We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Selva Orquideas
Nearby Hotels
US$24
US$22
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$746
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Joy Tulum(Tulum)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Villas H2O(Tulum)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Don Diego de la Selva(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$59
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sun Caribbean Divine(Tulum)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Gaia Tulum(Tulum)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
27
2
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
2
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa selvaerikajuanhostscenotecobamargaritashammocksbugscabanaprivacypesospropertymexico
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 30 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2018

Casa Sylvia Orquideas is such a find. If you are looking for a great place to stay that is away from the crowds but still convenient to many fantastic cenotes, ruins and beaches this is a fantastic option. Comfortable little bungalows arranged in a lovely jungle with a nice communal area with a poo

I believe you will need to be traveling by car, which I very much recommend regardless. Cobá, Tulum, and many centers all between 10 - 30 min away. 

A nice breakfast is included which is very tasty and hardy enough to fuel you through the day. 

The proprietors are such lovely people and great with information about the area, including finds that are not in the guide books.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Min108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

What can i say... i do write July 2017 but actually we have been here many times. Reason?, simply because Erika and Chito knows how to threat visitors in all their aspect, if you like outdoor activities like snorkeling, diving, fishing ask Chito he will guide you everything, when you like to explore the cenotes ask Erika, she made a very detailed map on a piece of carton with all best cenotes in the vincinity.
Then the breakfast and dinner just in one word, excellent. A 5 star restaurant can't beat their services and quality all super fresh and also thanks to Juan who is a great help for them in the kitchen.
We have been in several of their cabañas and all of them are having a different arrangement and all are super.
Erika and Chito are running their business with passion.
Like the title says it's in the middle of the bush in Macario Gomez, just 15 minutes from downtown Tulum direction Coba.
When you come from Tulum, enter the village Macario Gomez, continue driving untill you see a small police station on your left hand, turn left into this street (bush road) and just continue untill you see a sign Casa Selva.
If you like the ecological living book this and you really won't be dissapointed.
They have various animals walking around like chickens,cats and 2 dogs who are really the best dogs you can met, our kids are always playing with them.
For us a 5 star and hats off, respect for this couple.
Just one thing, because you are staying in the bush you can expect some nice creatures in your cabaña, don't let this be a dissapointment afterwards.
We have seen several "bichos" in our cabaña but with a friendly hand they will be gently moved out.
Erika speaks English, fluently Spanish and some more languages, while Chito can help you in Spanish and Mayan ;-)
They made a small paradise out of their property.
Once you've been here you will miss the tranquillity of this place.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Arnaud T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Great and very personal service was what we received at this place, and probably the best meal of our 15 days exploring Mexico. We stayed for 2 nights with the intention to mix up beachlife with something else, and this hit the spot. It is located about 20 min driving from Tulum inland, which means you also save some time if you are going to eg. Chichen Itza. The hosts are brilliant and the food is as well. The vibe is like an italian agriturimso but in Mexico. Great experince in overall.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Alexander E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

Casa Selva Orquideas is not a typical hotel. It is one of the most unique and delightful lodging options in Quintana Roo. The cabanas (approximately 5 - 7 of them) on this jungle property are tastefully decorated, air conditioned, and connected by gravel walkways. Here you will hear wild birds in the morning, observe insects outside your room, and enjoy jungle flora all around you. There are a few dogs and cats on the property that largely stay out of your way. Behind the hammock/pool/office/dining area, there are chickens (probably the chickens who will provide your breakfast eggs), a peacock and a peahen, and a turkey (but maybe it was too colorful to be a turkey) kept in a pen. About 15 minutes from the edge of Tulum, this property gives you a clear view of the stars at night as you peer through the thick trees. Casa Selva Orquideas is a jungle retreat that immerses you in nature.

Erika, Chito, and Juan are all very helpful and friendly. Erika is fluent in Spanish, English, and several other languages. Chito and Juan don't seem to speak much English, but we got by with the two of them in our broken secondary-school-level-only Spanish. Juan is incredibly patient and kind, and his breakfasts and dinners are excellent. Breakfast is included, but if you're going to be there for dinner (which I recommend you do at least once or twice), you need to let Juan know at breakfast, so that he has time to prepare the fresh ingredients. Dinner entrees are generally in the 150-220 pesos range, but costlier menu options like lobster are available. Don't forget to tip Juan--perhaps at the end of your stay if that's most convenient.

In December there weren't many flowers in bloom on the property, but the greenery was still beautiful. The hammocks and the pool are nice features. The proximity to Coba (~25 mins.) and Valladolid (~1 hr.) is a big plus, but the downside of being closer to the Coba ruins and cenotes, and colonial Valladolid, is that Tulum destinations can be 15-20 mins. away. Cenote Carwash is just a few minutes from Casa Selva Orquideas and Gran Cenote is just a few minutes farther (and by the way, it really is grand if you get there before the crowds show up after 9). There is almost nothing for tourists in little Macario Gomez other than a tiny convenience ("Six") store, and the closest gas station is about 8 mins. away down the road (QROO 109) toward Tulum.

As far as I know, every guest that was there when we stayed in December rented a car. I'm not sure any other transportation options are realistic when you choose to stay in Macario Gomez rather than Tulum.

If you're looking for an enthralling alternative to a standard hotel and plan to see a lot more during your visit than just the Tulum beach, I highly recommend Casa Selva Orquideas.

Room Tip: Helpful photos appear on the official web site.
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Resis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2016

When visiting Tulum in April, we were looking for an "off the beaten path" place from which to explore the beaches and cenotes and ancient ruins of the Mayans. We chose Casa Selva Orquideas because it was out of town and the price was right. We arrived after dark but Juan was waiting for and expecting us. What a fantastic surprise to find this quiet, exotic, romantic cabana all ready and prepared for us. We fell asleep to the sounds of the jungle and awoke each morning to a delicious breakfast served poolside with eggs and bacon, coffee and juice, and homemade pastries. Chito and Erika were so knowledgeable and helpful to map out our explorations each day with great advice to save time and money and not miss some of the less touristy attractions that were full of history and fun and lots of local flavor. We also enjoyed a delicious full course dinner that was very reasonably priced. The pool was refreshing and the animals entertaining. We were amazed at the absence of bugs too. The bed was very comfortable and the cabana decorated with warm, tasteful Mexican colors. Great shower and bathroom too, all private and spacious.Juan, Chito and Erika couldn't have been more accommodating. They clearly are enjoying what they do, taking care of guests and living the dream! We definitely will be back, there is so much to do and see. We'd love to build a little place in their jungle and come back every year! We've traveled around the Caribbean and must admit this is one of our favorite spots, a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank GWG760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews