We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Julie H
Ulverstone tasmania
Perfect
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Nov 13, 2015
We had seen the west and was looking for some at this end central, & reasonable. We are here just to sleep ,relax in between our day trips. It's very clean ,cozy & central. Will ,would definitely recommend, & if you return , it will be here we stay again. Where still ,here, great to have local knowledge, Kim filled me in told me Wanderers Rest last night ,a great meal & venue,that was last night ,tonight:, the local community hall was open tonight to dine,have drinks,, so we went where the locals go. It was great, great feed ,people friendly ,nice (.Nice not to be ripped off).Thanks Kim & Ken.
Date of stay: November 2015
Nearby Hotels
So evocative as we look across the water and see that it’s unspoilt by human habitation
Vio.com
₱6,698
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
    0.3 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    • Priceline
    0.1 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
      ₱6,396
    • eDreams
    0.4 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
    • Agoda.com
    0.8 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    Beachfront
    Bedroom Flour Cask Bay Retreat
    Hotels.com
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Expedia.com
    12.2 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Exterior of our Nature Cabins.
    Booking.com
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
      ₱7,069
    • eDreams
    1.5 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Booking.com
    • Priceline
      ₱8,452
    • Vio.com
      ₱7,943
    • Agoda.com
    15.8 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Tripadvisor
    ₱8,939
    Fully refundable
    • Hotels.com
    • Expedia.com
      ₱8,939
    • ZenHotels.com
    15.8 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    eDreams
    • Official Site
      ₱4,040
    • Agoda.com
    • Lol.travel
    15.8 km from Casuarina Coastal Units
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    View more hotels in American River
    Reviews (37)
    Filter reviews
    37 results
    Traveler rating
    20
    12
    3
    2
    0
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    Traveler rating
    20
    12
    3
    2
    0
    See what travelers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 37 reviews
    Reviewed May 4, 2015

    I chose American River for it's location. It's central yet close enough to every part of the Island. The accommodation here was perfect for me! Kim was most welcoming and helpful. The cabin had evertyhing needed. I rose with the sun and slept so well with only wild birdlife sounds to hear. The walks around the area are amazing. The showers were super hot and of course rain water has a lower pressure but that made me appreciate the value of it all the more. Kitchenette was spotless, huge fridge and cooking facilities. Perfect place. Thank you for a relaxing week.

    Room tip: It's a small personally run facility
    Date of stay: April 2015
    • Trip type: Traveled solo
      • Value
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank Kathy J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed December 4, 2014

    Kim the owner was very welcoming and basically gave us a complete run down of the island when we got there which was super helpful. The rooms are basic but have every thing you need. overall a reaaly great experience. Very recommended

    Date of stay: November 2014
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Location
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank borgeman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 23, 2014

    Great spot, not fancy, but very relaxing and informal. The authentic American River experience. Kim was very helpful and friendly, and pointed us to some wonderful places accessible by bike, our only means of transport! We had a very enjoyable few days. Thanks Kim.

    Date of stay: November 2014
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    2  Thank Jenni B
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed November 16, 2014

    Not friendly, Different from the picture, not clean, I dont like suggest this for my friends, The bed is not good. Lights are not good. There is no heating and air cooler facility. Less water.

    BBQ area is not clean to make BBQ. We went out side public park to make BBQ,

    Its terrible

    Room tip: Make arrangements for enough water. Clean BBQ areas, Garden. Clear the tree branches in front of the rooms.
    Date of stay: November 2014
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank Joemon M
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Kim106, Owner at Casuarina Coastal Units, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

    Dear Reviewer
    Thank you for taking the time to post feedback. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay; however my cleaner of several years would be appalled that your suggestion that the units and BBQ were not clean and I do not agree with your remarks. Your unit had an oil heater and lots of blankets provided in the cupboards and additional heaters are provided when requested but are not kept in the units as space is an issue. Your unit also had a ceiling fan and floor fan, but air conditioning is not provided nor advertised. Beds comfort levels are individual and vary from person to person and I can only comment that each unit has relatively new ensembles.
    Kangaroo Island is noted for its pristine and natural environment and the 30 to 50 metre gum tree outside the unit is not able to be trimmed and provides valuable habitat for our wildlife. Unfortunately gum trees also drop a lot of leaves and with the windy conditions we have had, it is not always possible to have all the leaves swept up. The rest of the garden area was in a tidy and weed free condition.
    American River does not have town water and we are reliant on rain water, so unless it rains we don’t have water to spare and is treated as a precious commodity. As most of Australia is in the grip of drought, so too are we on Kangaroo Island and as a result there is no green grass near the units, which may explain why the units looks different from the picture. The water pressure to the units is less than if it was town water supplied as it is gravity fed, but there is always enough water for any guests needs in the bathroom or kitchen.
    Kind regards
    Management

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed June 27, 2014

    It's a fantastic deal in KI.
    We stayed here for 5 nights in June(winter), Ken is very friendly, kind and helpful! They would do their best to assist you. Give us tips and advices to exploring Kangaroo Island everyday. The room got Wildlife around,very comfortable mattress, quiet location.

    Date of stay: June 2014
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Karen L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews