We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cajun Cafeteria Style”
Review of Treebeards

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Treebeards
Ranked #1,595 of 9,035 Restaurants in Houston
Restaurant details
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Following a recommendation that Treebeards is a Houston "must try" we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The cafeteria style service made it possible for everyone in our group to find something to their liking, then we all got to compare dishes around the table. This is obviously a popular spot with tables filled with all sorts of local business and government people.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank karavans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 8 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

A must go to place for lunch. Only open for lunch. Friendly staff and great homemade food. Had the seafood gumbo with jalapeño cornbread. Both were great lots of flavor. Spicy but not too much. Bfriend had the red beans and rice with andouille sausage. That was also excellent. Cannot decide that I liked better. Did not have room for dessert but the carrot cake looked incredible. Apparently homemade there each morning. Everything looked amazing. They have a few different daily specials each day along with the standards dishes. Highly recommend. They have a few different locations in Houston we were at the one in Market Square down town. And just a block from the train.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank tlwusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2016

i walked past this place every day for a week and the line ups were always horrendously long. Today I decided to see why.

I have the red beans and rice with sausage and paid extra to have the cheese and beans on top. I have never tried Louisiana food before, and if this dish is anything to go by it is tasty.

The portion is large and there are lots and lots of beans. There is a large sausage, which is very tasty with a slight kick. It is not majorly spicy and you get a chunk of French bread with it too. Service is quick, and I would recommend the wait, they do salads and gumbos, and have daily specials too.

and it is very good value for money.

Date of visit: February 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Love the menu; different daily specials so check before going though you may order for pick up; very busy during work lunchtime; desserts are sooooo good!

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank CiaoBella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2014

While we enjoy their full menu of southern Louisiana cooking, we especially love their red beans & rice-- with cheese and onions on top. Can't get enough of it!

Date of visit: September 2014
Thank txm4um
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treebeards also viewed

Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
Houston, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Treebeards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing