We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
5
3
1
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
3
1
6
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 18 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018

We were very disappointed with our stay at Charlie Bates Cottage. The property was very dirty. The fabric lounge suite was very soiled; we felt the need to wash crockery and cutlery before use; the bathroom bin had not been emptied; there was dirty used soap in the shower; windows were not clean; the fireplace was surrounded with debris. The property was in direct contrast to what we saw on the website when making our booking.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 9, 2017

Comfortable self contained accommodation. Has everything you need, apart from Wi-Fi. Close enough to walk into town or just a five minute drive. Great views over Backstairs Passage to the mainland. Sit and watch the ferries come and go. A great place to watch the sunset, sitting on the veranda.

Room tip: Two bedrooms
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 22, 2016 via mobile

We were really looking forward staying here at the start of our week on Kangaroo Island. I think it's fair to say that what is represented on the website is not what we found. Its one thing to be historic but that shouldn't mean that that it should be in disrepair.
Cracks in the walls, general shabby appearance. An overall feeling like the whole house needed a facelift and a steam clean and some tlc! This cottage has a renovation circa? Maybe 1980's that just doesn't work. Very, odd and not really pleasant.
A claw bath that had rust stains- a little different than described. We had high hopes for our first 2 nights on KI here, frankly we were so disappointed we left after the first night.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank karren61
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadia T, Owner at Charlie Bates Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Hi Karren,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the cottage, I was surprised to read on Tripadvisor that you left after the first night as you didn't notify us that you were unhappy with the accommodation at all.

The cottage is over 100 years old and whilst I certainly agree that standards need to be upheld we are also bound by heritage laws in place to not rectify or change certain parts of the original cottage.

The additions to the house are clearly visible on all the the photos on the internet, they include a kitchen, bathroom, additional toilet and laundry area.

Charlie Bates Cottage provides budget, historic accommodation for travelers to Kangaroo Island, we are one of the cheapest self contained homes in Penneshaw.

We will certainly have someone to attend to the overgrown bouganvillea on the porch, thank you for bringing that to our attention however I am not able to fix wind blowing off a BBQ cover during the recent winds in between cleaning and your stay.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay on Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards

Nadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2016 via mobile

They've got a new cleaner.
After reading some of the poor reviews below we contacted the owners to clarify the poor reviews and were advised that they'd changed cleaners and it was all ok now.

So we booked in for 3 nights and loved it.

The house is over 104 years old with vj board ceilings and the sort of small gaps you get in this type of ceiling, old Windows, skirting boards etc and having owned a similar style house in a rural area with airborne dust on windy days, it's hard to keep them 5 star hotel clean, so when you book in to stay - make sure you set your expectations at the required level first.

It's clean, it's self accommodation, its got everything you need, it might not be matching cutlery for everything, but it's priced right, the kitchen is well appointed, yes it's an old stove, there are stacks of DVDs if you're into movies, blankets to sit on the lounge, it's got a a good shower, 2x toilets, bbq etc and lots of donnas etc if you need them in winter.

The views across the water are very relaxing, the area is very quiet, it's a nice 15 minute walk beside the water to the township for a bit of exercise / dinner and the township of penneshaw is a great place to unwind and do your eastern end of the island exploring from.

Book it and enjoy the historic stay it is.

If you want something up market / 5 star there are lots of those on the island at much higher prices.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank OceanMantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadia T, Owner at Charlie Bates Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

It was so lovely to read your review after your original concerns, I am so happy you had a wonderful stay at the cottage and enjoyed your time on Kangaroo Island.

Thank you so much and we hope to see you back in the future!

Kind regards

Nadia Tognolini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at the cottage for 4 nights and loved it.
We loved it for its simplicity and old world charm and that it was . A highlight was using the open fire and claw foot bath every night, as well as having an exceptionally good nights sleep in the comfortable main bedroom. We loved seeing the little wallabies coming to graze every evening and we enjoying cooking the fresh produce we had found on the island in the simple but well equipped kitchen.
One thing which would have been fantastic was that being visitors for only a few days, we had to purchase kitchen staples like butter, oil, teabags etc which we didn't use enough of to make it worthwhile to purchase ourselves. It might be a nice homely touch to add a few necessities for visitors. Having said that, we took full advantage of the oranges on the orange tree :)

Room tip: Main bedroom is the best
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace_Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nadia T, Owner at Charlie Bates Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely review Grace and Tom.

It's a true joy to hear other people enjoy the cottage as much as we do, I never have a better night sleep than I do in the main bedroom.

I apologize for the lack of of oil. tea bags etc, they have always been provided in the past however we were experiencing difficulties with our cleaner who has no longer works for us.

We hope you will consider Charlie Bates Cottage on your next stay on Kangaroo Island.

Kind regards

Nadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews