We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Mesolcina
Grono, Switzerland

Space and peace

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 1, 2015
This was our second visit to Castel Novel and the welcome was friendly, helpful with time to chat. We were in need of a couple of days of relaxation in this huge park with 20m. pool and this is exactly what we got: a delightful room, good food with wine from the new vineyards just down the road, and a firm intention to come back next year. Thank you to all at Castel Novel.
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Château De Castel Novel, responded to this review
Responded Sep 3, 2015
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire.

Nous sommes très heureux que votre second séjour se soit bien déroulé.

Nous restons dans l'attente de vous accueillir de nouveau l'année prochaine au Château de Castel Novel.

Bien cordialement,

Sophie Parveaux Soulié
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Château De Castel Novel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
1.2 km from Château De Castel Novel
Free parking
Pool
Hameau De Biscaye
Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.1 km from Château De Castel Novel
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.2 km from Château De Castel Novel
Exterior view
Booking.com
  • hotelF1
    ₱2,124
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Château De Castel Novel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱5,280
  • Hotels.com
3.1 km from Château De Castel Novel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱3,730
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Château De Castel Novel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotel Kyriad Brive Ouest
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₱4,155
  • Hotels.com
3.4 km from Château De Castel Novel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱6,974
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Château De Castel Novel
Free Wifi
Free parking
xa
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₱2,805
  • Algotels
4.9 km from Château De Castel Novel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Varetz
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveler rating
220
81
24
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
220
81
24
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hotel staff oradour sur glane outdoor swimming pool chateau france village brive castel sarlat woods dessert century rock collette
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 343 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

We stopped here for one evening while driving to the south of France. It was plenty of time to discover this beautiful place and wonder how great it would be to spend more time there.
The chateau itself is a gorgeous old building and it has been carefully decorated to live up to its name. The rooms were also very nicely decorated and comfortable.
Although we didn't have dinner there, we did have breakfast and it was very good- not too many choices, but nicely full of basics and of excellent quality.
Most importantly the staff was kind and helpful always.
If you have the time, stop by this area, stay in the chateau, enjoy it and give yourself the time to make the best of one of the most well known gastronomic regions in France.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Xanderking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau De Castel Novel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2015
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous faisons suite à votre commentaire dont nous vous remercions.

Nous sommes très heureux que votre séjour se soit bien déroulé.

Nous espèrons vous accueillir de nouveau au Château de Castel Novel.

Bien cordialement,

Sophie Parveaux Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2015

This is set in its own garden and small forest on a bit of a hill. Views all around.

Our room was spacious, windows on 2 sides. A large bathroom with ample space. A large comfortable bed. A lift for bags or if you don't want to use the stairs and a winding staircase to the main floor - the old chateau style.

The service is impeccable. The one star restaurant well deserved, though a bit pricy.

Breakfast was sumptious, and served in the portion of the dining areas with widows overlooking the trees on the side of the hill.

We like to hike, and we were given suggestions and directions. There are many routes available, most from the nearby town.

As there are many types of rooms, best to ask to see them, and do stay in the main chateau building, rather than the annex.

(Small, high-end tour groups do like this hotel.)

WiFi works

Room tip: Many rooms have views of the country side or the small forest.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau De Castel Novel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2015
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire.

Nous sommes très heureux que votre séjour se soit bien déroulé.

Nous espérons avoir la joie de vous accueillir de nouveau.

Bien cordialement,

Sophie Parveaux Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2015

We stayed in the cottage, where the rooms are more affordable. The chateau itself is lovely and the swimming pool is great - we spent our 3 days mainly by the pool! The staff is very friendly. The cottage room was ok, it had airco which was great. But the room was very dated: stains in the (horrible green) carpet, cracked tiles in the bathroom and the toilet. Not that nice, to be honest. Also in the Castel itself, such a horrible tile floor in the entrance, and ugly paint work on the walls. Whoever has done the decorating hasn't really done a great job as far as we're concerned. The terrace is great, it's got an amazing view. And the wine list is amazing too. Dinner was so-so, it is very pricey, but we were underwhelmed. We felt the hotel breakfast was too expensive, so had ours in the village, which is only a 10 minute walk from the Castel. All in all, a nice place to relax, the atmosphere is great, but it could be better, especially decoration wise.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mams980
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau De Castel Novel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous faisons suite à votre commentaire et avons bien noté les différents points qui vous ont déplus.

Nous en sommes désolés et regrettons de ne pas en avoir parlé avec vous lors de votre séjour.

Nous aurions fait notre possible pour rendre celui ci le meilleur possible.

Bien cordialement,

Sophie Parveaux Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015 via mobile

We were fortunate to stay at Chateau de Castel Novel for seven days and it was magnificent. The staff's attention to detail was excellent. From the moment we arrived in the taxi, the staff greeted us so warmly, it was like we were family. The accommodation, the food the service was outstanding. The crystal clear pool was so inviting. The management and staff work hard to provide each guest with that special experience and they thoroughly succeed. If you want to feel spoilt and extra special, visit this beautiful chateau.😍👍

Date of stay: August 2015
1  Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau De Castel Novel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015
Google Translation

Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous vous remercions pour votre commentaire.

C'était pour toute l'équipe une joie de vous recevoir au Château de Castel Novel et sommes vraiment très heureux que votre séjour se soit si bien déroulé.

Nous espérons sincèrement vous accueillir de nouveau lors d'un prochain voyage en Europe.

Bien cordialement,

Sophie Parveaux Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2015

In the centre of France, tucked into the Northern corner of Brive-le-Galliard, stands a castle of breathtaking beauty, and immured with immense charm. It is amazing that such a place should be open for guests and available for holidays. Privately owned and part of the Chateaux Hotels collection, Castel Novel will take your breath away. The gardens were first opened to the public in 2008 as a tribute to their erstwhile owner, ‘Colette’ – the famous author who wrote under this pen name. The lady’s actual name was Sidonie-Gabrielle, her father was Captain Colette, and she was married to Henri de Jouvenel – Editor of the newspaper “Le Matin’. Their daughter was raised at the castle and many of Colette's books were written here. The rooms where she wrote are available to the public and one can still feel the literary energy swirling around the turrets, spiral stairways and stone patios. Colette is best known for her novel “Gigi”.

Ask for directions to this sylvan chateaux, as it nestles amongst forests and is out of sight of the main road. Approached by a grand avenue of splendid old trees, the castle rises before you as if in a fairy tale – on a sun-drenched level plateau.
Your welcome will be a warm one, rooms are comfortable and furnished in the mode of yesteryear; but with stylish bathrooms and all mod-cons.
Dinner will be served either in one of the elegant dining rooms or on the sunny terrace, where the light lingers until well into the night hours during the high summer months. Champagne and blue lobster from Brittany are highlights on the menu.
The park and gardens are extensive and filled with vines, flowers and ancient trees. The large swimming pool at the edge of the terraces is inviting and tranquility and beauty surround you.
This is a historic venue that will delight in a world where such treasures are rare. Today it is owned by the family of a charming young women, Sophie Soulié, who will afford you a gracious and warm welcome. She is also a treasure. Go there.

Room tip: A room overlooking the front park
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Relais-Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
PARVEAUX-SOULIE, Propriétaire at Chateau De Castel Novel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2015
Google Translation

Chère Madame,

Nous vous remercions sincèrement pour votre si gentil commentaire.

Nous étions très heureux de vous accueillir de nouveau et espérons vous revoir très prochainement au Château de Castel Novel.

Bien cordialement,

Sophie Parveaux Soulié

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews