We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,053)
Filter reviews
2,053 results
Traveler rating
1,252
487
199
80
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,252
487
199
80
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews axel beach gay hotel axel hotels axel barcelona pool area yumbo centre pool party street view gran canaria sauna and steam room separate bedroom air con special thanks mini bar cleaning staff great pool gay men
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,053 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018 via mobile

Although the hotel is “Hetero Friendly” it is very gay heavy. A good (hotel gym) and an incredibly friendly staff is some of what makes this hotel lovely. Location is fantastic as it is not directly in the center but only a few minutes walk. Breakfast was a good selection with a coffee machine that can make you anything. Also there is a breakfast terrace so enjoy your early meal poolside in the sunshine. HAVE FUN HERE!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank AustinArmacost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelBeach M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear AustinArmacost,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit in Maspalomas. Also, thank you for your opinion and for sharing it with all travelers on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is very helpful for us and we really appreciate you take part of your time and give us your point of view.

We hope to see you very soon,

Mireia Pérez Puig
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

You can’t really get a better location if you want to have access to the Yumbo. I thought that traffic noise would be an issue but the pool-facing rooms are fine. Staff were quick to sort out issues with the room. For three people, storage space is limited and to charge for a safe these days is cheeky given that the hotel is not cheap. Proper toiletries went some way to compensate. Breakfast (included in our deal with direct booking with the hotel) was adequate but it wasn’t always topped up, especially as the closing time approached. The menu or lunch etc is extensive and quality of food reasonable. The unheated pool is not for the faint-hearted but the pool area is fun (with a hot tub, sauna and steam room on offer). Bottom line is that we will be booking again for next year and with a lot of alternatives, that says something...

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Wayne Jones J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelBeach M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear Wayne Jones J,

Thanks a lot for sharing your commets about your experience in AxelBeach Maspalomas.

We are very proud to have had you here and checked you have enjoy your stay with us so you will planned your next holidays in Gran Canaria with us.

We hope so to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,


Mireia Pérez
General Manager
AXELBEACH MASPALOMAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Friend of mine book three of us to stay here for 7 nights from 29th Sept 2018. We paid extra for a pool view room which I would highly recommend.

Checking:

Was great. Nice reception area and staff so welcoming. Checkin was speedy and was not long before we was making our way to our room. Hint...if you want to use the safe ask at check in. It’s €3 per night. Also, ask for a kettle as well. Daft that’s it’s not already in the room especially considering the rooms have self catering facilities,

Room/Apartment:

We were allocated a room on the 4th floor with a pool view. Was was amazing looking out over the pool and gardens plus out across the resort itself. The balcony gets the early morning sun and stays that way till it starts disappearing around lunch time which is handy as keeps the room cool. The apartment itself is spacious especially considering 3 of us in it. The main bedroom had storage, double bed, safe and ceiling fan. Living room area incorporates the small kitchen area which sink to cooker rings. Table chairs tv sofa which is also a sofa bed area. The decor itself is rather dark so you feel you need the lights on even in daytime. The bathroom is lovely. Great shower but no bath which for us is perfect. Small bottles or showergel shampoo etc. provided.

Outside:

Pool area was lovely with plenty of sun loungers. Pool size was great and nice you can use inflatsbles in the pool though if busy they can get in the way. Great pool bar offering wide range of drinks and food menu. Food was really good and reasonably priced. You get your pool towel from here. The sauna fits 4 and was nice and hot. The steam room unfortunately was not working while we where there but they was fixing it just as we left. Nice jacuzzi. Plenty of sun and shade areas to sit in.

Negatives: these are personal negatives that others might find as a positive. Music doing the pool....all day long. Starts off as chillout kinda tunes then 12:00 they ramp it up to more high NRG and chart dance tunes. Some might enjoy it but for me I want to relax by the pool. If I wanted music I would plug my headphones in to my iTunes. You can only consume drinks round the pool that you have brought from the bar. I can understand why this is but when it’s sold as partly self catering then bringing your own chilled cans of beers from your room should be permitted.

Positive: Great location, facilities and staff. Area clean and tidy. Great pool and pool bar. WiFi all over the property inside and out.

Loved it so much we are staying here again from 24th Nov.

If your thinking of booking, just do it. You won’t be disappointed and if you are....your a bloody hard person to please :)

Room tip: High floor pool view
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark_Brighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelBeach M, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2018

Dear Compass04061246745,

Thank you for your comment about Axel Beach Maspalomas!!

I'm pleased that you been in our hotel and have enjoyed about our facilities and services. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the 24th.

Best Regards,


Mireia Pérez
General Manager
AXELBEACH MASPALOMAS

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 October 2018

We stayed at AxelBeach in August this year with JET2 Holidays and we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel until we came across human excrement on our main living area curtain. We immediately called JET2 Customer Serivces number in the UK who were superb and arranged for the in resort helper to visit us the following day. The hotel reception staff wanted to leave the curtain in place until the next morning and only removed it when we insisted it was taken away right away.
We discussed the situation with the Jet2 Helper the following morning who was very apologetic and spoke to the hotel on our behalf but the reception manager was off and would not be back in for 3 days and advised us that we would have to wait until they returned (the day before our holiday ended). When we finally met with the hotel manager he insisted that this was not possible as all the rooms are checked thoroughly before guests arrive, I did not take this well as he was insinuating that either my wife or I was responsible for the stain on the curtain. The Jet2 helper was absolutely useless, all she kept saying was that she had spoken to her managers and she was not allowed to do anything to resolve the matter. To the hotels credit they did give us a late check out and also sent a complimentary bottle of Cava to our room (we returned the Cava as we do not drink Cava and felt that it would not be appropriate to just take it and waste it). On returning to the UK i contacted JET2 customer services with my complaint and following a couple of emails back and forth they have basically washed their hands of the situation because the hotel claims the rooms are checked and it would have been clearly visible - if you have ever stayed at this hotel you will know that the living area is painted in Dark Grey and the lighting is extremely poor so the only time there is actually enough light in this area is when the curtain is open - this made the stain difficult to see as it was behind a fold in the curtain. As you can imagine I am absolutely fuming that JET2 are now also stating that it is impossible to determine when the curtain was stained and that they will not be investigating this matter further. Another typical response from a Travel Company !!!!
The hotel itself, with the exception of this incident was a great place to stay, ideal location and friendly staff.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2018 via mobile

This was our first visit but have stayed here before when it was the Liberty ~ first impression was very good ~ the pool area is amazing a huge improvement ~ comfortable sun loungers and beds however you have to pay for the VIP doubles so most of the time they were empty a shame really. Drinks at the bar are premium priced. The music around the pool is good but can be loud if you’re near the speakers. Sauna Steam and Jacuzzi are great and a good place to chat to the other guests. There’s a good gym and a very good resident masseur.
The rooms are well proportioned and have had a makeover however everything is pretty much the same as when it was Liberty just everything is branded and lots of leaflets, flyers everywhere!
Large comfortable king size bed and good shower. The mini bar is just the normal fridge full of booze with a price list! with little space for anything else. We were roadside a little noisy when the doors open but you get the afternoon and evening sun. The entrance and reception to the hotel is now around the back which wasn’t a problem just takes a little longer to get to where we wanted to be, mainly the Yumbo!
Big thanks to the amazing friendly staff who were very helpful and happy. Overall a great stay and have booked for next year.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jonstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reiami82, Director General at AxelBeach Maspalomas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comment about AxelBeach Maspalomas.

I'm pleased that you have been in our hotel. We strive to provide the best service and maintaining an enjoyable atmosphere. Nothing is more important to us than well-being of our customers.

We look forward to seeing you here again in the not-too-distant future.

Best Regards,


Mireia Pérez Puig
General Manager
AxelBeach Maspalomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews