We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Value”

Toby Carvery Romford
Ranked #23 of 253 Restaurants in Romford
Price range: US$9 - US$17
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Romford. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Essex’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After being so pleased with our last visit I was pleasantly surprised to find the same level of service and fare. I enjoyed a roast turkey lunch with all the trimmings. The food was delicious and I wish I had left some room for a pudding. The value is outstanding and the staff warm and very friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank paulF5692MX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Romford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Paulf5692mx, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Toby Carvery Romford! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came to Romford today and would like to thank the amazing manager for her help n support for our amazing kids at abphab :) thank you

1  Thank DagenhamGeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Romford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Dagenhamgeary, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We look forward to your next visit! Take care!
Kimberley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food great and good value for money but experience was spoilt due to lack of toilet paper in ladies loos. Obviously these facilities were not checked regularly by staff. Take your handbag with tissues! Was seated very quickly and told "I will be with you get your drinks" - waiter did not appear at all for 10 minutes and bar staff eventually took the drinks order

Thank christinaaustin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Romford, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did. We look forward to your next visit! Take care! We hope you have a great day!
Kimberley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2018

I visit this Toby on a regular basis as its very convenient and generally good . But every visit we experience at least one negative problem .
Positive today- meal excellent meat perfect especially beef and vegetable selection good.
Negative -soft drinks machine broken again has been on a number of previous occasions . Selection offered from bar was very poor only 3 choices.toilets poor one cubicle toilet seat was dirty with faeces around the edge .I thought they were checked at least once an hour . Toilet quality in this restaurant is consistently poor with closed cubicles, no paper.
Unfortunately the negatives detract from the over all experience which based on the food should be 5 star.Toby please sort these problems out finally please.

Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Romford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Alan P, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. We hope you are willing to give us another chance. Please reach out to us at 01708 733476 so we can work towards a resolution.

Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2018

Have been going to this carvery ever snce it opened, but it has lost it's gloss. Still a good place to go and good value but it is now regularly understaffed and not only does it take you ages to get seated (because tables are not cleared) but it takes an absolute age to get a drink and even longer when you want to pay. do wonder if some people just give up and leave without paying: I doubt anyone would notice. We had to ask 3 times to pay and then only managed to pay when I actually cornered the manageress. Also, meats are sometimes left out too long and become dry. Don't blame the staff: the waiting staff were amazing and I could see how over-stretched they were.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Romford, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Susan A, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. We are disappointed to hear that you are not satisfied with your visit. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure this issue does not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Romford also viewed

Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 
Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 
Romford, Greater London
Brentwood, Borough of Brentwood
 

Been to Toby Carvery Romford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing