We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveler rating
601
81
12
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
81
12
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslacco amenofleetway travelflip flopsgolf buggylemon sodahuge bathroomsparkling watersan montanoshuttle bussmall gymlocal townruns a tight shipbeautifully maintained gardensstarters and mainscooked eggsreading roomhalf board
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 698 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2018

My husband and I loved our time at this resort. We stayed in room 193, which I would absolutely stay in again. We had THE view of Vesuvius one one side, then the garden at sunset on the other. The outdoor jacuzzi was completely lovely-we used it almost every day.
Room Pros:
Jacuzzi and view were spectacular.
Patio was huge-I did yoga out there nearly every morning
Large bathroom
very clean
beautiful views from inside
bottled water every day
Complete privacy on our terrace for peace and quiet
Complete silence for sleeping
Room Cons:
mosquitos! Bring repellent for sitting outside
No screens in the windows-the mosquitos would get in if you wanted to leave your windows open
AC did not work especially well, but we were lucky to have great weather so it didn't matter
Pool Pros:
It's just beautiful!
Bar serves you while at the pool and lunch is served at the restaurant
Plenty of chairs
Towels provided everyday in your room for beach/pool
The pool is LARGE-plenty of space for laps
Pool Cons:
So. Many. Kids. This is not a fault of the resort, but can get very noisy (another reason to opt for a room with jacuzzi!)

Restaurant Pros:
AMAZING food. Truly, the pizza at lunch is worth the trip alone. The chef is very talented and all food is fresh and delicious. Breakfast every morning was lovely and had so many options!
Great wine and suggestions
Restaurant Cons:
If you do not make it to eat at their times, for example if you arrive after 10:15 for breakfast, the place shuts down and you are out of luck. This isn't a resort where you can get food at anytime, which is fine, you just have to plan for it.
No room service-this would be a HUGE PLUS if they implement it
At dinner, we felt extremely rushed, like the waiters were always in a hurry to take our orders and get us out of there. The dinners are delicious, but the ambience made us go elsewhere.

Location Pros:
Easy walk to beach, Negambo, Lacco Ameno
Very quiet and Tranquil
Location Cons:
Anywhere else on the island will cost you from 20-60 euros to get around. We did not use the buses, but i'm sure it's a cheaper alternative. This being said, you could easily spend your time between the resort and negambo and the town of Lacco ameno and be FINE!
Bar Grotto Pros: EVERYTHING. Roberto was wonderful, happy, welcoming and makes the best negroni on the island. SUCH a great place to watch the sunset.

We found the staff to be helpful in making plans and coordinating our travel. They were friendly and warm, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Book room 193-you will NOT regret it. I can't imagine there is a better room!
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Abby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenvillas, Responsabile reception at Garden & Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Dear Guests,

we are so glad you shared your experience at our resort and thank you very much for your full marks, it means a lot to us! We are happy you enjoyed your stay and our services, like the Jacuzzi on the terrace, the free minibar in the room, the outdoor pool always kept around 28°C, the food made by our Chef Giancarlo.
Ischia has a lot of mosquitos around at this period of the year because of the hot weather and plants, so we try our best with pest control every week.
Thank you again to recommend us to the other guests!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Ischia

Best regards

Garden & Villas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2018

If you are looking for peace and tranquillity this is the place to be!
The staff are so friendly and helpful. and they truly endeavour to make you feel valued and welcome. Special thanks go to Christian for his wit and humour and who made us feel special from the moment we arrived. To 'old' Francesco who runs the hospitality side of things and never takes his eye off the ball. 'Young' Francesco who recommended some very good local wines and has cute dimples when he smiles! Mario who is always smiling and cheerful - he seems so happy to be working there (and who wouldn't be it is such a divine setting.) Matias who runs everywhere (where do you get your energy from) and he sings too! Thanks to to lovely Magadelena and who can forget the unforgettable Roberto! Special thanks to our housemaid who was so kind and friendly to us (room 205) to the gardeners who work tirelessly in the heat to make the resort stunningly beautiful and to all those working behind the scenes who we never got to meet. Thank you all for helping to ensure we had a wonderful time - we hope to be back again!!!!
There is beach nearby where you can join with the locals and get a flavour of life on the island for the residents - they have a great snack bar that sells delicious goodies!
We had indented to spend our time sight seeing but the resort was so nice we found it too nearly impossible to leave the hotel ...!!! I also highly recommend the spa treatments in the resort too!
Perhaps that is the excuse we need (as if we needed any) - to go back so we can get out and enjoy the other delights this amazing paradise island has to offer.
In summary Ischia is a beautiful island paradise and the Gardens Villa Hotel and Resort is the jewel in the crown! .

Room Tip: All the rooms are more like indivdual villas built into the hilside on a sparwling complex - with amzaing views wherever you look.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Valerie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenvillas, Responsabile reception at Garden & Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and to give us full marks, you made our day!
Your nice words mean a lot to us. We are glad you were able to try our Spa treatments, true cuddles of wellness to be fully recovered from the stress of work. All the staff is happy to read that you enjoyed every moment, appreciating our services and professionalism.

We look forward to welcoming you again in Ischia.

Kindest regards

Garden & Villas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Everything about this resort is exceptional. We cannot wait to return. You will never want to leave! The premises are beautiful, serene and quiet; the food is incredible, the service outstanding, the people (including a very professional staff) friendly, and, the location is convenient to everything else you may wish do during your stay.

Room Tip: The room descriptions on the website are accurate -there is a full range of room types to select.
  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egill148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenvillas, Responsabile reception at Garden & Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2018

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your nice words about our property and for the full marks, you made us very happy! We are so glad you enjoyed our property and all our services.

Please come back to visit us again on your next trip to Ischia!

Kind regards

Garden & Villas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We had a great experience from the beginning being welcomed by the staff all the way to the end being picked up and dropped at the ferry back to Naples.

This resort has everything what you need to have enjoy the green Island. We experienced the half board which include a nice breakfast and tasteful dinner.

The villa was including a private hot tub and an amazing view from the balcony.
Also we enjoyed the local therm with the discount voucher from the hotel.

The staff is excellent and restaurant service is personal and super friendly.

Overall an amazing experience and we have to comeback again soon!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Pascal v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gardenvillas, Responsabile reception at Garden & Villas Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2018

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our property with such amazing words, it means a lot to us!
We are so glad you enjoyed the services we offer and also that you were able to visit Negombo thermal park, at 400 meters away from the hotel.

Please come back to visit us on your next trip to Ischia!

Kindest regards

Garden & Villas Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We chose this resort after looking at the Sorrento coast and Capri, because we wanted a genuine, less touristy part of Italy to relax in for our honeymoon. Ischia is beautifully lush and green with gorgeous flowers, trees, plants and birds.

The resort is low rise with the most incredible walkways, paths and planting. I would not call them gardens as such, because there is not one area to call a garden that you can sit in, but there are areas with ponds and an organic vegetable and herb garden.

We spent our whole time either at the hotel, in the negombo thermal park or in the local town. The walk to the beach is about ten minutes and easily reached from the hotel.

The food at the hotel is delicious - fresh, simple, genuine Italian food. There is a lovely bar in the grounds where Roberto is so cheerful. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

You must say hello to the turtles in the pond. They are so cute!

This hotel is extremely quiet with most guests when we were there, being couples or families with very young children.

There are a lot of sunbeds round the beautiful pool but they are very close together. There were plenty free when we booked but I imagine it will be busy in high season.

We asked for a room overlooking Vesuvius which we got, but unfortunately immediately before that view is a business with a small car park that is in your immediate view. Our balcony was small and as there was no alcohol in our room fridge we did not sit out there was once with a nice beer or pre-dinner drink. When we booked the hotel I must admit I thought we were getting a large terrace so this was a slight disappointment as it was our honeymoon. However whilst we considered changing rooms to one with a terrace, it would have cost a lot more so we didn't.

Our other criticism was that the maid started cleaning the next door room every day at 8.30 am. Due to the marble corridor and surroundings we were woken up every day by clanking glass bottles. Also as their bathroom was right next to our bed, we could also hear them go to the loo and have a shower first thing in the morning.

We would highly recommend this resort if you want a very quiet relaxing holiday. There are nice restaurants in the local town but this is not a walk away - you have to get the shuttle bus (free from the hotel).

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helsapoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews