We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveler rating
375
103
22
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
375
103
22
17
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 523 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2020

We spent 8 days to the Sangat Island Dive Resort, during december 2019.
First, the feeling when you arrived by boat, and the captain told you, "this is the resort just in front of". And you discover a paradisiac island, with a white sand beach. WOW EFFECT !
This place is so beautiful. the cottage on the beach are really comfortable for an eco-friendly resort.
The food is pretty good, moreover if we think about the fact the island is isolated.
The poeple are so warn and kindly, they do everything to make you feel comfortable and give you all what you need.
Share your life with the cheapy monkey who lives at the resort is so amazing, we will never forget all these moments !
Of course, we loved the dives at the sangat, a beautiful reef all around the resort, with a lot of marine life, and impressive wreck dive (from the WW2 (/japanese wreck).
But it's not only for divers, it's possible to do a lot of excursions around the Coron island, and discover some of the most beautiful places on the earth !
Thanks again to everybody at the resort,
Timothée et Chloé from France.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timoth_el808
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2020

Hi Timothée,

Wow, thank you for taking time to write in a fantastic review!

Glad you loved your Sangat Island experience from start to finish. I'll be sure to pass on your wonderful words to the rest of the team.

The scuba diving here is one of the best in the Philippines and its great to read that you enjoyed the wrecks &reefs.

Thanks for letting the TripAdvisor community know that the resort is not only for divers. Our hammocks, white beach, island hopping tours, and monkeys will definitely keep those who don't dive entertained!

Thank you for choosing us as your Coron destination. We can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Best Wishes,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2020

Spectacular resort in a fabulous setting. Geared principally to the needs of divers who come here for the clear water and Japanese shipwrecks, as a non diver I felt equally at home and made welcome. There is plenty to do on the water as well as under it, trekking and tours too although, personally, I couldn’t see why anyone would want to leave. The beach, house reef and island interior were astonishing.

Meals were at set times and without exception, wholesome and plentiful. Drinks were inexpensive and mid morning and mid afternoon snacks were available too as well as tea and coffee on tap.

My cottage (Treetops) was set back a little and above those on the beachfront. It felt more private and was perfect for me. Simple but equipped with everything needed for a happy stay.

Charges for renting kayaks or snorkelling equipment were sensible (given guests are a captive audience) and although more, I was happy with prices for the 2 guided activities I did.

I must mention a major personal negative. As other reviewers have commented, the transfer arrangements from Busuanga airport, involving van and boat were slick (and inclusive of room rates) but travellers are of course at the mercy of the weather and in rough seas you’ll get spray soaked but my transfer experience back to Coron was marred by a nasty back injury sustained by relentless bumping up and down sitting sideways on a hard bench seat with nothing to hold onto to because the boat driver went flat out with complete disregard to the rough sea conditions or his passenger’s discomfort. I brought this to the attention of the Resort in a survey request they sent me and might at least have expected a courtesy call or note to enquire how I was. Disappointingly, not a peep.

In considerable pain, the final week of my holiday in Borneo was somewhat spoiled as I could scarcely walk let alone do some of the activities I had planned. However, this unfortunate incident aside, Sangat was gorgeous.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shroomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded February 24, 2020

Dear Mr Colin,

Thank you so much for taking time to write us. Great to hear that you loved our location, your cottage, food & drinks, as well as the activities! We truly appreciate your lovely comments despite the poor transfer experience.

Myself and the whole Sangat team would like to apologize for the issue encountered during your trip from the island to town. We can imagine how frustrating it must be to feel so much discomfort and pain that you had to cancel some planned activities.

We do really value your patience and understanding in the matter as it was rather concerning for us. If we have the opportunity to welcome you again, we would love to organise a far greater experience in your next visit. I believe the owner, Andy, has personally been in touch to discuss further. He has taken your feedback on board as it is extremely important that this not happen again.

Warmest regards,
Tania
Brand Manager
tania@sangat.ph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2020 via mobile

When our boat transfer turned round the last rock, the view to a part of paradise opened up. A beautiful beach with just a dozen of little cottages and palms, surrounded by the volcanic rocks.

Service was excellent. Also food was brilliant, we stayed only three nights. It for sure gained three kilos. Crabs, fish, traditional Filipino Adobo, fresh fruits, Calamansi daiquiri at the rock bar. We really enjoyed every minute.

Beach, snorkeling and paddling are fabulous, we found a clown fish family maybe 20 meters from our cottage. A 30 Minute paddling excursion gets you to Mangrove woods and shallow coral reefs for snorkeling.

Jojo and his dive crew brought us to beautiful reefs and spectacular wrecks from Second World War.

Just three days, but we will never forget our visit to this secret and private part of paradise.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank StephanU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded February 22, 2020

Hi StephanU10,

Thank you so much for writing in a glowing review. You described the Sangat Island experience so well, we love every word!

It's great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the chefs and the rest of the team.

Thanks for choosing us as your Coron destination. We look forward to welcoming you back as one of our regulars!

Best Wishes,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2020

My family with 4 young adult children stayed in the separate villa with our own beach. It was surreal!! Our own little bridge to access our own private beach and villa - the villa was so quaint - we had come prepared for mosquitoes, heat and roughing it - we didn't have a single mosquito bother us, the fans provided eliminate any heat problems and the villa was an absolute gem of a place to stay.

We had terrific snorkelling straight off our beach and even swam alongside 2 sea turtles and saw Nemo!!!

The villa was immaculately cleaned every day. The food was also brilliant - breakfast, lunch, dinner and unlike some places we've stayed at - morning and afternoon tea was also provided. The staff was super friendly and helpful - we chose to snorkel instead of dive and also did a fantastic island hopping tour.

Totally recommend Sangat Island and one day we hope to return - thank you for the wonderful memories !!

Room tip: The villa with its own private beach!!!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 770bernadetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sangatking, Brand Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2020

Hi 770bernadetten,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience!

The team will be absolutely thrilled to hear your praises and to know you enjoyed all aspects of the resort.

It's great that you and the whole family prepared for an adventure, the private island life can be tough. And wow, two turtles and Nemo is a treat! So happy that you experienced the villa life, its definitely perfect for a family.

Thanks for choosing to stay at Sangat Island Dive Resort and for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. We can't wait to welcome you back as one of our regulars.

Cheers,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at the resort and added another night after arrival since 2
nights is way too short, it was our most expensive but def worth it stay at Coron. Our hut overlooked the sea which is the best sound at night, the staff is sweet and helpful, all the breakfast lunches and dinners which are included have so many options also for vegetarians and are tasty. The snorkling is gorgeous, we didnt go diving and I wish the jetski wasn’t broken but enough to do from there. And we both had a massage which was really good. So even if you are not visiting for diving still a must visit!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Milou_Neelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sangatking, Brand Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2020

Hi Milou_Neelen,

Thank you for your high rating! The team will be so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time.

Its great that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you added an extra two nights. The snorkeling and the island itself is an experience even for non divers!

Thanks detailing your time with Sangat Island Dive Resort to the TripAdvisor community. We can't wait to welcome you back to the island life soon!

Cheers,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews