We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dom Pedro Madeira
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$80
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
US$130
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
PortoBay Serra Golf(Madeira)
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Enotel Golf Santo da Serra(Santo Antonio da Serra Machico)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$188
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (908)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveler rating
133
341
272
104
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
133
341
272
104
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexpress busclose to the airportminutes from the airportstayed all inclusiveparrot showminute driveoverlooking the bayentertainment every nightvery clean hotelbit datedcommunal areasfunchal airportwi fibars and restaurantstea and coffee making facilitieshired a carmadeira wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 908 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The only real drawback for this hotel is the parking situation. There are a handful of spaces under the canopy at the front doors, but they're always full. Beyond that, there are public spaces on the steep hill outside the front of the hotel. Not so much of a problem normally, but more so if, like us, you arrive in the middle of one of Madeira's tropical-style storms! I just about burned out the clutch of the hire car trying to reverse it into a space uphill in near zero visibility.

The hotel itself was maybe a little dated, but very comfortable and well appointed, having a pleasant dining room with a view over the bay, large TV area with seating rows, a bar and lounges leading to the reception area. The entertainment in the bar/lounge was low level, and very acceptable as background, unlike the other hotel we stayed at in Funchal.

Our room on the third floor was in a linked annexe extending out from the side of the hotel, with all rooms having the view over the bay. The room was large enough to accommodate a table and chairs, and complimentary water and Madeira wine were provided. A large flat screen TV had a very comprehensive range of entertainment, including to our delight the French Mezzo channels, with continuous classical music and opera items. The bed was firm and very comfortable, although the pillows, as in almost all hotels, were poor.

All meals in the restaurant were served buffet style, which we prefer, and the breakfast was excellent with a wide choice, but the evening meal we had on arrival was a little dull. The drawback of the buffet system is that the food is often not hot enough, but this didn't seem to be too much of a problem. At 20 euros per person, lunch and dinner were good value, and of course wine is cheap in Madeira - we paid 7 euros for a 500ml carafe in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bay view
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EdAddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018 via mobile

easyJet allocated this hotel to us as our flights were cancelled due to poor weather in UK. We had already been at another 4 star hotel for 3 days prior to this and were here for another 4 days. What a disappointment this hotel was. The only compensation for us was that easyJet were paying. Our room 126 was on the lower ground floor along a dull, depressing, musty, noisy, tiled corridor. You could hear everyone's conversation and footsteps echoing round at all times of day and night. Floor tiles continued into the room, not even a rug at the sides of the bed....DON'T FORGET TO BRING YOUR SLIPPERS WHEN YOU COME HERE. Any of the rooms along this corridor would have the same marvellous view of the back of another accommodation block directly in front. There was also an interconnecting door and thin walls so you could hear other guests and their television. The room and bathroom were clean, the bed and pillows were comfortable, but we struggled to sleep because of the noise.
WE did not expect the best room in the hotel but it would not have been acceptable had we been paying.
As other guests have commented, the hotel needs updating. In particular, the area leading into the restaurant was like a school hall with the chairs lined up facing the television.
Meals were a bit disappointing.... the choice was limited and items soon ran out if you went after 8.00 in the evening. Lunch was the best meal of the day.
The location of the hotel was convenient for Machico, which is a lovely town and for the airport.
I would have rated this as average had it not been classed as a 4 star hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ecclescake13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2018

Was impressed With the hotel and the staff were very friendly we really enjoyed our stay on our last night at the hotel we found a bottle of Champagne to our surprise when we asked the staff about it we were told it was because it was my birthday the breakfast was great really enjoyed the variety of food and amazing views from our hotel room window the pool area Wes very clean

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaSousaDP, Manager at Dom Pedro Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.

We were delighted in welcoming you at Dom Pedro Madeira, and happy that you have spent your birthday with us.

Please do not hesitate to contact us could we ever be of any assistance. We would be pleased to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Dom Pedro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

On our first evening we asked to buy a bottle of wine to have with our meal and were told we couldn't have any, we weren't All Inclusive. This is ridiculous, we wanted to pay! The staff barely spoke, the food was poor quality and outside of the hotel lobby the public areas were depressing. The room was clean, quiet, spacious with a good view and rough towels.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jaxx100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaSousaDP, Manager at Dom Pedro Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Dom Pedro Madeira during your visit to Madeira and for your comments.

We were delighted in welcoming you, and are sorry to learn about the above. We find the situation abnormal as we do have a wine menu at the Restaurant at our guests disposal,

Neverthless, we hope you enjoyed your visit to our beautiful Island and remain at your disposal could we ever be of any assistance.

Kind regards
Dom Pedro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018

Room and whole Hotel was clean and neat - well maintained.
Had lots of areas we didn't even explore. Superb views over shore and harbour.
Had organised activities each day and evening entertainment.
Breakfast was buffet incl. Hot dishes, was very good with plenty of choice.
Staff were excellent - very helpful when needed but unobtrusive when not.
We had a particular need due to a sleep apnoea problem, but staff were able to find an appropriate extension lead for the pump with no trouble at all, within minutes.
Due to a car accident just before leaving UK I needed to sign some documents sent to my phone. They were happy to print them off of an email I sent and deliver them to me with no fuss or charge. Better than a business centre.
Advertised free Wi-Fi in central areas, but actually provided quality Wi-Fi for free in room.
Very well located to wander down into Machito or stroll along the seafront. Machito is a good alternative to stopping in a much more built-up Funchal.
Adequate car parking around the Hotel.
Would happily stop there again anytime.

Room Tip: Corner Room was nice as overlooked the sea and the extensive gardens. Beds were nicely firm.
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlaSousaDP, Manager at Dom Pedro Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure welcoming you at Dom Pedro Madeira and we would like to thank you for your preference.

Thank you as well for your nice comments. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

With kind regards
Dom Pedro Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews