We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$117
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Scottish Inn(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Galveston Island Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The San Luis Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,240)
Filter reviews
4,240 results
Traveler rating
2,218
1,111
501
247
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,218
1,111
501
247
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsghost tourrooms are smallbeautiful historic hotelswim up barcity viewacross the streetpool areaself parkingpleasure piercorner roomvalet servicehotel restaurantking bedgulf of mexicosea wallbrunchmelissa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 4,240 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Customer service was great. The Spa and food was amazing. Hotel and bathrooms need a thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank michaelmX1516NR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for leaving us a review! We want all of our guests to enjoy themselves and feel they've had a restful break. While we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, particularly our spa and restaurants and found our service exemplary, we are sorry that you felt the hotel needed better cleaning. Your helpful feedback will be shared with our housekeeping staff in an effort to ensure that this issue does not arise for any future stays. Please consider a return trip as we know we can provide a superior experience all around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Small old moldy rooms, horrible room service (food cold) and had them change out moldy dusty air filters in room that have not been changed since Nov. My son suffers from chronic asthma and allergies. He has been on breathing treatments since hotel stay. Could have saved several hundred dollars and stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Natalie,
We are very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay during your recent visit. We always strive to provide each and every guest with a pleasant experience, and we are not satisfied when that doesn't happen. We are very sorry that your son had troubles and we will be in contact with our housekeeping team to ensure that we consistently provide the high level of service that we pride ourselves in. We sincerely hope that he feels better soon. We would love to have the opportunity to host you again in the future and show you our high standards of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really a beautiful hotel. The staff does an excellent job of maintaining the elegance and opulence of the resort. Makes you feel 'rich and famous'. Desk and concierge staff were very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank richardrY9648OQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Richard,
We are glad you appreciated our historic elegance here at Hotel Galvez & Spa. Our team thanks you for your kind words about their outstanding customer service. It is wonderful to know your stay exceeded your expectations, and it would be awesome to have you come back and stay with us again. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Galvez is a grand historic 1911 hotel. The part of our convention that did not stay there were sorry when they visited the Galvez. The lobby area is beautiful. A pianist and bass player played classic favorites in the lobby bar. The pool area is beautiful. Be sure to go to the basement floor to read about the history of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank txtxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_GM, General Manager at Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Classic charm coupled with modern conveniences often delights our guests and we're so pleased that was the case with you. It's great to hear that our beautiful lobby with live music helped make your visit special and that you enjoyed relaxing by the pool. We're glad you enjoyed learning about the history of our property and we look forward to seeing you again at Hotel Galvez & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews