We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (843)
Filter reviews
843 results
Traveler rating
225
329
181
55
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
329
181
55
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsentertainment teambar stafftable numbershows at nightgreat holidaysaladsun loungerstoastiesplenty of sunbedsplenty of choicethe dining room staffsnack barice creamevening entertainmenttowels were changed dailyrooms are basicpasta dishes
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 843 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2017

This is a good 3* hotel, you get what you pay for our room was big ,kept clean and towels changed every day, staff work very hard, reception staff excellent, very helpful,we used it as a base , so to recap, good standard of a hotel, never used the pool but look fine no problems, entertainment fair,( they do their best), capella town lovely place ,beach close at hand, also beach kept very clean great place

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank goggins_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Dear Goggins_12,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your holiday with us at the Hotel Santa Monica.
We are pleased to read that your holiday met with your expectations.
Thank you for mentioning the cleaning, the staff being very helpful and our good standard.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed all that Calella has to offer and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon at any of our MedPlaya Hotels.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2017

We booked a room for 5 nights and we arrived at night. The staff was very kind and our room was good enough for our stay. The only thing we didn't really liked was breakfast. The animationteam was great! Fun activities and they seemed to enjoy their job. So thanks Jonna, Micha, Exmee, Roza, Suzan, Daan, Triano, David and Ali for your good work, nice smiles and services! We definately comming back for you guys! Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool/sea view are quieter
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EvaP1632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Dear Eva P,
Thank you for choosing out hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts with regards to your recent stay at the Hotel Santa Monica.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you for mentioning our friendly staff and the entertainment team. We will forward your kind words to the team that for sure will be encouraged by your words.
We are sorry to read that the breakfast did not met your expectations.
Our main aim is make your stay as pleasant as possible and there is nothing more satisfactory for us than reading that your will be coming back.
Thank you for your confidence and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 June 2017

We are currently at this hotel and my review is based on the food! Luckily we only booked half board not all inclusive. We are two adults and a 4 year old. Firstly for the children there is only fried food, chips, chicken nuggets, fish fingers, burgers,one adult is vegetarian and there is nothing unless you count lettuce, grated carrot, onions, cucumber and tomato as all the rice, couscous or pasta salad has either fish or meat in it. Now they do do a soya dish, disgusting, I never saw a single person eat it! We spoke to the rep, useless, and the Director of hotel said go to kitchen ask them to make you something! We did this for four nights, gave her a bowl of pasta with tinned tomato on top! If you like this every night of your holiday you will be in heaven. The fruit, strawberries cherries, etc are all of a cheap quality, basically it is crap! If you have read any of my previous reviews you will see I don't do bad reviews but honestly the food is dire! They told me I am the only one to complain, maybe to them but lots of people we spoke to around the pool said the food was poor! I will say the breakfast is not too bad but don't do half board or AI, eat out it will be tastier and cheaper.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Lynda F,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of your holiday with us at the Hotel Santa Monica.
We are sorry to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations.
Many people return year after year as they enjoy the quality of service and the friendly atmosphere and find the Hotel to be good value for money. We are sad to hear that you did not find this to be the case.
As the manager of the hotel told you, you could order at the head waiter anything you wanted if you didn't like what was offered.
As we continually strive for improvement, we would love to have another opportunity to offer our services and regain your confidence.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

Transfer from Barcelona took approximately 1 hour. The outside of the hotel is a bit tired and dated looking. The pool is quite small and gets very deep quickly. The loungers are plentiful with no rush to get them. They are just white plastic so a bit uncomfortable. Parasols are like ones you would buy to take to the beach and there aren't many of them. There is a pool bar which serves drinks, hot dogs, burgers, chips and toasties if you fancy lunch by the pool. Drink measures are good with good choice. The food in the hotel is not up to much however you will find something to eat. You are given a table number each time you use the restaurant but the tables are so close together that it feels like an invasion of personal space and we are all at a banquet! We were on the first floor facing the pool and these rooms are the only ones with a large balcony with 2 Sun Loungers. The view at the back of the hotel looks onto a main road. Entertainment pretty dire so just the usual at most places. I would not rebook this hotel as there are better ones. The rooms are also basic and need some TLC. Calella has lots of shops and bars etc within easy walking distance. The narrow streets and cafe bars are great for people watching. The beach is beside the railway line so you go under a tunnel to get to it. The sand is quite gravelly. You can go by train to Barcelona in 1 hour and it's cheap. Calella is your typical mainland Spain resort with built up areas etc. I am enjoying my holiday but would not return to the hotel or the area.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank xxandersonjakxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear xxandersonjakxx,

Thank you for choosing out hotel and for taking the time to share your thoughts with regards to your recent stay at the Hotel Santa Monica.
We are pleased to read that the hotel met your expectations.
Our guests opinion is of utmost importance to us as it helps us to improve. We will forward your comments on to the corresponding departments.
We are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed all that Calella but we are sorry to hear that despite you enjoyed your holiday you will not return to the hotel or the area.
We would love to have another opportunity to offer you our services in a future as we are continually strive for improving our services.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Never been to this part of Spain before and was pleasantly surprised by Calella Town very pretty with little narrow streets with small shops and squares here and there.. There is a little red train that stops outside the hotel every morning for the market for 2 euros single and 21/2 euros return or walk back down the main street to the hotel. The beech is a very short walk from the hotel with golden sand where loungers and umbrellas can be hired for 6 euros each for the full day We went all inclusive which we like. Food a bit repetitive but keep in mind this is a three star.The hotel is very clean the beds very comfortable the pool area good with a bar and plenty of beds with parasols and the weather was great. Evening entertainment every night but mainly for the children. Staff very helpful at reception and speak excellent English. "BUT" just one snag it took 2.hrs 35 mins from Girona Airport transfer as we were the last drop off and 1hr.35 min back far far too long in transfers. All in all it turned out to be a very pleasant holiday and we all enjoyed it.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and could just see the sea
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MedplayaGR, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at MedPlaya Hotel Santa Monica, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Dear Lynda b,
Thank you for your choosing our hotel and for sharing your impressions of your holiday with us.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
Thank you for mentioning our location, the cleaning, the entertainment and our helpful staff. We will forward your nice comments to our team.
We are sorry to hear about your transfer from Girona airport being that long.
We are very pleased to hear that your enjoyed all that Calella has to offer and we will be delighted to welcoming you back in a near future.
Best regards,
Laura
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews