We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about the drinks and sound system”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Servatur Waikiki
Ranked #27 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed January 14, 2018

Pros- Lovely staff ( ALL of them). The bedrooms are lovely, well-lit, very clean with comfortable beds and quality sheets. Free safe too ! Location is good. 12 minutes walk to the beach and promenade, 7 minutes walk to Yumba centre (lots of shops and bars), bus stop right outside, as is the taxi rank and car hire on site. Special staff mentions to Edourdo ( reception ), Yasmina (bedroom), Jose (conservatory dining room ), Daniel (bars) and Sammi & Hannes (entertainment). Cons - The drinks are dire! My holiday was saved by local British pub. Food is adequate. Tasty but repetitive. The restaurant is very noisy and busy with everyone fetching and carrying their plates. Luckily we found the conservatory which was a haven to eat peacefully! Entertainment is awful. This is mostly because of the sound system which is hopeless. The team are all enthusiastic but we could never understand a word being said. But the timing of the entertainment is weird. Sometimes there was a lovely duo singing/clarinet at the pool bar in the early evening, but it was very hit and miss. And in the theatre kids club 7.30p.m. To 8p.m. and then nothing until 8.50p.m. awards given out, then a quiz that could not be heard above the background chat and then the show at 9.30 which while we were there was mostly dance based (because of the sound system ??)Two last thoughts are the sun beds crowded right next to each other so you are rubbing elbows with strangers (towels are left on empty sunbeds all day !!) and because of the shape of the towers alot of rooms get no sun at all. We were lucky with room 457 which had a view of the pool and did get some late afternoon sun. We enjoyed our stay because it was a winter break but all inclusive is getting too conveyor belt and we will return to Playa del Ingles but in self-catering!!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank carmichael2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Servatur Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Carmichael2018,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Servatur Waikiki. As you mentioned, our beds our truly comfy. The rest of our guests is one of the most important aspects for us. On the other hand, we are sorry to read that you were not satisified with our drinks service, animation sound system and sunbeds.

We will share your comments with the corresponding departments so they can take them into account.

Kind regards,
Servatur Waikiki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile

Arrived 8th jan hotel is very nice had a superior room on floor 8 with a pool viview ,very nice room a cleaned every day-large pool which was quite warm a daytime activities if you fancy taking part,separate children splash park great if you had kids,all inclusive drinks are great with a good choice but the food was a letdown not much choice a poor quality ending up eating out a few times to get some real food,but overall worth the money as this was a late cheap deal

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Cookster999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Servatur Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Cookster999,

We thank you for sharing your opinion of your stay at Servatur Waikiki. We appreciate your kind words regarding our facilities. We feel sorry for not having achieved your expectations when it came to the restaurant. Your comment is very important for us to keep improving our services.

Yours thankfully,
Servatur Waikiki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2018

2 couples, 18-28 December.All staff cheerful and helpful. On arrival given rooms 152 and 153, didnt realise this was a family suite with a locked interconnecting door. so 1 room was smaller with smaller beds(kids). Told reception when we realised on the 3rd day and they immediately moved 1 couple. Airer broken ..replaced within 24 hours.All areas clean and well maintained.Plenty of sunloungers and parasols.Childrens pool area is less crowded.Animation team work very hard to provide daytime activities and evening entertainment (bit cheesy sometimes). Food is varied (meats,pizza,curry,chinese,paella,vegetarian,salad,desserts to die for) and plentiful.Wine,beer,sangria and soft drinks on tap,wine seems watery.Prossecco is All Inclusive! Needs a member of staff to remind diners to use hand sanitizer on entry. Pool bar is partially enclosed but drafty. This complex,due to its layout is very windy.Rooms: spacious,cleaned every day,bed linen changed twice. Toiletries in sachets supplied,shower powerful and roomy.Free safe,plenty of hangers.Air con seems to be just blown air,not very affective hot or cold. Beds and pillows amazing! We were ground floor with a patio area and grass,directly opposite the childrens pool(ideal rooms for families).10 minute walk to the Yumbo Centre or the beach. Few bars and restaurants ,supermarket just outside. Fantastic Restaurant El Carreton opposite, fair prices,wonderful staff and superb food.4 people,4 steaks,drinks 74euros.Market sunday, 5 euro taxi ride.

Room Tip: 153 and 152: family suite,ground floor, opposite the kids pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank sharon i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Servatur Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sharon I,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Servatur Waikiki. We would like to thank you for this highly detailed and helpful review.

We are eager to see you again here in Gran Canaria.

Best wishes,
Servatur Waikiki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

On reading some of the reviews I do wander what people expect for their money,just remember the cost of the flight is the same no matter where you are staying thus what is left is money the Hotel has to keep you.Had read some bad reviews before our stay over Christmas and New Year and wasnt sure I had done the right thing.Very pleased I need not of worried,right from our arrival to leaving everything was great.Special thanks to reception who changed our room and I have to state the original room was fine but didnt face the sun so they did not have to change it.All staff were friendly and polite although I would have to say that could not be said for some of the guests.Considering the number of guests they had to cater for the two Gala Nights were brilliant,plenty of choice for everyone.Stayed at many all-inclusive Hotels and this one is up there with the best.

Room Tip: As always ask dont demand and remember if they dont know about a problem they can not rectify it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank WindyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Servatur Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear WindyDave,

Thank you so much for rating Servatur Waikiki with a 5/5. It means you enjoyed your stay with us, which makes us very happy. As you mentioned, all of our staff do all that they can to make our guests feel comfortable and at home.

We would love to see you again soon.

Best wishes,
Servatur Waikiki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile


We Brits come to gran canaria to grab some sun. In fact this is our 10th visit....2nd to wykiki.
Food ...fantastic. Plenty of variety. Rib eye steak. Lamb chops Prawns. Paella. Salads. Chocolate fountain. Fresh fruit. Perfect fried eggs. All self service so you can eat as much as you want.
Staff....brilliant and work constantly clearing up behind guest.
Rooms however are another matter. Clean and comfy. The reason I have only given 2 stars is because of the veranda. The hotel is 5 circular blocks with 7 floors.
A large proportion of the rooms face one another. No privacy. We were unlucky this time and had a room that didn't get any sun at all. We are not sun bed type of people and therefore the only place to get the sun was to sit on plastic chairs at the pool bar. We didn't realise how important the position of the room would be.
You cannot get an upgrade once you are here. We asked to be moved as did a lot of others. But you get a "no possible today may be tomorrow" at reception. This must happen all the time. I heard one lady asking to see the room before she paid extra but she got very little out of her request.
Such a shame as it is not made clear in the web site. All the pictures show fantastic views. We would have tolerated the view If we had a room on the other side as the picture shows they have the sun.
If you are at the back you have a large amount of road noise. If you are at the front you have noise from the pool. Do not choose this hotel of you like peace and quiet. If you like to eat and drink as much as you like and fight for a sun bed then this is for you.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank barbaragleed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pilarderada, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Servatur Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Barbaragleed,

Thank you for sharing your experience about your stay at Servatur Waikiki. We are very happy to hear that you were fully satisfied with our restaurant and food variety. On the other hand, we are suprised to hear that you were not helped with your room. This is not the service we want to provide to our clients.

During your next visit with us please feel free to contact Reception or Customer Service to ensure you are entirely satisfied with your stay.

Kind regards,
Servatur Waikiki.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.6 km away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,337 reviews
0.9 km away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,536 reviews
0.7 km away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#10 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
701 reviews
0.7 km away
LABRANDA Playa Bonita
LABRANDA Playa Bonita
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,254 reviews
0.8 km away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Servatur Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Servatur Waikiki

Address: Avenida Gran Canaria, 20, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly ClubHotel Waikiki)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#25 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: ₱6,678 - ₱12,990 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Servatur Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 497
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Five 7-storey round buildings * 3,500 m2 garden * 1.5 Km from Playa del Ingles beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 500 m from the city centre * 400 m from "Metro" and "Kasbah" shopping centres * 30 km from the airport * 50 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Servatur Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Waikiki Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Riu Waikiki Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing