We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Restaurant in the woods”
Review of Le Clos Bernard

Le Clos Bernard
Ranked #20 of 100 Restaurants in Meribel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Description: We are pleased to welcome you in our restaurant for this new season!!! See you soon... Le Clos Bernard Staff
Restaurant details
Description: We are pleased to welcome you in our restaurant for this new season!!! See you soon... Le Clos Bernard Staff
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not to be missed, this is a fabulous lunch stop. Great menu & wine list set in an idol Luc location ‘lost’ in the woods.

Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 301 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had to change our booking and when we arrived unfortunately they said we’d booked for the previous day.

They had no space for us. Absolutely rammed.

Instead of turning us away they completely rearranged the interior and brought in one of the outdoor tables.

Not only did they make space for us, give us the highlight meal of our trip, but the gave us two extra rounds of Genepi on the house.

The waiter Olivier was extraordinary. It’s worth the trip to Meribel just to come here - and I couldn’t recommend the food enough.

Six stars.

Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le-Clos-Bernard, Gérant at Le Clos Bernard, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for this excellent review and especially thank you for your 6 stars!.
I am delighted that you appreciated the atmosphere and our staff !
Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I just love the quietness of the forest as one skis gently through it. Le clos Bernard is my favourite place on the mountain. The meat is cooked over an open fire and the waiters are charming. Goodness knows what other customers are talking about regarding rudeness! It is also good value compared with a lot of mountain restaurants.

Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le-Clos-Bernard, Gérant at Le Clos Bernard, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank's again for you loyalty and this excellent review !
I'm looking forward to welcome you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2018

Don’t come here unless you’re happy to accept whatever the staff feel like bringing out instead of what you ordered (incidentally, this may be nothing at all); and then receive verbal abuse and an unreasonable bill for the privilege.

We booked Le Clos Bernard as an end of week treat and having skied down to make the reservation in person, we were really excited about bringing the rest of our group along the snowy trail through the trees to the lovely setting. Unfortunately, as soon as we arrived on the day of the lunch, things just went from bad to worse.

We had booked the table for 2pm, but were still required to wait for nearly 40 minutes for our table to become ready. This would have been ok if we had been able to sit in the sun with a beer while we waited, but the restaurant had "run out" of glasses and could only serve the drinks as and when the glasses became available from other guests. This is the first alpine restaurant I have experienced in over 20 years who were not expecting that skiers might wish to have a lunchtime beer and prepared their establishment adequately – it wasn’t even excessively busy!

A catalogue of errors ensued – just to summarise a few, a third of the group received the wrong (or no) food, chicken was served raw and the bill arrived including items we didn’t even order. In understanding of being a large group, and the challenges restaurants can face, we were actively seeking a simple and reasonable conclusion (namely, the removal from the bill of the food we did not order, the food which was dangerously undercooked and the food that did not arrive – approximately €65 of the €750 bill). Had this been the case, the group would have left with a generally positive view of the restaurant and having had a largely pleasant experience. That, however, is not what happened.

What should then have been a simple discussion with the manager in which they agreed to remove the incorrect items mentioned above (dare I dream about being offered further discount as a gesture of goodwill for poor service…!?), quickly turned into a frightening and intimidating situation. As soon as the question was raised, they raised their voices and me and my group were accused of lying and told that no amount would be removed from the bill. When they finally conceded that, even for them, charging for items never ordered was unreasonable, they presented a new bill minus one dish and told us that if we didn’t immediately pay it in full, they would call the gendarmerie.

Trying to rationally explain the issues we had faced, and why we found their suggestion to be unreasonable became a total debacle - speaking to the owner of the establishment was like trying to reason with a petulant, and exceptionally arrogant, toddler. Seven members of staff involved themselves in the discussion and we were further accused of lying, cruelly mocked and even physically threatened.

I would suggest that the restaurant can turn this around in the future, if the management undertake courses in customer service and anger management. They might then be able to ensure that should they have a “bad day” in the kitchen or among the wait staff again, they are at least able to resolve the situation rationally, amicably and professionally.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank lrus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2018

We'd booked this restaurant based on friends recommendation, however we were left unimpressed. The nice setting is ruined by the staff and service. They were unaccommodating for a family, food took an extremely long time to come out (and was wrong once arrived), with zero apology from the staff, and a very obvious "not bothered" attitude. This was further worsened with a direct quote from the staff "we don't need you English people".

As this was our last lunch of the holiday and something we were really looking forward to, it was a shame to end it on such a low point.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank hrosec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Clos Bernard also viewed

Meribel, Les Allues
Meribel, Les Allues
 
Meribel, Les Allues
Meribel, Les Allues
 
La Tania, Courchevel
Meribel, Les Allues
 

Been to Le Clos Bernard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing