We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Orbitz.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
523 results
Traveler rating
375
103
22
17
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
375
103
22
17
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 523 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2020

Spectacular resort in a fabulous setting. Geared principally to the needs of divers who come here for the clear water and Japanese shipwrecks, as a non diver I felt equally at home and made welcome. There is plenty to do on the water as well as under it, trekking and tours too although, personally, I couldn’t see why anyone would want to leave. The beach, house reef and island interior were astonishing.

Meals were at set times and without exception, wholesome and plentiful. Drinks were inexpensive and mid morning and mid afternoon snacks were available too as well as tea and coffee on tap.

My cottage (Treetops) was set back a little and above those on the beachfront. It felt more private and was perfect for me. Simple but equipped with everything needed for a happy stay.

Charges for renting kayaks or snorkelling equipment were sensible (given guests are a captive audience) and although more, I was happy with prices for the 2 guided activities I did.

I must mention a major personal negative. As other reviewers have commented, the transfer arrangements from Busuanga airport, involving van and boat were slick (and inclusive of room rates) but travellers are of course at the mercy of the weather and in rough seas you’ll get spray soaked but my transfer experience back to Coron was marred by a nasty back injury sustained by relentless bumping up and down sitting sideways on a hard bench seat with nothing to hold onto to because the boat driver went flat out with complete disregard to the rough sea conditions or his passenger’s discomfort. I brought this to the attention of the Resort in a survey request they sent me and might at least have expected a courtesy call or note to enquire how I was. Disappointingly, not a peep.

In considerable pain, the final week of my holiday in Borneo was somewhat spoiled as I could scarcely walk let alone do some of the activities I had planned. However, this unfortunate incident aside, Sangat was gorgeous.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shroomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded February 24, 2020

Dear Mr Colin,

Thank you so much for taking time to write us. Great to hear that you loved our location, your cottage, food & drinks, as well as the activities! We truly appreciate your lovely comments despite the poor transfer experience.

Myself and the whole Sangat team would like to apologize for the issue encountered during your trip from the island to town. We can imagine how frustrating it must be to feel so much discomfort and pain that you had to cancel some planned activities.

We do really value your patience and understanding in the matter as it was rather concerning for us. If we have the opportunity to welcome you again, we would love to organise a far greater experience in your next visit. I believe the owner, Andy, has personally been in touch to discuss further. He has taken your feedback on board as it is extremely important that this not happen again.

Warmest regards,
Tania
Brand Manager
tania@sangat.ph

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2020 via mobile

When our boat transfer turned round the last rock, the view to a part of paradise opened up. A beautiful beach with just a dozen of little cottages and palms, surrounded by the volcanic rocks.

Service was excellent. Also food was brilliant, we stayed only three nights. It for sure gained three kilos. Crabs, fish, traditional Filipino Adobo, fresh fruits, Calamansi daiquiri at the rock bar. We really enjoyed every minute.

Beach, snorkeling and paddling are fabulous, we found a clown fish family maybe 20 meters from our cottage. A 30 Minute paddling excursion gets you to Mangrove woods and shallow coral reefs for snorkeling.

Jojo and his dive crew brought us to beautiful reefs and spectacular wrecks from Second World War.

Just three days, but we will never forget our visit to this secret and private part of paradise.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank StephanU10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Management response:Responded February 22, 2020

Hi StephanU10,

Thank you so much for writing in a glowing review. You described the Sangat Island experience so well, we love every word!

It's great to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. I'll be sure to pass on your comments to the chefs and the rest of the team.

Thanks for choosing us as your Coron destination. We look forward to welcoming you back as one of our regulars!

Best Wishes,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2020

My family with 4 young adult children stayed in the separate villa with our own beach. It was surreal!! Our own little bridge to access our own private beach and villa - the villa was so quaint - we had come prepared for mosquitoes, heat and roughing it - we didn't have a single mosquito bother us, the fans provided eliminate any heat problems and the villa was an absolute gem of a place to stay.

We had terrific snorkelling straight off our beach and even swam alongside 2 sea turtles and saw Nemo!!!

The villa was immaculately cleaned every day. The food was also brilliant - breakfast, lunch, dinner and unlike some places we've stayed at - morning and afternoon tea was also provided. The staff was super friendly and helpful - we chose to snorkel instead of dive and also did a fantastic island hopping tour.

Totally recommend Sangat Island and one day we hope to return - thank you for the wonderful memories !!

Room tip: The villa with its own private beach!!!
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 770bernadetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sangatking, Brand Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2020

Hi 770bernadetten,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience!

The team will be absolutely thrilled to hear your praises and to know you enjoyed all aspects of the resort.

It's great that you and the whole family prepared for an adventure, the private island life can be tough. And wow, two turtles and Nemo is a treat! So happy that you experienced the villa life, its definitely perfect for a family.

Thanks for choosing to stay at Sangat Island Dive Resort and for recommending us to the TripAdvisor community. We can't wait to welcome you back as one of our regulars.

Cheers,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2020 via mobile

We booked 2 nights at the resort and added another night after arrival since 2
nights is way too short, it was our most expensive but def worth it stay at Coron. Our hut overlooked the sea which is the best sound at night, the staff is sweet and helpful, all the breakfast lunches and dinners which are included have so many options also for vegetarians and are tasty. The snorkling is gorgeous, we didnt go diving and I wish the jetski wasn’t broken but enough to do from there. And we both had a massage which was really good. So even if you are not visiting for diving still a must visit!

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Milou_Neelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sangatking, Brand Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2020

Hi Milou_Neelen,

Thank you for your high rating! The team will be so thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time.

Its great that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that you added an extra two nights. The snorkeling and the island itself is an experience even for non divers!

Thanks detailing your time with Sangat Island Dive Resort to the TripAdvisor community. We can't wait to welcome you back to the island life soon!

Cheers,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2020 via mobile

Arriving into Sangat was a dream come true! This gorgeous place is situated on an island about an hours boat ride from Coron town (the staff organised everything for our transfer and made it smooth and easy). The resort is spread out along the seafront and is the only inhabited area of the island, so it’s totally secluded and peaceful. Even so, there’s still plenty to do and explore: the hot springs, beaches and coral gardens are easily accessible by kayak/paddle board/snorkelling; theres some fantastic diving experiences; and of course lazing about on the beach with a delicious cocktail too (I’d recommend the Sangat Island Ice Tea!). The beach huts are cute and comfortable, fully kitted out and with some great views. The cold showers were actually blessing after the hot days in the sun! What made our stay extra special was definitely the staff. Kat made us feel particularly welcome and comfortable, she took care of everything for us, like booking kayaks & massages, letting us know the best places to spot the local fish and turtles etc. All of the resort staff are friendly and happy to help. During our time here, my partner and I also decided to do our Padi Open Water, and can’t recommend our dive instructor Luke enough. He was patient, knowledgable and a completely calming presence throughout the whole thing, and we went on some incredible dives! The Japanese wrecks and coral reefs were really astonishing. Thanks again guys for a fantastic time, we’ll be back!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 644jennyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
sangatking, Brand Manager at Sangat Island Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2020

Hi 644jennyd,

Thank you for the great review, we loved every word!

It's so lovely to hear you had an absolute blast and enjoyed the island's privacy, activities, cocktails, and beach. The Sangat Island iced tea is the best and lazing around in a hammock sounds like a perfect afternoon.

I'll be sure to pass on your comments to Cat who will be pleased to learn your recognition. Its great to hear that your partner enjoyed the diving and got certified with us! Luke and the rest of the dive team will truly appreciate your detailed positive rating.

Thanks for choosing us as your Coron destination. We look forward to having you back soon!

Cheers,
Tania

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews