We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa del Agua(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$82
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Silas B & B(Granada)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/21
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isleta El Espino Ecolodge(Isletas de Granada)(Great Value!)
US$440
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (1,133)
Filter reviews
1,133 results
Traveler rating
936
182
8
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
936
182
8
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge balconybalcony roombreakfast buffetthe main squarebeautiful hotelmade to order eggscentral parkperfect locationpeople watchinghorse drawncourtyard poolcarriage ridewelcome drinkrental carcomfortable bedsloved this hotellight sleeper
Filter
Updating list...
533 - 538 of 1,133 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We rented 4 rooms on a family vacation and everyone not only liked the rooms but the breakfasts were great. The staff were very attentive to all of our needs. The location in the center of Granada cannot be beat. We will stay there again on our next trip to Grenada.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southlakers2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I've stayed in plenty of hotels, but the cleanliness of this one amazed me. The workers were constantly cleaning, even caring for the plants and winding the vine up the post. The breakfast was fresh and delicious with a wonderful buffet.

I'm so glad the Hotel Plaza Colon is the one we chose.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room with 2 queen beds, although I thought they looked like kings. The room was ENORMOUS.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsJeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We enjoyed our three night stay here - it is an old colonial building facing the main square and Cathedral and as such is well placed for everything in the beautiful town of Granada. Inside, there is a small but very attractive swimming pool at the centre of a lovely courtyard - a real oasis of calm bringing relief from the hustle and bustle of the town. The excellent breakfasts are served here. There is no restaurant, but there is a coffee shop serving cakes which is physically part of the hotel, though not owned by it.
Our room was large and comfortable, overlooking a side street just off the square, but unfortunately the balcony was not accessible as it needed repair.
There were a couple of 'niggles' which led to us taking off one star - on one of the days our rooms were not cleaned until very late afternoon; and in the evening (about 9.00 pm) it was not possible to get a cup of coffee i.e. coffe is simply not available - we were just advised to go to a cafe across the square. However, it was a very good place to stay overall - the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
One of the issues which some other reviews have mentioned is street noise in some rooms - we are very sensitive to this when travelling but we did not find it a problem - you have to bear in mind that if you stay in the centre of a town, on the main square, there will undoubtedly be some noise, but actually it was surprisingly quiet between about 11.00pm and around 6.00 am and was never particularly bad, despite our stay coinciding with the final night of a festival.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveT8282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICGranada, General Manager at Hotel Plaza Colon, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Dave,

Thank you for such a detailed review of our property! I am very glad to know that you enjoyed our facilities and service.

I appreciate your feedback about the 'niggles' you experienced on your stay. In general, housekeeping services the rooms between 9AM and 2PM; by your comment, I understand your room might have been cleaned on the latter end of that period. I am very sorry if this presented an inconvenience for you and your wife, I wish you had let us know your discontent while still on the premises, as we would have found a way to make it up to you (even though the cleaning schedule is disclosed in the information booklet in the room, we strive to make our guests happy).

I hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future, if we do, we will make sure that those 'niggles' are gone and you leave satisfied. :)

Warm regards from La Gran Sultana,

Maria Isabel Canton
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed 3 nights in room 202, which as you look from the square, is in the left hand corner of the building.The large balcony is ideal for relaxing in the late afternoon, enjoying a cocktail, whilst sitting in a rocking chair, watching the people below in the square. Also fascinating to watch the gathering of hundreds of birds in the trees in the square, which happens at dusk each day - the noise is amazing!
All the staff are very helpful and everyone has a smile, particularly Carlos, who always seemed to be there at the appropriate time to offer whatever assistance you required.
The rooms are a good size and we had 2 Queen sized beds, good wardrobe space and a fridge. 2 complementary bottles of water were provided on arrival, but were not replenished during our stay.
The bathroom is small, but perfectly adequate and the shower works well
Breakfast, served by the pool is very good and we did enjoy a swim whilst we were there as well.
The only downside is that the birds make a great deal of noise at dawn as well as dusk and the banging of the Cathedral bell is a bit irritating at 7am, but it's worth it for the upsides.
Granada is a lovely city and we thoroughly recommend both the city and the Plaza Colon. If you are looking for an excellent guide, try Careli Tours and ask for Elvis Madrigal, who certainly made our time in Nicaragua a fantastic experience. He takes care of anything and everything you need, has a great sense of humour coupled with an in depth knowledge of his country and, like his namesake can sing and play the guitar as well.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Our second time to Granada. We were able to book this room with credit card points. Very nice and luxurious hotel centrally located in Granada. It is walking distance to most everything. Very large and clean rooms with comfortable beds. The room had a safe and fridge. The hotel had a restaurant, bar and pool which we did not have time to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel if it fits your budget.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssycats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews