We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NattashaShannon
Banbridge, United Kingdom

Holiday

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 17, 2016via mobile
I stayed at the Villamarina Sept 2015. Brilliant for a family holiday. The shops are only a five minute walk away and the beach was about 10-20 minute walk away depending on your pace. We went all inclusive and found the food was lovely so much so I believe I came home with an extra half a stone on! The entertainment in the hotel was brilliant there were quizzes and bingo during the day. There was pool activities and other activities such as darts, shooting etc. There was also a free shuttle bus from the hotel to the main town and the staff were lovely! The rooms were spotless! We had bad weather one night we were there which flooded the main reception and in the morning it was like it never happened! Brilliant for family holidays
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VillaMarinaSalou, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this review
Responded Jun 19, 2016
thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your holiday and took advantage of the all inclusive. We have a fantastic team in the kitchen that always make sure to deliver the highest standards in food and we are proud of it.
Also we are happy to read that the entertainment were of your liking and that you got to use the free shuttle bus that takes you into Salou.
Thank you very much once again for your review and we would love to see you again in a future.
Kind regards,
Customer Service and the Villamarina Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱10,196
Fully refundable
  • Melia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Pool
Restaurant
₱12,144
₱10,998
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.3 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Pool
Restaurant
₱9,117
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,117
2.5 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official website
    ₱12,472
  • Expedia.com
    ₱15,664
2.1 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₱8,717
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,887
2.4 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official website
    ₱8,146
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,573
2.0 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱12,186
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱12,008
  • Booking.com
3.4 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Pool
Beachfront
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₱6,818
  • Algotels
4.4 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₱7,694
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,679
3.9 km from Hotel Villamarina Club
Pool
Beachfront
View more hotels in Salou
Reviews (3,317)
Filter reviews
3,317 results
Traveler rating
1,410
922
486
243
256
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,410
922
486
243
256
Show reviews that mention
All reviews villa marina rooftop bar bar staff every night entertainment team great holiday private pool kids club rooms are small washing machine free taxi all inclusive hotel family hotel plenty of choice something for everyone fish fingers crisps
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,086 - 1,091 of 3,317 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2016

Our holiday started off with a delayed flight so we arrived at the hotel at 1:30am! Checkin took 10 mins then we were taken to the dining room were a salad was plated up for us with some fresh baguettes which was good, we stayed here for 9nights from 5th June 2016 same as the previous year so we knew exactly what to expect room wise... Basic one room 2 single beds together and bunk beds in the corner for the kids, and a small bathroom and balcony, although this is not a problem for us as we only sleep and wash here, fresh towels everyday and is clean and tidy although bathroom could do with a refurb! Our room was above the bar and looked out onto the kids area noise ended around midnight and didn't hear another thing.
Entertainment was ok just the usual tributes and dance acts, kids club was aimed for little ones under 7 in my opinion so my 10 and 11 year old didn't ever go, I felt as though everything entertainment wise is based on Adults on a night as kids only get 30 mins of mini disco then it's adult quiz, bingo, and show!! Kids go watch a film on the big screen in the park.
Games during the day for adults are killer darts, killer pool, rifle shooting, water polo and table tennis.
The snack at pool side is OK drinks served from 12, ice cream and food such as pizza chips and nuggets available however I preferred to go to lunch in dining area and have a nice jacket potatoe with tuna mayo and salad, can not fault the food it's lovely, beef curry, bolognase, shepherds pie, Sunday lunch, spare ribs, fajitas, to name a few (apart from that weird Spanish bacon lol) kitchen staff are fab as are bar staff!! Danielle and Michael are very good adult entertainers and free taxis to chaplains are put on for those who want to party till early hours!!!
Rooftop adult only area is gorgeous 2 hot jacuzzis a bar and absolute relaxation with noise( you can't hear a thing from below)
All trips or any issues see Monica for info shes fab!!! She loves the kids!
Pool areas are good but only one had a lifeguard which is the pool we preferred( without the snack bar) and OMG what a life guard he was his name is MARC and he was fab with our kids teaching them to dive correctly and teaching the littles ones to swim, he is a credit to that hotel "don't ever let him go" on Marc's days off he was replaced by two different lifeguard who were useless just sat under balcony and didn't even do a walk round, Lilos are not permitted in pool for safety reasons children who can't swim are not aloud in deep end without an adult!!! We witnessed a family put armbands on there little one and let them do whatever!! Marc is not a childminder he is a lifeguard and a bloody good one well done Marc 😄👍🏿.
We had a day out at potaventura water park 'la caribe' we walked her it took 15 mins( use maps on phone) we made up ham and cheese baguettes at breakfast and wrapped them in foil to take with us the just bought drink and crisps.... Food can't be taken into park but there is shaded lockers out side we just went and sat outside on benches to eat at lunch time, park cost 29 euro for adults and 24 for kids I think under 3 is free!!
We got the holiday train back it was 10 Euro for family of 4 ticket and dropped us on corner of hotel.
Holiday tips: beach frount fountain show(ten mins walk)10pm fri/sat is really good.
Bottles of water sold a bar in hotel 1 litre = 1 euro and label has a
Portabentura theme park offer on ( get in for 20 euro until September)
Will definatley return well done Villamarina!!!! Ps there is numerous signs around about reserving the sun beds with towels on a morning it's still happening!!!!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Clg280286
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VillaMarinaSalou, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2016

Thank you very much for such a good review and for all the tips you gave to our potential and future customers. We can tell from your review that you made the most of your holidays, and that you enjoyed every single thing you did, We would like to take the opportunity to say thank you for the amazing coments regarding our lifeguard, that enjoy every single bit of his job and that is always up to teach the kids how to swim or how to dive, and also about Monica, as you said if you ever have a problem, concern, question or you just want a chat, you should definetely see her.
We certainly are very happy with all our staff as they make the hotel a place to remember and we will work hard to ensure that this remains.
Customer service and the villamarina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay
Basic rooms but has everything you need
Food is plentiful and there's always plenty to choose from.
Staff work very hard but the bar staff could be a little more friendly. (This is the only complaint from me)
All in all a great hotel
Thanks

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VillaMarinaSalou, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2016

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you found the staff could be a little more friendly as in general speaking all our reviews point out that our staff is friendly, fun and hard workers, however I am pleased that this didn't spoilt your holidays and that you found the food of your liking and plenty of choice.

Thank you once again.
Customer Service and the villamarina team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely holiday at Hotel Villamarina Club, enjoyed walks to the beach and the Thomas Cook rep was a mine of information and helped us arrange days out to Port Aventura (short bus ride from the beach) and Barcelona (organised trip). The entertainment was exactly what you expect from an All Inclusive holiday and the kids seem to love it. We were with a teenager who unfortunately didn't share their enthusiasm ! All the staff were extremely friendly and all did their jobs impeccably - they truly are an asset to this hotel. My only criticism is our room was very small and dated, my sons bed squeaked really badly he was unable to turn over in the night for fear of waking the entire hotel and our wardrobe door was off its runner and my son trapped his thumb in the door. We did complain twice to reception who said maintenance said the bed was fine but did mend the wardrobe. In the end we took the mattress off and put it on the floor. Don't let this put you off though as the hotel and staff makes up for the rooms!

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank AnaS9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

My family and I stayed here for a week the best part of this hotel is the staff all very friendly from Monica at reception to all the restaurant staff sorry can't remember any names to nelson &winston and all the other bar staff they worked very hard and made sure we didn't wait for drinks last but not least the entertainment staff all tried to make our holiday good fun . The food and selection of food was excellent even roast beef and Yorkshire pudding on Sunday there was 9 in our group and always managed to get a large table for breakfast and evening meal all our group thought the food and service was excellent . There is a pool bar that does the usual burger and chips which is self service and a friendly barman too .the hotel is in the old part of Salou so if your looking for the usual noisy bars you are a taxi ride away the beach is about 15-20 minute walk and is a lovely beach there is a big market just around the corner I think it's on a Monday if that's your thing!! . We went to a few of the Spanish bars they were all very friendly and even put some free tapas on our table you are a taxi ride or bus to the theme park and water park about 12euros . The hotel isn't the best I've stayed in could do with a bit of tidying up but as I said the staff make up for it so if you fancy a family friendly holiday I would recommend this hotel no problem.

Room tip: The best tip I could give anybody don't fly to Barcelona it's a long bus ride rues is a lot closer
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank taylors23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
VillaMarinaSalou, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villamarina Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2016

Thank you very much for the 5* reviews and for the lovely comments about our staff. They work very hard to ensure that we are offering the right service to everyone. Your comments are very important to future and potential customers, and we are delighted to hear that we achieve your expectations and that food which is a very important part of the holidays were good.
Is good to hear that you got to enjoy the local Spanish tapas bar and all the enternainment that Salou has to offer.
Once again thank you very much, and we hope to see you in the future.
Customer service and the villamarina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Stayed here 7-14th may 2016. Unfortunately it rained every single day and was cold with it, therefore highlighting problems that might otherwise have gone unnoticed. The room was very dated with the sink being in the bedroom. Having said that it was kept clean and towels replaced daily. The balcony was about two foot wide and just had a single chair e it. We were at the side of the hotel and the view was thick trees about 60 feet high so could barely see the sky let alone anything else. Food was varied but we were surprised that the dining tables were not set in the morning and that people cleared there own tables after finishing their meal although I hasten to add this wasn't compulsory but there was a lack of waiting on staff. The entertainment was good but and the reps did all they could to fill each day. The bar staff were very friendly but drinks were so weak that many (including mysel) went out and bought their own. The beer however was fine it was just the spirits that were poor. There is a solarium on the roof for adults only which had sunbeds a bar and jacuzzi which was well kept. Overall an average three star hotel.

Date of stay: May 2016
2  Thank Annenewland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews