We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
David M
Sydney, Australia

It's Ok - Not 4 Star Quality but Good Location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 19, 2019
The location was close to the ferry and had lots of local eating options. However the over standard of the hotel did not match the promotional photos or meet four star standard...in fact it is old and tired and needs quite a bit of work. The size of the rooms were good, and the view from the room was great, however in many little ways the standard of building maintenance just eroded the experience. In hindsight, if you are exploring all of Kangaroo Island, this is a good place to perhaps stay for a night or two to explore this end of the island and then stay at the other end to explore that end.
Date of stay: December 2019
Room Tip: Upstairs ocean facing rooms are great
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱4,125
No prepayment needed
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.4 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
Charlie Bates Cottage - Penneshaw Kangaroo Island
    1.2 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    view from balcony
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Lol.travel
    • Agoda.com
    • Vio.com
    1.4 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Beach fishing on Red House
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    17.6 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
      ₱8,361
    • ZenHotels.com
      ₱7,841
    0.3 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    • Priceline
    • Trip.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.3 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    0.5 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Priceline
    • Lol.travel
    • Agoda.com
    1.0 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    ₱7,040
    ₱6,352
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Algotels
    • Booking.com
    0.0 km from Kangaroo Island Seafront
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Penneshaw
    Reviews (542)
    Filter reviews
    542 results
    Traveler rating
    130
    219
    130
    46
    17
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    130
    219
    130
    46
    17
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews ferry terminal kangaroo island garden villa the pub mini golf upstairs room fish and chips dinner voucher yogurt across the road stunning views penguins accommodation iga kitchenette tour ensuite
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    52 - 57 of 542 reviews
    Reviewed December 1, 2019

    This place is old and a little run down. Had vermin come to visit us in the roof space on both nights. Suspect it to be a rat or possum. Staff are friendly. Overpriced for what it is. Not too many options on KI is the problem.

    Room tip: Stay downstairs....away from the vermin !!
    Date of stay: November 2019
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    2  Thank TravelsDaGlobe
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 26, 2019

    Located very close to the ferry terminal it is easy to find / easy to reach.
    The staff is trying hard, but is not utterly knowledgeable / not very well trained.
    Rooms are adequate.
    Breakfast ( in the adjoining Pizzeria) is ok - but not more.
    The Pizzeria closes at 7.30 - the last ferry comes in at just before 7pm... We coudnt get anything to eat
    It would VERY easy to make this a great spot to stay!

    Date of stay: November 2019
    • Trip type: Traveled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank UrsulaHans
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 20, 2019 via mobile

    The Sea Front Hotel has the best view because it’s not only on the water but it is the gateway to Kangaroo Island.
    Yes/ No from me. But that’s because when we did get to check in the lady wasn’t as pleasant as the lady on the next day.

    This place is very nice & quite. The gardens are also nice, but needs some TLC. We stayed in a villa very, very nice. Not like a cabin inside but more like a motel. The cleaners are very sufficient and if you need a nap or quiet time 😉 just tell them at reception when you would like your room clean/ tidy up and they will let the cleaner know straight away. Breakfast is yummy. The young lady was excellent considering only her and the cook and a lot of people coming in for brekky 🍱🍉 🍦 🥓 🥣

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Traveled with friends
    1  Thank Sharon j
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed October 13, 2019 via mobile

    This hotel sounded amazing on paper but once we arrived we found that it was quite outdated and not what you would expect for a hotel boasting a 4 star review. We stayed in your standard double room - although the room was excellent sized, the room decor was outdated, the shower pressure was absolutely terrible and we were interfered with twice during our stay with staff trying to come in our room... lucky we weren’t asleep or you know....

    Customer service wasn’t bad but wasn’t excellent either. Although the position of the hotel has a nice view and is close to town businesses - for the price you pay we feel like it was definitely lacking and should he rated 3 stars. You could spend your money better by staying in one of the many air bnb’s or private holiday rentals.

    Date of stay: October 2019
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    1  Thank Jaymie B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 15, 2019 via mobile

    We stayed in a garden villa and couldn’t fault it except for too soft and flat pillows
    Comfy beds, toilets, nice bathroom, reverse cycle aircon in little lounge room was new with nice styling
    Would stay again

    Date of stay: September 2019
    Trip type: Traveled with friends
    Thank Bevlea R
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews