We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Finch's Arms
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hambleton Hall(Hambleton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Plough(Braunston-in-Rutland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (426)
Filter reviews
426 results
Traveler rating
137
116
70
61
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
116
70
61
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrutland watercountry pubcodlovely lunchlovely pubroast beeffor sunday lunchwalk in showerpuddingfront of housefull englishan overnight stayfollowing morningstayed for one nightevening mealoverlooking the waterpeninsula
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 426 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After posting a review before Christmas that expressed my disappointment both with service and attitude of the staff it was wonderful to experience the Finch’s back on form. Food service ambience all good.
The maitre d really handled a very busy lunchtime service superbly .
It is on quieter times that things are less polished and professional.
Well done.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Dormy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stopped over in room no 4 for 1 night and found the room lovely. Wonderful views over Rutland water but could be improved by tree in garden being removed to open up views more. Bathroom lovely. We loved the bath and walk in shower. Bed very comfy but extremely creaky! Would have been fab if bed slightly higher to take in views from lovely large window. Food good but only complaint about breakfast was toast presented with no marmalade or jam which we thought was odd! Also buffet breakfast table was not re stocked after first sitting so was a tad messy! Overall lovely relaxing stay and would go back.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Suzanne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The sun was out, the temperature was up, the company was perfect, the setting of the Finch’s Arms was sublime- the scene was set for a relaxed Sunday lunch.
Our Sunday roasts were well cooked, nicely presented and much appreciated. Junior staff tried hard, but... the wait for service was interminable throughout; the more senior member of staff taking our order was unsmiling, cold and curt; one of our coffees was visibly more like dishwater, but still served; ( it was replaced without fuss);the toilet facilities were minus toilet roll and paper towels .
This could have been so much better. It was a credit to the junior staff that they did not adopt the behaviour modelled by their more senior and mature colleague.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were visiting family who live about an hour away from the hotel and thought this would be a great base to stay. We were not disappointed - the hotel is a little gem - it is set in the lovely village of Hambleton and it was in a beautiful quiet location, with stunning views and a quaint village setting. We stayed for 2 nights; the rooms we had were lovely; clean, modern and spacious. We were in rooms at the front of the hotel which looked out onto the village side of the hotel. The bar was rustic and old in keeping with the building and the restaurant was decorated in a more modern style. Breakfast was lovely and a nice variety.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 141jeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a really lovely evening on Friday celebrating my partners birthday with a meal.
My request for a nice table was quietly arranged, the flowers I had taken in earlier were waiting on the table etc
Top class front of house - quietly attentive but not overbearing - and the food was delicious. Everything well cooked and presented, and portion sizes very well judged.
We will be returning and hopefully soon!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews