We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sangat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2017

The setting is magical, the short stretch of beach is sugar sand, the reef right in
front of the resort is wonderful for snorkeling (lots of fish and some nice corals) and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Although there was no air conditioning, our beachfront bungalow had good cross-ventilation and was always a comfortable temperature. There was electricity 24/7, although internet was inconsistent. My husband enjoyed getting up just prior to sunrise each morning when internet was excellent. He would sit at a picnic table near the beach and sometimes the night watchman would bring him a cup of coffee. :) The food at this resort was the most consistently good food we had during our month-long stay in the Philippines: there were always large platters of a wide variety of perfectly ripe mangos, delicious regional bananas, watermelon, pineapple and grapes (I love fresh fruit in the tropics!). Breakfast was delicious with eggs, meats, fruit, juice, brewed coffee and bread. Lunch and dinner offered at least two creative vegetarian dishes (pumpkin and green beans cooked in coconut milk, eggplant, salads, squash soups, etc.). There were always at least one or two meat dishes for both lunch and dinner: delicious chicken, pork, fish or crab. We tried drinking the de-salinated water, but didn't really care for it, so we purchased several bottles of purified water each day. Around lunch time it is fun to go behind the kitchen and watch the monkeys. We hired a private boat to take us to nearby Coral Gardens (you can kayak there on your own, if you prefer) where the snorkeling was the best of our entire trip. We also kayaked into the hidden hot spring in the mangrove...that was quite fabulous! In the evening, it is fun to have cocktails (loved the fresh mango daqueris!) at the charming Rock Bar and meet some of the other guests from all over the world. We are not divers, but the divers we spoke with were very happy with their experiences and enjoyed the wreck diving in the area. Don't miss climbing the short, but very steep, steps through the cave to the look-out. I only have three small complaints: I would have enjoyed cushioned lounge chairs (there weren't really any comfortable places to stretch out...the only chaises lounges available were hard and uncomfortable, and although there are quite a few hammocks, they weren't comfortable). There was no hot water, making showers after snorkeling rather chilly, and although shampoo and soap are provided, there was no hair conditioner. Minor inconveniences compared with the beauty, charm, good food and friendly, very helpful staff. We were there for a week and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We had the first bungalow nearest to the restaurant. Beautiful beach view, quiet, short, easy walk t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarnishedlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 374 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2017

Just come back from an excellent 9 days at the resort - 7 days of diving. The dive centre staff were excellent. The wrecks provided something for everyone in our group. As others have said a little peice of paradise

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DPJTobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2017

We returned here again with more friends from the US, primarily to enjoy the magnificent waters, and while the diving, snorkeling and excursions were as nice as we remembered from the past, we concluded that the greatest assets here are the people who treated us like family and made our stay so memorable. The food was truly outstanding, the diving and water activities varied and very professional and every interaction with the people was like being at home. We got lots of hugs when we left and have promised to return.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank slkfjjenfnkjoeind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile


First of all for starters, working with Eva and having her coordinate all the details... from arrival into Manila, our taxis to and from airports, the stay at the condo owned by The Resort, and all the other details of transportation to and from the resort was wonderfully put together by her.

Once we were picked up from Busuanga airport and taken to the pier for the boat ride over to Sangat And arriving at the resort, the entire staff was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. I'm sure I can't remember everyone's name but from the bar -vanessa, gladys, marife, to the dive Masters Jojo, Luke, and ??? ( I have a bad memory ) they all greet you by name as you go about your daily activities.
We Stayed at this beautiful island for 7 nights. Magnificent views both above and under water. Great infrastructure and guest services. The entire staff are highly dedicated, engaged, and just truly amazing. Every aspect of our stay was perfect. The staff went above and beyond to ensure your happiness. It was obvious how much pride they took in the hotel. The dive Masters constantly displayed their desire to ensure you got the most out of each dive. Each of the rooms have amazing views looking out onto the water. They were spacious and extremely clean. The food was amazing I don't think there was a single dish I did not like and was constantly going back for seconds. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank talbotjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2017

Was lucky to have spent 14 nights on this idyllic Island.
we were picked up from Busuanga airport and taken to the pier for the boat ride over to Sangat. On arrival was met with a very friendly welcome & a welcome juice.
We had a beach cottage which as it says was directly on the beach front & with a view to make all your friends envious. The rooms were very basic, but exactly as we had expected. " double beds a wardrobe & bed side table furnished the bedroom. Wet room with cold water shower took a lot of getting used too, but was very refreshing to say the least ! The island has a filtering system for the drinking water, so it does have a bit of an unusual taste, but what do you expect - A remote Island is what you are visiting. The veranda had a couple of chairs & table & 2 sunbeds were in the front of the cottage. If I have one suggestion, it would be to make the veranda & sun beds more comfortable. Beach towels were avaialable on request.
Meal times were all taken together with the other guests. Breakfast at 7.30am Lunch at 1pm & dinner at 7.30pm- Plenty of well cooked and freshly produced meals. Snacks at 10 & 4, usually consisted of cake, biscuits & fruit. Tea & coffee available all day.
The Island bar was great for pre dinner drinks.
Snorkelling directly from the beach was good with a very nice house reef. Scuba Divers had the advantage of being very close to all the wrecks.
Hire a Kayak and visit the hot springs and snorkel at the gun boat.
All the staff are very friendly and are keen to make your stay enjoyable.
Very sad to leave:(

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarterFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangat Island
21.9 km away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
222 reviews
25.6 km away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
353 reviews
15.6 km away
Two Seasons Coron Bayside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#1 of 20 in Coron
298 reviews
14.1 km away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Asia Grand View Hotel
#10 of 20 in Coron
200 reviews
12.1 km away
Busuanga Bay Lodge
Busuanga Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Concepcion
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangat Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangat Island Dive Resort

Address: Sangat Island, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron > Sangat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sangat Island
Price Range: ₱13,024 - ₱16,382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sangat Island Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sangat Island Dive Resort is also a nature preserve with a 300m long white sand beach, native style accomodations, a diving facility with instructors and dive boats. Visitors can dive a number of nearby ship wrecks; Several Japanese warships and merchant vessels were sunk in Coron bay very close to Sangat Island during World War II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Sangat Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangat Island Reserve Palawan
Sangat Island Reserve Hotel Palawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing