We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$219
Expedia.comUS$219
TravelocityUS$219
CheapTicketsUS$219
Orbitz.comUS$219
TripadvisorUS$219
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
204
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
204
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews farm fresh eggs milky way biscuits canadian bacon rocky top hill country alamo springs cafe these cabins lookout cabin rooftop deck back porch washer dryer tree house free range eggs hideaway cabin get away from it all dog treats
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 206 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2021 via mobile

We had a wonderful time at Walnut Canyon Cabins. We stayed at the Siesta cabin. The view was great.
Nice accommodations and location. 15 miles from Shopping and live music. Family friendly place horse, cows and chickens.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank marshels2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 May 2021

We have stayed here before and decided to come back because we love the quiet location, the cleanliness of the cabins and the amenities provided. The breakfast items provided are high quality and fresh. The proprietors are very helpful in providing information about purchasing items before coming to the cabin since the nearest store is about 30 mins drive. This was good to know since we were arriving relatively late so we purchased items to cook for dinner before checking in. There are nice touches, like providing deer corn to feed the deer that come to visit. We will always choose WCC when coming back to the Fredericksburg area.

Room tip: I'm sure any of the cabins would be a great choice.
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank globetraveler4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2021

We enjoyed everything about our stay. Close enough to drive into Fredericksburg to play but just far enough out that it was very quiet and peaceful. Great views. Wonderful hosts. The cabin has everything you need and was very comfortable. Very near Old Tunnel State Park. We would book again here without a seconds doubt.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank aRedHeadRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Rubadue, Owner at Walnut Canyon Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

We are very happy you discovered us and sincerely hope you be able to come back out and stay and catch the "Bat Emergence" it is really quite a sight to experience, very cool! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2021

Walnut Canyon Cabins was indeed the best place to stay while visiting in and around Fredericksburg. We attended the Annual Bluebonnet Festival and selected Walnut Canyon Cabins so we could "get away from it all" and be close by the festivities. The added bonus was that they allowed our two pups to stay with us. The Woods cabin (1 of 7 cabins) was located with an amazing view of the Hill Country; we had a family of 6 deer walk by our cabin and feed on the corn we spread out for them (the corn was provided by Carl and Rhonda who own and operate Walnut Canyon Cabins), and we were so pleased to have friendly cows, roosters and chickens and a horse to pet each morning. We fed them treats as well...and once again those treats were provided by Carl and Rhonda too. So much a family friendly place. The accommodations could not have been more comfortable; "The Woods" unit had: individually controlled AC/Heat; washer/dryer; fully furnished and functional kitchen, fully furnished bathroom with a walk-in shower, toiletries, hair dryer, bathrobes, iron and ironing board. And let me tell you about the fridge; Carl and Rhonda provided us with farm fresh eggs, butter, jelly, biscuits, Opas bacon, fresh fruit, locally ground coffee, creamer, and canned water. The queen-sized bed was very comfortable and we had extra blankets for the chilly night. The bed pillows were comfortable as well. The furniture included a reclining sofa and rustic dining table with chairs and end tables, and a shelf-robe to hang our clothes in. We could not have provided better for ourselves if we'd wanted to. We were very warmly welcomed by Carl and Rhonda; we felt like family coming home for a visit. They made the trip so worth making and our stay nearly impossible to leave. We recommend everyone booking their next stay with Carl and Rhonda at the Walnut Canyon Cabins. We will indeed be back!

Room tip: Perfect view; get away from it all atmosphere; you won't want to leave!
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiepW6888YO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Rubadue, Owner at Walnut Canyon Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

WOW! Thanks for all your detail! We appreciate that you enjoyed the items we provide to make you comfortable during your stay! We are really happy that the deer FINALLY did what we have been trying to train them to do! YEAH, RHIGHT! Training deer is like herding cats only harder! We look forward to having y'all back out to enjoy our little slice of Texas Heaven!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2021

Wish we could've stayed longer! The proprietors went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. We were prepared with our own dinner makings, and they provided the grill and accessories. Cabins were nicely appointed. The breakfast makings were there for us in the fridge - eggs from on-site hens, fresh berries, biscuits. Highly recommend, it's a great hideaway for seclusion.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Claribou_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carl Rubadue, Owner at Walnut Canyon Cabins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Thanks so much for taking a minute to share your experiences! We will continue to strive for making Walnut Canyon Cabins you first choice when traveling to the Hill Country! We look forward to having you back out sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews