We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An idyllic tiny paradise of Philippine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sangat Island Dive Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sangat Island
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level Contributor
153 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“An idyllic tiny paradise of Philippine”
Reviewed January 15, 2017

This is an idyllic and authentic paradise near Coron reachable by boat with the kind and friendly staff of the resort. It offers few bungalows all facing the sea, basic with the necessary comfort required by each guest. No hot water inside but unnecessary due to the warm and pleasant tropical temperature. Meals are very delicious, all fresh ingredients and excellent local cookers. Water and coffee are always available. If lucky, some monkeys and monitor lizards can be met on the Island..The reef in front of the beach is gorgeous, needs just to swim and overcome some sea alga but then corals colour and fishes are great! A funny and a little bit challenging walk can be done with a local guide to climb on the top of the hill and enjoy a wonderful view of the bay. The diving staff is very friendly, professional and nice and dives offered are worth to be experienced. What else to say..relax, beauty and dive for fun!

Room Tip: beachside or garden side cottages for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiGi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    79
    19
    15
    1
See reviews for
59
174
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2017

I went to this resort on my honeymoon in December 2016. When deciding on accommodations for my honeymoon, I came across this resort and was completely swayed away with the photos and reviews. It also fitted our itinerary as we had already booked a luxurious resort for the first leg of our trip and this seemed a very complimenting experience more connected with nature in a private setting.

It easily exceeded our expectations in terms of location and beauty as it turned out to be a hidden paradise. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We got a beachside cottage and could not have hoped for a much better view. The whole setting of the resort is very ecofriendly and gives a totally different experience compared to a luxurious setting. Its a paradise for those who are looking for relaxing vacation as the place provides a great peace of mind amidst its natural beauty. Other than diving, the resort also provides many activities which provides a good break amongst all laziness and lying around :P

However, there are 2 small concerns. First, the wifi is only present in the restaurant and not the rooms. The connectivity is also extremely poor. The management explains that the poor connectivity would make guests focus less on work and social life and more on their leisure. But I still feel that a goof wifi is required. Second, the food options were quite limited (for vegetarians there is hardly anything which was not a problem for us). More importantly, sometimes few food items used to get over in first 10-15 mins so you have to make sure to reach the restaurant as soon it starts. Also, since the resort only uses the local water, all the food, drinking water, coffee etc were high on salinity. Other than this, everything else was perfect.

Would definitely recommend this to everyone (if the above concerns are not a priority), as the overall experience was great.

Room Tip: beachside cottage provides best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aashish_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2017 via mobile

This is a charming resort, if you want o be secluded and getaway this is the place for you! We am had a lot of senior citizens in the family and it was good for both the very young and old. There were scuba excursions scheduled to look forward to in the day. All inclusive food except tips, booze, and excursions. Staff were helpful in making sure the elders did not get injured during excursions - especially "Warren" he was most mindful.

You can do massages in the beach towards the evening. They even did our laundry, but mostly I lived out of my bathing suit. The corals are amazing! Everything was just right for amateur seniors who wanted to try to snorkel. We saw a sunken ship, sea anemone with clown fish (we found Nemo), snorkels to a hot springs after kayak. If some did not want to participate - they watched us from the boat. No sharks at all.

There is a cool cave to climb and explore on The island and yes there were monkeys. If you do not want them in your nipa hut, suggest you close your screen door and zip up your suitcases!

Wireless and phone signal limited, cold water showers, desalination plant for drinking water so you need to conserve water! Bottled water available if you don't like the taste of the water. No flushing TP in the toilet. Treat like a nature reserve. Mango ice cream was actually made of mangoes! Staff will do special requests for meals of Filipino food, but tell them ahead of time! Our elders loved this.

Lots of drinking at night at the beautiful rock cliff bar! The youth loved this. Pool table for socializing. Island is near windy side so breeze helps it not be so hot.

Staff are helpful, but you must tell them your needs. Every view is a photographic opportunity. Scuba if you want, they can certify you - takes three days. Lots of shipwrecks to explore.

Many hammocks for lazy days. Great experience for our diverse age group family reunion of thirteen people! Price was right and activities temperament just right.

Monkey visits added to the excitement! Birds tweeting everywhere! Would love to come back to escape. I did not know I could be a snorkeling beach girl.

Stayed January 2017, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2017

My husband and I travelled to the Philippines over Christmas this year, and kicked off our holiday with a 5-day stay at Sangat. This resort is AMAZING. It is not overly fancy (you won't get a warm/hot shower, but you will not need it anyway!), but everything about it was a dream nonetheless. The villas are beautiful, and comfortable (we stayed in the Tree Top, and had monkey visitors frequently - careful, they steal shoes!), the food was delicious, the diving is out of this world (Japanese ww2 ship wrecks - yes please! Ask for JoJo at the dive shop) & the food was delicious. Everywhere you look is postcard perfect. Wifi is pretty impossible to connect to, but my advice is to take a few days and completely shut off. You will enjoy Sangat the most that way, anyway. We will definitely be returning one day.

  • Stayed December 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2017

The resort is blessed with magnificent views both above and under water, great infrastructure and guest services, and a highly dedicated, engaging team. From airport / hotel pick-up and drop-off, to all requests and activities on the island, everything was impeccable. As described on the website, there is excellent snorkeling just a stone's throw from the resort's beach. One afternoon we also rented a kayak to explore the rest of the island, and was very happy to come across coral gardens, mangroves, very clear waters, and even a hotspring just along the coastline. We signed up for a discover scuba diving session - dive master Jojo was very experienced and funny, and even took us to a wreck, which was a dream come true. We also did a jet-ski tour and went around all the nearby islands; our guide Ed was very approachable and made us feel super safe but fun the whole journey. Meals were great, and also the company of other guests and staff on the island. Since there are only so many cottages available on the island, the whole resort is generally very quiet and empty when most guests are out diving, making it a very relaxing and private holiday getaway. Beach cottages are clean and cozy, really just a few steps from the beach and sea, and it was wonderful falling asleep to and waking up to the sound of gentle waves. The very friendly and helpful staff definitely made a huge difference. From the front desk, transport, restaurant, to dive team, activity guides, everyone had a big smile and was always keen to assist without being overly intrusive. Would definitely come back for a proper Scuba Diving course, and check out all the large wrecks in the area.

Room Tip: Beach front cottages for optimal privacy, proximity to beach and sea, sound of waves, and hammocks u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sangat Island
21.9 km away
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort & Spa
Two Seasons Coron Island Resort ...
#1 of 1 in Bulalacao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
14.1 km away
The Funny Lion
The Funny Lion
#2 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
25.6 km away
El Rio y Mar Resort
El Rio y Mar Resort
#1 of 1 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 km away
Corto del Mar Hotel
Corto del Mar Hotel
#4 of 20 in Coron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
12.1 km away
Busuanga Bay Lodge
Busuanga Bay Lodge
#1 of 1 in Concepcion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
14.1 km away
Asia Grand View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangat Island Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangat Island Dive Resort

Property: Sangat Island Dive Resort
Address: Sangat Island, Coron, Busuanga Island 5316, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mimaropa > Palawan Province > Busuanga Island > Coron > Sangat Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sangat Island
Price range (per night): ₱9,202 - ₱15,953
Hotel Class:3 star — Sangat Island Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sangat Island Dive Resort is also a nature preserve with a 300m long white sand beach, native style accomodations, a diving facility with instructors and dive boats. Visitors can dive a number of nearby ship wrecks; Several Japanese warships and merchant vessels were sunk in Coron bay very close to Sangat Island during World War II. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Expedia so you can book your Sangat Island Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangat Island Reserve Palawan
Sangat Island Reserve Hotel Palawan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing