We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch out with family,”

Knights of Pontefract
Ranked #20 of 123 Restaurants in Pontefract
Description: Knights of Pontefract is a 20 seater fish & chip restaurant in the heart of Pontefract
Restaurant details
Description: Knights of Pontefract is a 20 seater fish & chip restaurant in the heart of Pontefract
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Popped in for the first time and it was lovely, fresh fish and chips, friendly service, the place us clean and tidy too. We had a 2 yr old with us, lots of choice. Will definitley going to revisit and try the take out too. Well done to the owners, it's about time Ponte had a clean, reasonably priced pkace to eat.. keep up the great service, it goes along way..

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, Owner at Knights of Pontefract, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This was my first visit and after a recommendation from a friend decided to pop in to the restaurant for lunch. Greeted by a friendly member of the team, the restaurant was very clean and plenty of room between tables. Our haddock was beautifully cooked and excellent quality, ample portion of chips and proper mushy peas! The food is cooked to order so you know it has not been stood under heat for any length of time. All the staff were very friendly and professional and the food was excellent value for money. I shall definitely visit again.

Thank EJM1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, Owner at Knights of Pontefract, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I called into the restaurant for lunch last week after shopping as it always looks and smells great. I was delighted to meet the owners who used to live in the same village. Lovely surprise and a great catch up. I had the lunch time special which was haddock, chips, tea, bread and butter with a side order of mushy peas. I can honestly say they were the best fish and chips. The fish was white and succulent and the chips crispy. Everything cooked to perfection. They also do takeaways. Highly recommended - 5 Star!

Thank suewesterman2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, Owner at Knights of Pontefract, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I was very impressed with the knowledge of the staff on my Gluten Free requirements. They had done training and understood how to produce a risk free meal. The meal was wonderful and at the same price as standard fish and chips. I will be using these regularly and it is nice to have a good local take away where l know l will be not be ill the next day. Well done on understanding the value of producing GF food. Top notch and a fair price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank royalengineerfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, Owner at Knights of Pontefract, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Today has been our first time to knights in Pontefract. I took my family of 5 for tea as today was the very first day of them doing gluten free fish and chips and can i just say we was not disappointed. Excellent food, warm friendly owners and a bloody good pot of tea. Couldn't of been more happy when the owner was explaining how they had been trying and testing different gluten free batters to get the perfect one. It means so much to us who are gluten free. Outstanding all round. Thank you so much knights. We will be back for definite

Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve K, Owner at Knights of Pontefract, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you so much Natalie. It was great to meet you and your family. Our first gluten free day was a big success, so we will be keeping it on every Wednesday from now onwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Knights of Pontefract also viewed

Selby, Selby District
Selby, Selby District
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Knights of Pontefract? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing