We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
17
40
20
13
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
40
20
13
10
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel was not quite open so hard to judge. It has been a super hotel in a quiet location but is now a little tired. There are swimming pools and lovely mature gardens, close to the beach. Many nearby restaurants so plenty of choice. Comfortable clean rooms, helpful staff.

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank CoggiCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We booked 2 nights but decided to stay only 1. When we 1st arrived, the lady at the reception gave us the key and told us to use the elevator. We had to look for the room. Not the kind of treatment we usually get at a 4 stars hotel.
The room was horrible. Ancient, the shower was not working properly and there was a spot in the sheets. The next morning, we went to have breakfast, the room was really small, and the food was very poor. Again, not what you expect for a 4 stars hotel. There was no milk, and when I approached the lady, she told she was already aware, and that I should just wait. I decided that we should leave at that exact moment.
The location was amazing, but it seems that everyone there lost their passion, and stopped caring.
When we left, I warned about the shower, and the receptionist blamed the house keepers.

Stayed: July 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Marta_Peralt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2015

The old hotel looks like from 70`s with nice restaurant. Suitable rooms with standard equipment, bathroom with tube. Large garden around the hotel building, spacious parking. Old time pool, but good maintained, everything else close to pool look like retro style. Wifi is poor, connection is possible only in the several common areas, room are without internet.
Breakfast was good, coffee as well, excelent sweet pastries.
Very quite place.

Room Tip: Every rooms are quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 312Paolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Over the years we have returned to this hotel on a few occasions, but its management has changed course, driving many guests away. We changed to a different hotel after a few days.

First our reasons to come back. This is a 1960s architectural gem, more than a hint of the original Thunderbirds' Tracey Island, period features carefully preserved. Spaces offer views over other areas and many look out over the river. The hotel is in a pine forest, a 10 minute walk from a sandy beach. It also has a shaped pool with a large area with grass and beds around it. It is an Estalagem, ie a family run hotel, typically of higher than average standard. In the past most of our fellow guests were Portuguese families.

The hotel's manager has decided to hire out the pool area to a company called Sky Valley for a large part of every day. A heavy sound system with enormous speakers has been set up, pumping out thumping bass at exactly 120 beats per minute, one track after another, hour in - hour out, every day, without variation. This attracts many youngsters and by the end of the morning the hotel guests (if they are willing to tolerate the sonic assault) are unable to get a space by the pool. The same company is also supposed to provide drinks and snacks, but the menu is very limited. You can have coffee but no milk or sugar, for example. The pool, which used to be filled with fresh river water on a regular basis, now has a thick scumline and cloudy water. Hotel management is powerless because they have no say over what the pool company does.

The lovely bar area at the top floor has also been sub-let. You can get a drink or sushi, but any other snacks are off the menu. The floor is not well maintained: boards do not end over supporting beams and now give way under your weight.

Preservatiion of period features is always a balancing act, but carpet and bathrooms are getting tatty now. It is hard to see anything in the bathrooms due to poor lighting. WiFi is installed but unreliable. Breakfast staff do not take much care and there is never heat under the eggs and bacon, so that the food turns cold and rubbery.

We used to adore this place, and we can only hope that it will return to its former standard.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank oishf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If you are tired of the noise and bustle,of the cities, come here to restore your soul! Between the sea and the river, this delightful spot is a true find. By no means luxurious, the rooms are large, and we had a balcony with a view over the river. There was a small kitchenette with microwave, tea kettle, sink, but no plates, cups or cutlery are included. At least a couple of plates or cups would be nice for foreign travelers!

We ate in the restaurant Papa Amoras and were very pleased with the food and service.

There is a boardwalk that runs along the river, which is a delight to walk along.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river....
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torquay102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews