We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
AusssieGirl
Adelaide, Australia

Reasonable accomodation, nice views

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 3, 2020
Reasonably clean and tidy and has most amenities.
There are minimal places to eat at Penneshaw. People will need to keep that in mind if planning to eat out. Advice to people staying is to book dinner at the Penneshaw Hotel in advance.
Customer service was poor such as a simple 'Good morning,' or 'How was your stay?' rather than a blank stare. I hope this gets better for this hotel moving into the future.
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
0.2 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
Charlie Bates Cottage - Penneshaw Kangaroo Island
    1.2 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    view from balcony
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.4 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Beach fishing on Red House
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    17.6 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₱8,376
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      ₱8,376
    0.3 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Trip.com
    0.3 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    0.5 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    1.0 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    ₱6,043
    • Hotels.com
    • Booking.com
    • Priceline
    0.0 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Penneshaw
    Reviews (543)
    Filter reviews
    543 results
    Traveler rating
    131
    219
    130
    46
    17
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    131
    219
    130
    46
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews ferry terminal kangaroo island garden villa the pub mini golf upstairs room fish and chips dinner voucher yogurt across the road stunning views penguins accommodation iga kitchenette tour ensuite
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    41 - 46 of 543 reviews
    Reviewed November 3, 2020

    Visited KI late October. This place did everything they could to make our experience great, particularly helping us out (twice !) in our spot of bother what with getting our electric vehicle sufficiently charged (the plug on the Penneshaw charging station across the road at the back was stuck on the charger body and just would not release). The villas at the back were in fact better than I’d thought from the pictures and the setting in among tropical plants was tranquil and refreshing. Breakfast was tasty and service was with a smile. Would definitely recommend to stay here 👍

    Date of stay: October 2020
    Trip type: Traveled on business
    Thank P1216YZbriann
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 22, 2020 via mobile

    Stayed in one of the $200 a night Deluxe Villas at the rear of the hotel. Accommodation is of a reasonable standard, but I wouldn't use the word "Deluxe". Also a tab expensive even for KI.
    The bed is ok for an inner spring mattress, but Pocket spring would be deluxe. The "lounge" chair is just a sofa lounge/bed. Very uncomfortable to sit on for a prolonged period, and I'd never want to sleep on it. The floor would be more comfortable. The large screen tv is in the lounge area and not visible from the bedroom. Only fta channels are available between dropouts. It appears that Foxtel may have been connected in the past, but no longer. But it is a smart tv that can connect to the free Wi-Fi as I did. You could then access your netflix or other accounts. But remember to clear your details before leaving.
    The ensuite and kitchenette are welcome features. Grocery store is next door for supplies.
    Access. If your disabled you're in serious trouble. All villas had step entrances and that's after you navigate the undulating path through the rather pleasant garden. To be fair they probably never promoted it as suitable for the disabled. But it is the only hotel in town.
    Carpark, well paddock would be a better term. Limited spaces.
    Would I stay there again, sorry it's a No from me.

    Date of stay: October 2020
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    3  Thank casper93
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 27, 2020 via mobile

    My friend saw on Adelady a few months ago the Glamping Tents at Seafront Kangaroo Island. So I booked us in for a 2 night welcome back to KI package. Absolutely worth every cent. The Tents are amazing. Has everything You need. I slept like a baby as the bed is soooo comfortable and quilt lightweight. I could write a whole page. We’re going back early next year. We missed out on doing a few adventure things as the weather wasn’t great. But we can’t help that.

    Date of stay: September 2020
    Trip type: Traveled with friends
    1  Thank 127rickiel
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 18, 2020 via mobile

    We stayed in luxury tents and the experience was great. Location, amenities and services are awesome. Due to COVID their restaurant wasn't much functional however, otherwise it was perfect. Highly recommended.

    Date of stay: September 2020
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    Thank R K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 7, 2020 via mobile

    Not 4 star, Closer to 3.5. Having said that room was comfortable and cozy with killer views. Breakfast was great as were the night time pizzas. We just need good bed, hot shower and toilet and we got all three. Friendly staff and nice family feel. Needs a coat of paint here and there

    Date of stay: August 2020
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    2  Thank Allder
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews