We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun track

Passing through found this course on TripAdvisor. Very accommodating staff, course was lush and... read more

Reviewed 6 September 2018
playgolf52
,
Naples, Florida
via mobile
Fun course but hard condition ate alot of golf balls!

Really enjoyed the track but the dry September created some hard conditions. Lost quite a few golf... read more

Reviewed 7 October 2017
tmocon1
,
Washington
Read all 58 reviews
  
Reviews (58)
Filter reviews
58 results
Traveler rating
21
19
12
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
19
12
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews under repair once a year sand traps ball marks stayed at the holiday inn fairways and greens in great shape challenging holes tees fairfax handicapper roll track
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 58 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This is a great place to play a round or just relax.For those who don't play ,the deck offers stunning views. The grill has great food and the bar is well stocked and not overly priced.

Thank M7286DUdanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thanks for your kind words! We are glad to hear that you enjoy the course and the facility! We are working hard to make improvements to ensure that Blue Ridge Shadows returns to being the best golf course in the Shenandoah Valley!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2016

My husband and I travel to this area once a year from Pennsylvania and purchase a stay and play package each time. We have never been disappointed. We were told up front that the bunkers were under repair which we appreciated. The greens and the fairways were spot on. We will continue to make this trip each year and quite possibly add an additional weekend to our getaways in the spring.

Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2016

Thanks for taking the time to let everyone know about Blue Ridge Shadows! We are glad that you enjoyed your weekend with us, and we will look forward to seeing you back soon! We are working very hard to improve the golf course and in turn the overall experience here at Blue Ridge Shadows, and we appreciate your support!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

I used to love playing Blue Ridge Shadows and would play it a couple times a year, usually on special occasions or when I had friends visiting. I haven't played in about 2 years and was SHOCKED at how much the conditions have deteriorated! The tee boxes were burnt, the fairways were infested with clover, and the bunkers were awful! Honestly, the worse bunker conditions I have ever seen on an operating golf course. I know the course has gone through some tough times, but this was ridiculous. There were people paying $50+ to play a course that has similar, or even worse, conditions than the 3 or 4 other courses nearby which have considerably lower greens fees. I enjoy the layout and views at Blue Ridge Shadows, but there is no way I can recommend playing here until conditions improve. On a positive note the greens were in pretty good condition. The staff has always been friendly and accommodating. I wish this course the best and hope they can improve conditions and end up an upscale course once again.

Thank ERat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2016

Thank you for playing here at Blue Ridge Shadows recently, and thank you for your feedback. We are very aware of the current state of the golf course, and while conditions have fallen back over the past year, the good news is there is a plan in place to improve conditions, and we are beginning to implement it.

There is a new management team in place, and there has been a commitment from ownership to return the golf course to the conditions our customers deserve and expect. Conditions have been improving since the end of June, and while we are no where near where we need to be, we are positive that we are on the right track and expect to show great improvements in the coming months.

Again, we appreciate your past support of the club and we appreciate your frustration with current conditions. We look forward to returning the golf course to a state that will bring you back and not only meet, but exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

I have heard and read good things about this course. That information must've been old. We were not informed upon making our tee time that the sandtrap's were not being kept up. There was a sign in the clubhouse when we got there that apologized and said that the sandtrap's were under construction. Well, nobody was working on them at all. And there were 2 foot tall weeds growing out of them. How hard is it to ask somebody who works for the course to go out and pull weeds out of the sandtrap's? Any ball not hit in the fairway or on the green we're sure to be lost. As the rough is not being up kept as well. And anything outside of the rough was it 2 feet of grass. Shadows should be ashamed. It was truly terrible. And the award winning bbq? Didn't even have a flavor to it. No smoke and soggy.

Thank AnotherCritic23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Thank you for playing here at Blue Ridge Shadows recently, and thank you for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated. We understand the frustration with the current condition of the golf course, and we agree that at the moment, we are not where we want or need to be in terms of conditions. A plan has recently been implemented to address the issues with the golf course. We feel very strongly that the course will be back in pretty good shape by fall, and that we will be back in great shape for the 2017 season. We appreciate your past support of the club, as well as your patience while we improve conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

I loved the layout, massive elevation changes. It was worth the 3 1/2 hour trip to go there. The only bad thing was some debris on the golf course from a storm that had passed through the area. Otherwise, it was a great time and would definitely go back.

Bob Ozabal
Chesapeake, Va.

Thank chesbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, General Manager at Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

Thanks for playing Bob, and we are glad that you enjoyed your day of golf! We are doing a lot of work to the course, and will hope to have you back soon to check out the improvements! We greatly appreciate you taking the time to come all the way from Chesapeake to play with us in The Shadows!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews