we always had a breeze.
The beach feels like your own private oasis. Staff is fantastic, knowledgeable and helpful. Our tour boat broke down and they sent a boat to pick us up in a quick second.
The food was delicious though I wish there were more Filipino options to choose from. I loved the sea grape salad-a must try. Their happy hour is great. Make sure Russel makes your drinks.

The stars are breathtaking.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank anouska c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2020

Hi Anouska,

Thank you so much for the lovely review.

The resort attracts wonderful people from all walks of life, glad you've found life long friends during your stay.

Great to hear that you enjoyed Sangat's privacy, accommodation, service, drinks and food! I will definitely pass on your feedback to the chef who will be pleased to include more filipino options.

Russel is a superstar, he will be so happy to learn your recognition.

We appreciate you taking time to write in. We look forward to having you back soon!

Best Regards,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2020

We spent 8 days to the Sangat Island Dive Resort, during december 2019.
First, the feeling when you arrived by boat, and the captain told you, "this is the resort just in front of". And you discover a paradisiac island, with a white sand beach. WOW EFFECT !
This place is so beautiful. the cottage on the beach are really comfortable for an eco-friendly resort.
The food is pretty good, moreover if we think about the fact the island is isolated.
The poeple are so warn and kindly, they do everything to make you feel comfortable and give you all what you need.
Share your life with the cheapy monkey who lives at the resort is so amazing, we will never forget all these moments !
Of course, we loved the dives at the sangat, a beautiful reef all around the resort, with a lot of marine life, and impressive wreck dive (from the WW2 (/japanese wreck).
But it's not only for divers, it's possible to do a lot of excursions around the Coron island, and discover some of the most beautiful places on the earth !
Thanks again to everybody at the resort,
Timothée et Chloé from France.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timoth_el808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2020

Hi Timothée,

Wow, thank you for taking time to write in a fantastic review!

Glad you loved your Sangat Island experience from start to finish. I'll be sure to pass on your wonderful words to the rest of the team.

The scuba diving here is one of the best in the Philippines and its great to read that you enjoyed the wrecks &reefs.

Thanks for letting the TripAdvisor community know that the resort is not only for divers. Our hammocks, white beach, island hopping tours, and monkeys will definitely keep those who don't dive entertained!

Thank you for choosing us as your Coron destination. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Best Wishes,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews