We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Corporate Teambuilding Event

We recently did a teambuilding event for a group of senior managers at Escape Hunt Dallas and it... read more

Reviewed 1 November 2018
909ludwigd
,
New York City, New York
Very challenging but well done

This was our second or third escape room for the four of us. Escape Hunt Dallas is located in... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2018
CraftBeers
,
Plano, Texas
Read all 95 reviews
  
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
73
12
6
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
73
12
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews game master excellent design bonding experience amazing experience team building helpful hints a lot of fun work team great fun jailhouse circuit overloaded clues dallas escape room zach
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I found the game expensive, frustrating, and irritating. We were five adults, all with college degrees, with no idea of what to expect or how the game was played; complete newbies. The instructions, given by the happy, smiling, young staff member was woefully inadequate. The sparse instructions may have been intentional, after all, if the game is too easy nobody will come back, right? The room was so dark it was nearly impossible to see (and then the lights would go out completely!), multiple red herrings repeatedly lead us down the path to nowhere and ate up gobs of our time. The three clues we were given disappeared off the reader board after a matter of seconds; more clues were only available if you agreed to let the management use your images in their promotional material. Really?? Sour grapes because we didn't escape? Maybe. But it seems designed for failure, at least on the first attempt - with success only coming in future visits. And, clearly, it would be easier on a 2nd or 3rd attempt, once you get a handle on it, but at $150 (5 people) that is a little rich for a lot of families. I understand, some people will love the experience. We did not. If you don't want to spend that kind of money to end up feeling like an idiot, go to your local toy store and, for $20, buy a game of Taboo. That's what we did and we had four days of rollicking fun.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank Marshall G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey L, Manager at Escape Hunt Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Hi Marshall,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your experience at our branch. Our games range in difficulty and escape success rates, so a staff member is always able to guide new Escape Hunters toward the right game for his or her group. Unfortunately, it sounds like the Game Master was not made aware that it was your first time trying an escape room. The instructions given state that you need 4 badges and evidence to escape Jailhouse Justice and that you will find these items by uncovering clues and solving puzzles. Our staff members are extensively trained to adjust games and clues to aid new escape room players and our younger customers.

Subsequently, our management does not use any images of you, garnered by providing extra clues, in promotional material. To gain extra clues, players are given the option of following us on social media or checking in on Yelp. Waivers make it clear that any photos taken by our staff after the game may be used on social media, addressing our weekly Facebook postings where customers may retrieve their photos for personal use.

The house lights in Jailhouse Justice are controlled solely by players moves. Not to spoil too much for potential players of Jailhouse Justice, but actions by players in the room may cause the lights to go off via sensors to actually help you progress in the game where you may need the lights off to see images clearer.

We are definitely glad to hear that you have found a game that better suits your group’s preferences.

Thank you,
Hailey
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2018

The minute we walked in and the ladies working that night were arguing with each other, thinking we didn’t hear them. It was just me and my girlfriend, they gave us instructions and let us play. While inside playing they were outside being loud and arguing and our talky- walky kept going out and they just kept yelling about it. I feel like it was unorganized for one because of the batteries not being charged in the equipment. The ladies working were just horrible and honestly they were very disrespectful. I’ve been to plenty of escape rooms and this one was by far the worst. I am saying this to maybe make someone’s else’s experience better than mine.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank kandicemack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey L, Manager at Escape Hunt Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, Kandice. The experience described definitely does not reflect the high level of customer service Escape Hunt Dallas seeks to provide on a consistent basis and we want to make it right. Please message me directly so we can do something to rectify the situation to your best satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2018

We had such a great time trying to figure out the clues and when we got stuck our guide would give us helpful hints via a television monitor.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank SW4001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey L, Manager at Escape Hunt Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

Thank you for sharing your review of your time at Escape Hunt Dallas! We would love to have you back again soon for another Escape Hunt Experience. Make sure you check our social media for deals and giveaways!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I'm in my late forties and was quite skeptical at first that this was going to be fun. But it really was. This was an excellent team building experience.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank JV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey L, Manager at Escape Hunt Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

We are so happy that you had a fun time team-building at Escape Hunt Dallas! We always love to hear about when people discover how fun escape games can be. We hope to see you again soon for another Escape Hunt Experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2018

I would definitely recommend this to other and surely do this again. Sharing this with any and everyone I come in contact with. This is great for bonding with family and business team building.

Date of experience: January 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailey L, Manager at Escape Hunt Dallas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2018

We are so happy to hear about your experience at Escape Hunt Dallas, Kevin! Thank you for you for sharing your review with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews