We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful!!

Super interesting museum. We spent a couple of hours learning a lot!! Don’t miss this gem if you’re... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Navigator30428172798
,
Albuquerque, New Mexico
via mobile
History & Fun for everyone

Sharon at the entrance was most helpful providing guidance for our visit. There are vast... read more

Reviewed 25 June 2021
jbwhitehouse
,
Dallas, Texas
Read all 207 reviews
  
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveler rating
139
56
9
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
139
56
9
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews windmill museum model train display very interesting museum history lesson great history miniature turbine grind mills grain dollhouse electricity track railroad video
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2021

I had no idea there were so many different types of windmills. I loved all the different actual windmills inside with the informative signs explaining type and use. The model train was an added bonus and I loved watching it. The museum had so many things to see - 2 large rooms of windmills, a room housing a collection of millstones and explanatory video, a painted mural covering 2 walls in a very large room and a seek n find sheet activity which was fun! Allow at least 2 hours to see and do everything here. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 May 2021

My wife and I recently visited the American Wind Power Center in Lubbock, TX. It is also called the American Windmill Museum. I was amazed at the vast collection of windmills and wind machines at this museum from large to small and old to new. I learned so much about these machines and there roll in history, wonderful displays. This museum also has a huge G scale train display that runs throughout the main museum. The brochure said it took over 5 year to design, build and debug the system to get it operational. Well worth seeing. The museum has both inside and outside displays. The outside displays are on 28 acres so bring your walking shoes if you want to see everything. You can easily spend all day here.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Douglas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 May 2021 via mobile

We enjoyed see all the various windmills. Designs have indeed changed over the years. I had no clue that windmills were so different!!! The museum was closed on Monday's but we were able to grab a few photos. Please stop by here with your children so they can see technology of the past and present- it will spark their thinking about the future of windmill research!!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank CathyP1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2021 via mobile

Great learning. Able to identify the importance of wind to generate electricity and pump water. And also, provide water to steam powered trains and all that ir conveys in the growth of the US. Very good experience.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank horacion370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2021

Great history lessons. Very interesting museum. Take your time to walk through, read and ask questions. A lot to see to allow plenty of time.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank WildcardsNTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews