We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late lunch ”

Southern Plenty Cafe
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in South Boston
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We were passing through town and decided to stop at Southern Plenty. We enjoyed the casual, boho-country vibe, our service was good and our sandwiches were very good! We would visit again!

Thank skwh310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryapple2015, Owner at Southern Plenty Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thanks for choosing us and for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

Driving to NC, we found ourselves looking for a lunch spot. So we drove into South Boston and walked around looking for the right place. Fortunately, we saw and tried Southern Plenty Cafe, and what a wonderful choice it was. The "folksy" look was very pleasing, the welcome was very friendly and the food was very fine! My diet called for vegetable and vegetables they had....3 terrific vegetable salads, which I combined on a bed of greens for a top-drawer salad. Others in our group got their sandwich (turkey and brie, chicken salad) and salad (pulled pork); all were thumbs-up once into their meal!

The pricing was reasonable and our visit was enhanced by a UVA group of environmental students from Asia. All-in-all, what a great experience!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DigiDonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryapple2015, Owner at Southern Plenty Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thanks so much for your kind words. The students have partnered with the town to design an overall landscape overhaul. It's part of a very exciting time in our small towns growth. Thanks for stopping by. We are expanding to the second floor and will be having Our grand ribbon cutting late October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This is the place for good local food. Great sweets and hardy fare. Interesting drinks. Plus great shopping for specialty foods and gifts. Staff friendly and helpful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryapple2015, Owner at Southern Plenty Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2018

Thanks for the nice review. Sorry for my late response. It just now came to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Loved the food, but really enjoyed all the items they had to sell to look through, small town simplicity, in a great area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MichaelMary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryapple2015, Owner at Southern Plenty Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thanks for the kind words and choosing to stop by. Watch for our expansion in the Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Great food. All homemade and fresh. I have never gone away hungry! Great service. Home made salads and desserts

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kerlyq2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryapple2015, Owner at Southern Plenty Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Plenty Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Southern Plenty Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing